We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor,poorer,POOREST!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Pachtuv Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pachtuv Palace
Ranked #91 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor,poorer,POOREST!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel 2 days ago and are very unhappy with the quality of 'Deluxe Room" that we got. Aircon does not work, dirty passages, no breakfast included despite confirmation that is was from the agent. Very unfriendly and unhelpfull staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ockie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mr. Ockie,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pachtuv Palace Hotel as your Prague destination stay.
We very much appreciate that you took the time to write a review on the Tripadvisor, thus making a contribution to our on-going effort to improve the services of our hotel. In this respect all comments from our guests are helpful and valuable for us. Immediately after reading your review I doublechecked your reservation which was made via Expedia.com. I would like to inform you that all the reservations through this provider are made without breakfast. I am really sorry if they gave you a false information. After discussing this issue at the reception your wife mentioned she will bring the confirmation of the breakfast to the reception but she never did. We would be more than happy to wave any charge knowing the breakfast was prepaid but this wasn’t the case.

As per your complaint about the AC, I personally went into the room together with our technician who confirmed there isn’t any technical problem with the AC. Since you were not happy in your room, our reception staff offered you a change of the room immediately but again, your wife came and said that “the room is not that bad after all” and you decided to stay. I was present at the reception myself when she was talking to the reception clerk.

Mr. Ockie, I feel one star rating is very harsh and doesn’t really correspond with reality. I sent you an email trying to discuss the complaint further but never received any answer from you.

The team of Pachtuv Palace will do its best to improve on the quality in the future. We are sorry that we could not satisfy all your expectations this time and very much hope that we will have the opportunity to provide you with better service during your next stay.

We shall be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Pachtuv Palace again.

Yours sincerely,
Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    218
    57
    25
    24
See reviews for
182
827
34
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a very nice 4 night stay here. The location is excellent, everything is within walking distance, castle 25 mins, Charles bridge 3 mins and old town less than 10. From our viewpoint, nicer to be a bit away from the hectic old town. We had booked a junior suite with view and the view of the river, Charles bridge and castle was fantastic. The room was big, excellent air conditioning and comfortable enough. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in our stay and I felt the buffet breakfast was average in both choice and quality. Nothing wrong with it, just not special. E.g. Coffee is in a thermos type container and on all 4 mornings was just warm. In a few places there is a need for maintenance, leaking bath shower seal, grouting a bit tired and a few other like things.
We ate in the restaurant on one of our nights and the meal was very good. Pleasant sitting out in the courtyard on a warm summers night.
Overall, very happy with our stay and if we returned to prague we would likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book room with a view facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest from England,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace. I will also pass your comments to our technician and seek an immediate improvement.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

After an intense day in the busy, crowded, magical old streets among Prague's incredible architecture, the most lovely thing is to return to this hotel -- a calm, elegant oasis. Close the heavy front door and the street sounds disappear; the staff is gracious, friendly, and flexible; your room will be a large elegant respite with air conditioning and comfortable amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ms. Laura,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff was gracious, professional and wonderful in every way.
It was a very special occasion and this hotel made it more so!
From the first telephone call and through emails we were beautifully taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Washington DC,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Book this hotel . It is an elegant and very comfortable place, with a devoted, service oriented staff.
Extremely well located, walking distance to everything that must be seen in Prague.
The suite was amazing by its size, decoration and comfort.
Great experience and lovely memory...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anouk I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Paris,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. Near the Charles Bridge and within close proximity to all the sites and many, many restaurants and cafes.

We'd booked a deluxe room with castle view. Our flight arrived in the morning and our room was not ready. Upon check-in, we were offered champagne and they gave us brochures to read while we waited for our room. We were told that we'd been upgraded to the one-bedroom suite. At first we were delighted. But when we were brought up to the room, we were rather disappointed. The room was huge - the bedroom was separate and was in itself felt isolated and it small and had no view. The view was in the living room which was really big but didn't feel cosy. After spending a few minutes in the room, we went downstairs and requested for what we had paid for. Also, this one-bedroom suite was accessible only by walking along the outside corridor of the hotel. I didn't like that. For good reason too. It rained quite a bit during our stay and we would have gotten wet each time we wanted to get in or out of the room to the hotel lobby.

The deluxe room that we'd booked was perfect. It was a good size room with a four poster bed. The bathroom is of a good size and has two sinks. There's a coffee machine, a decent size fridge and a sink in a cupboard which was very clever. There's also a lot of cupboard space throughout the room. The view of the castle was not a direct front view and I do wonder whether there are other deluxe rooms with a more straight on view. The bed in this room is much better and the bathroom looks more modern than the one in the one-bedroom suite. I remember having read other TA reviewers saying that the hotel tells them they're upgraded but that the "upgraded" room is sometimes not as good as the original room booked. That's the only negative remark I have about the hotel.

The service is good. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The food at the hotel is very decent. Having spent a week in Switzerland, Prague feels very cheap and it is nice to eat out and not feel the pinch. The toiletries are L'occitane products and are really great. There are bedroom slippers and bathrobes and they even provide an umbrella in the room. That has become very handy as it rained a bit during our trip. They also provide umbrellas in the lobby which is convenient. The hotel property itself is beautiful. The courtyard is charming and is great to sit and have a drink.

All in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest from Kuala Lumpur,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Pachtuv Palace enormously. The location was perfect, the room (with castle and river view) was exactly as we had hoped, the staff were thoroughly professional, and the bed was just about the most comfortable that I can remember in any hotel.

As a hotel for a city break, it is second to none. The only area for improvement would be the breakfasts - although the restaurant staff were excellent and the food perfectly decent, I felt that the price of breakfasts was a little higher than was reasonable. Nevertheless, in all other aspects, our stay there was sensational.

Room Tip: Book with the river/castle view if that is important to you. Otherwise, the older part of the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PragueLucie, Generální ředitel at Pachtuv Palace, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Alex from Manchester,



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Mamaison Suite Hotel Pachtuv Palace for your recent Prague visit.

We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travellers here on the Tripadvisor.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will retain a pleasant memory of our hotel. I will be more than happy to pass your valuable comments onto the entire team of Pachtuv Palace.

I will be very pleased to welcome you back to the Pachtuv Palace soon

Yours sincerely,

Lucie Dagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
966 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 670 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachtuv Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachtuv Palace

Property: Pachtuv Palace
Address: Karoliny Svetle 208/34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#83 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pachtuv Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pachtuv Palace is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pachtuv Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing