We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible value for money - Excellent!”
Review of Smetana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Smetana Hotel
Ranked #87 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I can't say enough good about the Pachtuv Palace. When looking at Prague accommodations it was between the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental and the Pachtuv Palace. I'm so happy that I took a chance and went with an independent hotel in Prague.

Rooms:

I booked a suite category. It had a balcony overlooking the river and the castle. The suite was a very large residential style apartment with a comfortable living room, kitchenette and a spacious bedroom and bathroom. It was a fine European style apartment with very high ceilings. Furnishings and decor were not luxurious but they were comfortable and very residential.

In their promotional literature you will see photos of an amazing suite with a frescoed ceiling. Request this suite in advance if possible. It looks amazing but was booked solid during my eight nights at Pachtuv Palace.

Staff & Service:

Warm, welcoming and genuinely helpful. The front desk staff doubled as concierge and they offered excellent recommendations. The lobby area is like a living room / breakfast room. Evening cocktails are offered and morning breakfast served in this gorgeous and residential style room. We prefer breakfast in room so we prepared our own breakfast using the kitchenette but the foods on offer looked ample and delicious.

The "living room" style lobby was comfortable any time of the day for a drink and newspaper. Very nice touch. In addition the sculpture filled courtyards of this gorgeous property have tables perfect for an evening apertif.

Overall:

The Pachtuv Palace offers very large and well appointed accommodations for a fraction of the price of the expensive world renowned chains. This is a very charming property with an excellent staff. Book a suite and even the fussiest of travellers, such as myself, will be very well satisfied.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

the location was exceptional. the suite was spacious and antique (in a good way). the ceiling was a little low, but somehow it made the hotel feel more like a historical place despite a bump on my forehead.. overall, would recommend to anyone who wants a true Prague experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Very nice location with the Valtava river right across with a view of the castle. The staff is very friendly and went out of their way to make my 10 yrs old daughter very welcome. Its a few minutes of walk from the old town and Charles Bridge which makes the location more desirable as its quiet at night. The hotel itself is well decorated and charming and enjoyed the art work everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitsen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

It was delightful stay: hotel has probably the best possible location almost right on the water (cross the road); you immediately have the view of Charles Bridge and gorgeous Prague Castle after you step out the hotel. Again, hotel is isolated from crowds that fill Old Town square and bridge gate..
The palace itself is nicely decorated, has interesting setup. We had room 503 Jr.Suite w view. Fun to get up to a pigeonnier on the top of the building. the view was not really the view but room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. You have mansarde type of ceiling + separated bathroom and toilet (located in two different corners ;-). wi-fi worked well. Everyone was very helpful, cleaning was good, amenties - everything you can expect. Two points that I can mention to improve: no sink mirror in toilet room + we were disturbed 3 times by a maid (mini-bar check right after check-in (?); and turndown service twice). So my reco: if you plan to have an intimate moment in the room put a sign "don't disturb"! :-).
Restaurant in under construction - promised to be opened in october. now some works are on the way, but not disturbing. Courtyard looks great, they have some tables there but not sunny at all and it was quite chilly to sit outside esp in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Excellent service and a very nice room looking out to the castle and Charles Bridge. Extremely friendly and polite staff that take the time to chat and give advice if you ask for it - we gained a very pleasant fine dining restaurant in the local area. Can't comment on the breakfast as we wanted a room without this so we could explore the many cafes in the area. Would very happily go back when next in Prague

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Husband & I spent a week at this hotel for our honeymoon. The service, room, location, & staff was wonderful. The hotel was close to everything & still remained quiet at night.
The hotel staff was helpful for any questions we had. One night I had a cold & they brought some medicine to our door. That was great !! Everyday they placed bottles of water in your room, which was refreshing after touring the sites. The rooms were spacious & had everything we needed. We were in a deluxe suite #104, which has view of the beautiful courtyard on the ground floor. I highly recommended this hotel. The next time we go to Prague we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arts527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were a bit reluctant as the area, even though it was next to the Charles Bridge, seemed a bit dodgy. However, as we entered the lobby we were told to take a seat and they brought us coffee and tea while we checked in. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite, which was two rooms ,two bathrooms. The sitting area was enormous with very tall ceilings and beautiful windows and the bedroom had a four poster canopy bed. There was also a complimentary bottle of wine.
The room was spotless as was the hotel and it was within walking distance to the old town I cant recommend it enough

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellor_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 649 in Prague
1,217 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The Grand Mark Prague
The Grand Mark Prague
#39 of 649 in Prague
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#58 of 649 in Prague
2,412 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smetana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smetana Hotel

Address: Karoliny Svetle 34, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Pachtuv Palace)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#46 Business Hotel in Prague
#77 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £119 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Smetana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smetana Hotel (formerly Pachtuv Palace) is located in a prime location in the heart of the city and is closely linked with great names of the music world like Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, ancient and contemporary celebrities. Steps away from Charles Bridge, within easy walking distance to all major landmarks of the Prague. Pachtuv Palace provides an average room size of 65 sqm, fantastic views, air-conditioning, kitchenettes, free internet, fitness room, in-room massages and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smetana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Prague
Mamaison Pachtuv Palace Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing