We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A View!”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #92 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed 3 nights in corner room 305 with a living area looking out at the Charles Bridge, Vltava River, Castle complex and mini-Eiffel Tower on the hill. This ideal location was within easy walking distance of all Old Town sites and any form of efficient, easy to use, public transportation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs.

We did not indulge in the breakfast offering because we thought it was overpriced for what was offered. However, the kitchenette provides the ability to bring items in for personal consumption and there are a significant variety of restaurants in the area to choose from.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,500 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

This place took our breath away. We had booked this hotel after reading the tripadvisor reviews and photos and finding a great deal online. Based on our previous European hotel visits, we were expecting to be disappointed (but hoping not to be).

The hotel wasn't too difficult to find coming from the train station, abt 10 minutes walk if I recall correctly), but the entrance is easily missed from the road. The lobby was cosily and luxuriously furnished, with a nice Christmas tree, which made us feel like we were entering someone's beautiful living room. The lady who checked us in spoke very good English and immediately offered to make us reservations at a restaurant we mentioned (and got us a very good table).

The room was everything we had hoped it to be, and more - it was spacious, with a kitchenette (and a stove even), large bathroom, chandelier and 4-poster bed. It felt like a honeymoon suite, or even better. Coming from Asia, we are accustomed to tea making facilities in the room and most of the time, we miss that in Europe.

The only negative I remembered was that the heating wasn't working too well. We put up with it the first night as it was still tolerable but had to call them in to fix it when it got colder the next day. Also, if I remember right, the Wifi was only in the lobby, so my husband had to stand on the balcony outside our door to surf the net.

We never tried the breakfast as it was a rather exorbitant 25 Euros per person (and didn't look like that big a spread from what we saw). We much preferred to make our own tea and coffee and hang out in the beautiful apartment.

I would most definitely recommend this to any of my friends visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

We booked into this hotel last minute in order for me to run the Prague Marathon in May. The hotel was fantastic. The room was large and spotless with great views over the river - We could see the castle and some of the Charles Bridge out of our very well sound proofed windows. A fantastic hotel in a fantastic location, perfect for the old town. I asked if we could have the room later than the normal checkout time so I could have a shower on finishing my 26.2 miles. Although there was a small charge, they happily obliged and despite the hotel being rather posh they never complained when I turned up in reception, sweaty and in my running kit. I would definitely return here, but next time maybe for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Pachtuv exceeded our expectations. Perfect location along the river and next to Charles bridge with great restaurants and within walking distance to museum, old town square and the metro line. Great intimate hotel with wonderful personal service. Staff are lovely and can't do enough to help you. The one bedroom suite is worth it. Room service food is top quality and very reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequentflyerduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

The Pachtuv Palace has an excellent location near to the Charles Bridge. Rooms are decent as they are pretty much small apartments. They even have a little kitchenette if you wanted to do small meals. One of the smaller downsides is that we found it difficult to find the place by car and the Parking Garage they offer is expensive. 18 Euros!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank archmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

I can only add to what has already been said - this hotel is a gem. It's location, on the river and next to the Charles Bridge is perfectly half-way between the Castle and the Old Town. Our room (junior suite) was immaculate, with stunning views over the river.
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but frankly in a city like Prague that's not an issue. Literally immediately accroos the street is a restaurant (Belvedere) where we had one of the best meals in our lives! - try the "tasting" menu with the recommended wines - each course absolutely perfect. The narrow streets behind the hotel also contain a number of great restaurants and bars. The hotel does do an excellent breakfast as well. Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warmwaterdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

Catalogued as one of the best hotels in the world. This palace is located is 2 minutes walking distance from Saint Charles Bridge and Black Teather and 5 minutes from Astrological Clock.
All the personal in the place is absolutely friendly and your room is nice furnished. The bathroom is excelent.
Nice breakfast is served in the location.
My only complait would be ... very small single beds I recomend you the big beds they are REALLY big, but never individual beds.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tecouag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#37 of 646 in Prague
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,311 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 646 in Prague
2,435 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £111 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing