We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #92 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a wonderful hotel in every way, from the service to the location - it is really hard to beat. We stayed in January and were upgraded to a stunning river view suite. It was large, spotlessly clean and well equipped with everything a tourist could possibly need.

The staff were professional and incredibly helpful on arrival. Well done and thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaybeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take the opportunity and thank for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent stay in Prague,

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

When we checked in, we had a major problem with our room. However, they handled the problem very well and upgraded us to an amazing room. We are very impressed the guest relations and service. The hotel has amazing location, walking distance to everywhere. The hotel itself is very quaint with a pretty garden. Definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Adana, Turkey,

I would like to take the opportunity and thank for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent stay in Prague,

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I am sorry for the issues you had upon checkin but I am very happy to hear that our team members took great care of your needs. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Mamaison Hotel Pachtuv Palace in Prague is an excellent choice for those who wish to avoid the big US-based chain hotels in favor of a historical boutique experience in the heart of one of Europe's most charming cities. This hotel was originally a palace (mansion) and is located within a sixty second walk from the Charles Bridge and a five minute walk from Old Town Square, making it a very convenient spot to either the castle. The interior of the hotel has been updated to provide all of the modern needs of travel yet while still keeping the historic feel. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, and efficient.

Room Tip: Request a room with a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BourneForAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Winter Park, Florida

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the location, the interior and our staff members and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace. This will in turn inspire all of us to seek to improve on quality and to continue to provide excellent service to our guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location, nice room quiet , cosy and with a very nice view on the castle.. The staff was very accommodating and kind.The location is perfect for visiting all parts of the city.Many restaurants and bars around. Note: you can't choose the type of breakfast when booking on internet.So don't book it and choose some less expensive breakfast on site at the restaurant if you aren't "morning eaters" like us!
A very perfect stay for us to end the year 2013.( French couple, 50 years old from Paris. 4 days between 29/12/2013 and 1/01/2014. ) .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlhuyghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Elancourt,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the views from your room, ourt staff mmebers who you found accommodating and kind, the location and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace. This will in turn inspire all of us to seek to improve on quality and to continue to provide excellent service to our guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had 2 beautiful suites in this hotel overlooking the river which was fabulous. One of our rooms was upgraded from a junior suite to a deluxe suite, which was great. The views are amazing. The restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful particularly Thomas, but front of house/reception in the hotel are very rude, arrogant and unhelpful. I would not go again because of the attitude of the people at reception, particularly the lady who was the most rude. We paid a lot of money for 2 suites for 4 days and just expected some manners and common courtesy, not too much to ask for. We would definitely not go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sungirl-Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Chigwell,

Thank you for choosing the Pachtuv Palace Hotel as your Prague destination stay.

We very much appreciate that you took the time to post the review on the tripadvisor, thus making a contribution to our on-going effort to improve the services of our hotel. In this respect all comments from our guests are helpful and valuable for us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your free upgrade, your rooms, the hotel in general and the restaurant staff members. On the other hand it is very disappointing to read your comments about the reception staff members. I am very sorry to learn that some aspects of the quality of the hotel did not meet the usual standards of Pachtuv Palace. I would very much appreciate if you could share more details with me regarding your issues and the name of employees you are referring to. You can do that on my email ldagan at mamaison.com. I will be looking forward to hear from you and do all the necessary to prevent similar complains in the future.

The team of Pachtuv Palace will do its best to improve on the quality in the future. We are sorry that we could not satisfy all your expectations this time and very much hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with better service during your next stay.

We shall be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Pachtuv Palace again.

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Best location ever! You can visit the most important touristic points on foot. Also there are a lot of restaurants and nightclubs around! The rooms are very big and confortable. The staff is very friendly. Tip: Room with view to the Castle!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luiz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Leipzig,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay.


It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location and staff members and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace. This will in turn inspire all of us to seek to improve on quality and to continue to provide excellent service to our guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again,

Sincerely,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great location, beautiful room, comfortable, quiet, and made our anniversary celebration even more special. We highly recommend. Front desk extremely helpful in making reservations for us and providing recommendations. Location in Prague is ideal for all attractions. And it's right down the street from Bar Hemingway, our favorite place for delicious cocktails and relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouixC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Florida,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace as your Prague destination stay. We feel very honoured that you chose our hotel for such a special occasion as your anniversary celebration!

We very appreciate that you shared your review regarding your recent stay with other travellers and also making a contribution to our ongoing effort to improve the services of our hotel

It was with great pleasure to learn that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us, and you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the team of Pachtuv Palace.

Thank you very much for your recommendations and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon,

With warm regards,

Lucie Dagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,268 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#42 of 646 in Prague
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#96 of 646 in Prague
3,353 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,449 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £97 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing