We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view, elegant decor”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #87 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights in August. The location was beautiful- Our room looked over the Charles Bridge, the river and the hill. The rooms had beautiful furnishings. The rooms had great air conditioning but the courtyard was particularly pleasant on hot afternoons. It is a few blocks away from the main tourist street and we learned how to traverse the city on back streets so as to avoid walking through masses of tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Albany, New York,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your Prague visit.

We are happy that our hotel met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay, especially the views from your room, our courtyards and our central location.

I shall be very pleased to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Found this gem through a deal on Jetsetter. The location is UNBEATABLE. A few hundred meters from the Charles Bridge, and right in the heart of old town Prague. Amazing views from the rooms facing the river. The staff is exceptionally service-minded, and the rooms are HUGE by European standards. This old palace was once the sleeping pad for greats like Mozart. Coming to a city with so much history, it was a real treat to stay in a place with old-school service values. Felt like royalty from start to finish...kudos to the team!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank onlifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Pachtuv Palace with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location and the service provided by our team members.

I hope to welcome you back at Pachtuv Palace soon.

Warm regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in a suite at the Malmaison Suite for 2 nights and could not recommend it highly enough. Great location - very friendly and the room was elegant and beautiful . If you want to avoid the Stag parties and see a much nicer Prague cross the Charles Bridge - MUCH more civilised and more 'local'.

Room Tip: Room 104 was amazing. Separate lounge (although we were too busy to use it!) - 2 bathrooms and a lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Jane F.,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments regarding your August stay in Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace.

We trully appreciate your kind words and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and will remain great memories.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

With kind regards from Prague,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here in May for our wedding anniversary and it was superb from start to finish.
There are cheaper hotels to stay in whilst in Prague but none more impressive than Pachtuv Palace.
Everything from the hotel airport service, check in - reception staff, the flowers i ordered for the room, bottle of bubbly....excellent.
We also had rose petals scattered around the bathroom and a lovely heart made out of them on our four poster bed which was a nice treat. In the evening they came to your room and left the next days weather forecast and some chocolates.
Location is perfect for everything in Prague, Castle, Old Town, Charles Bridge all within walking distance. Just behind the hotel there are some very nice little bars in the cobbled back streets, these were really nice and traditional and very cheap compared to the UK. Pint of local beers in these bars was about £1.20. In places like the Old Town Square you will pay more for food and drink and possibly not as good as the stuff on your door step. The further you go out of the City, the cheaper it becomes. We caught a tram out of the immediate city centre about 7 stops from the hotel to have a look around, after a while walking we decided on refreshments and we paid less than 80 pence a pint.

Would love to go back again sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grayukMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Midlands,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in Pachtuv Palace with other travelers on the Tripadvisor.

We are very honored that you chose our hotel for such a special occasion, your anniversary. I am very pleased that we met your expectations and you enjoyed your room, our treatment and our staff members. I will definitely share your comments with all of them.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon,

With kindest regards,
Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in March 2013. We splurged on a Charles bridge view room (worth it, especially in winter weather) and thought our room lovely: light, airy, with traditional decor but not overdone, and a very modern and well functioning bathroom with separate toilet and a great shower. The location can't be beat, the staff is both competent and friendly, and for what is essentially a four star hotel, we found it very good value. Even though we didn't pay for breakfast included in our hotel bill, we enjoyed a light breakfast at the hotel every morning at reasonable prices, and the food was good (service a bit slow, but hey, where in Europe can you really get a quick, sit-down breakfast?) Some of the rooms have a terraces overlooking a very pretty courtyard but I was glad to have the river view, and no balcony, instead. The hotel also provides reasonably priced car service to and from train stations and airport, which we used both ways and found reliable and pleasant.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingleseitalianato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest from Durham,

I would like to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in March and also thank you for sharing your positive comments with other travelers here on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that our hotel and services met your expectations and you were satisfied with your stay. I will forward your comments to the entire team.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Pachtuv Palace soon,

With kindest regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Terrific location at the Charles bridge. Our suite was on the 5th floor; although it appeared to be the top floor we could occasionally hear footsteps above us. The rooms have hardwood floors and no rugs. There was a hand held shower in the bathtub, that was a little inconvenient for us, since we both prefer showers. We had a bad experience with the in-house restaurant the first night and walked out before ordering. The "School" restaurant next door turned out to be excellent and we ate there twice.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiserVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Victoria,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with your recent stay at Pachtuv Palace Prague with other travelers here on the Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the size of the room. I apologize for bad experience with our restaurant. It would be really helpful if you could share more details about it so I can forward it and discuss with the restaurant manager to take necessary measurements for the improvement to prevent similar complains in the future. You can contact me anytime at ldagan at mamaison. com

We shall be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Pachtuv Palace again.

With kind regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We book through Classic vacations. And they make arrangements for us prior to our arrival. We arrived in Prague early in the morning and it took about half an hour from the airport to the hotel. It was about 930am by the time we were at the hotel lobby. Our room want ready but we were told that they will do their best to get us into the room. We waited in the lobby because it was a but chilly that Saturday morning. They offered us water. Coffee or tea would've been better ;). But just about 1130 or so, they were able to get us to our room. We were provided a complimentary upgrade and ended up in a one bedroom deluxe suite.
The room was cozy. Had a separate toilet outside of the bedroom. Sitting area was luxe and with high ceilings. A wet bar was in a cabinet with was very convenient. We can make it appear and disappear. The view was of the castle and only obstructed by the trees if you let it. We were in room 208 on the second level.
The bedroom had a two poster bed and had plenty of room around the king sized bed. and there also was another tv mounted on the wall. Neither TVs were used during this trip because Praha just had too much to offer and we had no time to watch.
One major issue about this room was the smell of food emanating from the restaurant below. It didn't smell in the living area but did so in the bedroom. So, maybe ask for another suite if you were assigned to room 208 (if such things bother you). It did me but I opted to just let it be. Kept the AC and fan running in the room (separate thermostat from the living area) to keep the air fresh.
Reception was hospitable. Any request we made were met. The staff were polite. A couple of times, the staff gave the lift to the guest and took the stairs instead. Room service was provided as a choice if breakfast was included in the package.
They could do better with the minor things that could put them in a higher category: placement of items/decor in the lobby, dust more often, offer guest drinks when waiting in the lobby for rooms or to be checked in/checked out, use higher quality towels (they seemed like towels you would be provided at a 3 star hotel in the states), and make sure all light bulbs were working on the chandeliers which were gorgeous. Two of the bulbs in our living area were out the whole time we were there, which was 6 nights. I would've given them an overall 5 if it wasn't for these items.
Oh, I should mention that they use the same bath products as some Four Seasons hotels in the states. The Verbena of L'Occitaine which I love.
A perfect location. Near all the attractions. The restaurant in the property offered excellent dining choices. We had our best meal in Praha at the Amade (although, room service wasn't as good as dining in).
I also wish I was able to tour the palace, which was the original part of the hotel and knew which room Mozart stayed when he visited Prague.
Overall, a great experience for us Washingtonians! We would love to stay here at Pachtuv Palace the next time we visit. We came, we danced!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pachtuv Palace Hotel as your Prague destination stay.
We very much appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with other travellers here on Tripadvisor, thus making a contribution to our on-going effort to improve the services of our hotel. In this respect all comments from our guests are helpful and valuable for us.

We were very sorry to learn that some aspects of the quality of the hotel did not meet the usual standards of Pachtuv Palace.

The team of Pachtuv Palace will do its best to improve on the quality in the future. We are sorry that we could not satisfy all your expectations this time and very much hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with better service during your next stay.

On the other hand I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, our location, Amade restaurant, polite staff members and our L´Occitane bath products.

We are happy that the issues during your stay will not prevent you from returning and we shall be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Pachtuv Palace again.

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#55 of 648 in Prague
2,414 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £118 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing