We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as ever!”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #86 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is our 2nd visit since we were married there in 2011 and it gets better. This time we returned with our 3 teenage sons and the staff there upgraded all our rooms with magnificent views and a 2 bedroom suite for the boys fit for royalty. Thank you Pachtuv Palace for all your attention to detail and for the beautiful upgraded rooms. It was my birthday whilst there and a card and bottle of champagne were waiting for us on arrival with a bowl of fruit for the boys room. Location is just perfect and helped us in particular as our youngest son sprained his ankle within an hour of arriving and was struggling to walk great distances-thank you again for the care here and bandages etc.
Our all time favourite hotel-we will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but obviously the ones with views of Charles Bridge are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Mrs. Jo,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague. We feel honored you decided to celebrate such a special occasion as your Birthday with us.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have just returned from a truly wonderful 3 night break staying at the Pachtuv Palace in Prague. This was a a really special trip for my and my mother and made extra special with a free upgrade to a stunning waterfront suite. The staff were lovely, the hotel perfectly situated close to the old town and just by Charles Bridge. The hotel organised a trip to the opera with was amazing and were on hand to assist in every possible way. A massive thank you to all the staff, we hope to return one day!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a waterside and castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooseandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Cranbrook,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you and your mom enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Regards from sunny Prague,

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I NEVER write reviews but I felt that I had to write a review of this hotel.. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and a glass of sparkling wine. The rooms are beautiful, ours overlooked the river and Charles bridge. The service in this hotel is second to none.. The attention to detail is excellent. Chocs on your pillow at night is a nice touch. The cleanliness of this hotel was also very impressive. We did not opt for the breakfast, however there are some gorgeous cafes and restaurants nearby. I genuinely mean it.... I would look no further. I will rave about this hotel for a long time to come. I can't wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Trisha,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community, eventhough you usually dont write the reviews:)

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be happy to share your feedback with the team.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Old school charm and a great location made this a great choice for us. We were welcomed with a glass of wine and the room was great, overlooking the river and Charles bridge. The staff were friendly and helpful dealing with all our requests swiftly including the residents next door who woke us up with their late night/early morning music. The major attractions and many of the best restaurants are all within walking distance so we couldn't ask for more on a short weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from London,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Located close to the most interesting places.
Breakfast was not a hit! No buffet, just a la carte. Took a long time to get one and step by step.
If a taxi needed, take the one of the Hotel!
Service is always there. The rooms are very big!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friedrich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Mr. Fridrich,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.
We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that some aspects were not as per your expectations. I would like to inform you that the Amade restaurant provides the buffet breakfast and I apologize if there was any confusion made on our site which gave you the impression they don’t. I would like to discuss this matter further if you don’t mind. You can contact me directly at ldagan at mamaison.com

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

charming hotel, good location, decent rooms. Definitely not 5 stars but good 4 stars -yes.
Staff not very helpful, before departure we needed urgently an iron ( could not wait for service to take our things, iron and give back in 1 hour ) but we were informed that in the hotel they do not have iron and they can"t provide it. Interesting, isn"t it ??

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aga p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Poland,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.
We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that some aspects were not as per your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience with the iron. We unfortunately don’t provide the iron to our guests simply for the safety reasons. However we gladly provide the ironing service. I hope this little incident didn’t cause you problems and hope the situation was handled by the reception staff in a professional manner.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Pachtuv Palace is ideally located in the center of Prague, two minutes away from the bridge.
Despite being in a touristic area (and thus crowded at certain periods of the day), the hotel is really quiet, with large space to enjoy and relax. Everything is provided. Staff is really keen on pleasing you anytime without being oppressing.

100% recommended for any stay (it was our first in Prague and we will definitely come back).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojofifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie D, General Manager at Smetana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest from Paris,

I would like to take the opportunity in thanking you for having choosing the Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your stay in Prague.

We very appreciate that you shared your experience with other travellers among the Tripadvisor community.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel.

Once again thank you for your time and I would be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace again.

Lucie Dagan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,169 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Augustine, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 648 in Prague
1,146 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 648 in Prague
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Smetanovo nabr. 20, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#76 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £157 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing