We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property with a superb staff!”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #94 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My stay at the Pachtuv Palace as was excellent. The location is fantastic, the rooms very well appointed and spacious and the staff delivered great service. I look forward to returning to Prague and staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRSmithWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Pachtuv Palace - our room was beautiful and had a view of the castle, the common areas were relaxing and the staff was exceptional. They assisted us with restaurant reservations, concert tickets and daily advice. I will absolutely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmweiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We choose the Pachtuv Palace for a two-week stay based in part on the glowing comments of others in TripAdvisor. We are pleased to say that our high expectations were met and/or exceeded and are happy to add our own endorsement of this wonderful hotel.
The location is outstanding and it was easy to get to everything on foot--the Old Town, Prague Castle, concerts, cafes, bus and metro stops, and a grocery store (Tesco). The room was spacious and the bed and air conditioning were very comfortable. The room on the court was very quiet. The staff members--at all levels and without exception--were gracious and helpful from the pre-arrival registration and inquiries through the arrival orientation to the final checkout. We used the limo airport service the hotel arranges and it was well worth the additonal cost over a cab. We did not use the breakfast service--even though it was bounteous we could eat for much less in a nearby cafe or with food from the grocery store. The "wi-fi" in our room was not "wireless"--the hotel provided a cable when requested. This was a wonderful experience in a wonderful city. We hope to return Prague and to stay at the Pachtuv Palace again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50226Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights in mid July 2010. You could not ask for a better location- right off the Charles Bridge in the Stare Mesto/Old Town Quarter in Praha 1.

The hotel itself is fantastic- it's built from a former palace and the old architectural details remain throughout. People use the word "charming" a lot when talking about Prague, and this hotel is charming as well.

We stayed in room 311- on an upper floor near the rear of the hotel. It was a quiet spot in the hotel and the room itself was built in a former attic, with lots of exposed (low-hanging) wooden beams, 2 king sized beds (one in a separate bedroom) a luxury bathroom, a living room with flat screen TV & DVD player, couch and chairs, kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, plates and pots and pans. Behind the couch was the second king sized bed and a closet. The room has several skylights and windows so it is very bright in the summer when the sun comes up around 5:30am and stays up until 10pm. The air conditioners weren't the best, but closing the doors to the bathroom and main hallway kept it nice and cool. The staff even brought us a floor fan to use. I bumped my head on the beams twice (I'm tall) so be warned!

The hotel was decorated with some artwork featuring nude models during our stay, which was not a big deal for us, but if your sensibilities are bothered by naked bodies, Prague is not the place for you anyhow!

The front desk staff were very helpful in pointing out shopping and other needs when we asked, and public transportation is a short walk away.

We did not dine at the hotel but we say several people enjoying dinner in the courtyard every night.

I would recommend Pachtuv Palace and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayvee2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Much to our surprise, each time my husband and I told a cabbie where we were going they didn't seem to know oif the hotel and we had tot give the address - this is one wonderful hotel - personal, well cared for and with the best location - you willnot be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croseman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Stayed here with my Partner for four nights in August to celebrate his birthday. As much as we loved Prague, we found that we loved this hotel just as much. I really felt that it is one of the best, maybe the best hotel, I've stayed in. It manages style, location, friendliness and quality of accommodation effortlessly and as well as being free of pretension, it is quite amazing value for money. We really are looking forward to returning to Prague but only if we can stay in this magic gem.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank campseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Fantastic Location with clean and stylishly fitted rooms. Very helpful hotel staff who go the extra mile to make your stay truly memorable. We loved this place so much that we would like to go back for longer as there is so much to see in Prague. The rooms had great view and were very comfortable and very clean. Outstanding , well trained staff especially at the front reception and smiles all around. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a boutique hotel which feels more like a home, and offers value for what you spend on your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kapurkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nové Město (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#43 of 646 in Prague
1,221 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Staré Město (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staré Město (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#98 of 646 in Prague
2,756 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#95 of 646 in Prague
3,384 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 646 in Prague
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#59 Family Hotel in Prague
#82 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £127 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing