We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE HARDWARE, POOR SOFTWARE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NICE HARDWARE, POOR SOFTWARE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We spent in Alchymist 2 days., realy liked the equipement and style of the hotel...BUT... we order a Mercedes cab and get the Škoda car instead...on top of it we had to pay the Mercedes! (exactly over 800 kc (approx. 33 eur) for 2,6km way!). Second day - During the breakfest we were asked to leave the breakfast room, sharp at 10:30, because they just closing at that time...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shyne_Poe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Dear Madam, thank you for your comments here at tripadvisor. I would like to say that our software you describe in your case does not have a problem. Our limousine service does not offer any specific type of car such as Mercedes, Skoda, Volvo or BMW. We just offer service with a car in a certain category. The "poor" Skoda Superb is used as official car of Czech Goverment just to mention. Breakfast is served daily till 10:30 and the day you were at the breakfast sitting in the corner of the restaurant was 11:00 a.m. enjoying it fully. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    147
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
189
1,063
72
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Nothing but praise for this hotel. Very comfortable room with period furniture, excellent bed and fully equiped bathroom with a large range of complementary toileteries.

We were impressed by the fact that the heating was immediately switched on when we had an unexpectadly chilly day and the hotel in general was very comfortable. It has that "bijou hotel" feeling, small but fully equiped.

The staff were very helpful and curteous. When they made a mistake with the opening times of the restaurants, we found a complementary bottle of very good wine in our room as an apology for the error.

Another advantage is that it´s very well located for the centre of Prague, but just enough out of the way as to be quiet, avoiding the noisy tourist area.

Hightly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

My wife and I and another couple of friends stayed at the Alchymist as a special treat for our wedding anniversary. I'd researched my choice of hotel through Trip Advisor and decided on the Alchymist because of the very positive reviews. Our welcome on arrival and first impressions of the hotel were extremely good. Staff were very helpful and friendly with the hotel decor opulent with nice antique finishes. All of which set a very good impression. Small touches were nice to see and made the choice of hotel at first seem delightful, cheese and wine on offer from 17:00-16:00. Our rooms were luxurious and first class. Coffees and cakes/chocolates from he cafe were devine! Over our four day stay however there were a number of small basic failings on attention to detail that seemed to become noticeable. Glasses in rooms not being washed daily. Bread basket at cheese and wine not being replenished. We never ate at the hotel until our last night when we had dinner in the Aquarius restaurant. Unfortunately our experience of the meal didn't match the standard we'd experienced of the hotel as a whole. The food was mediocre and the service from the staff seemed uninterested. And I'm afraid the music from the piano player detracted even more from the whole experience. My assessment was the restaurant was not value for money. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Alchymist which is situated in a wonderful part of the city. However for a 5 star establishment attention to detail and the restuarant are areas for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobbyR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

On the plus side, yes, it's a great location, a historic building and the furnishings/standard of fittings exactly as expected from a 5 star hotel/this price. From the reviews, what we thought would distinguish this hotel from all the others in Prague who can all also offer the former was service. We stayed the weekend before Easter - whether we had different staff to everyone else who gave a great review, I don't know, but we found a few fundamental flaws with the basics:

Breakfast - small room and tables far too close together. Buffet selection ok, nothing spectacular, nowhere to put the cloche from the cheese/difficult to access everything as not enough space. Champagne to be purchased rather than provided, selection of hot/egg dishes to order. The main problem was service. On the Saturday morning 2 waitresses tried their best but failed to keep up with clearing tables/replenishing milk/cutlery etc. Sunday morning had far more staff, but we were rather shocked to be practically barred from entering the seating area and a shouted demand of "room number" - no welcome, no hello, no good morning, no polite request once we were seated (and not requested the day before, maybe amidst the chaos, but still not for guests to be barked at in this way). Didn't inspire us to eat at the hotel any other time.

Spa: yes, it's an attractive space in the basement with the pool, relaxation area and sauna. After using the sauna I went to ask where the water was to drink (standard fare if you offer a sauna and/or gym to guests) as there was enough space for a water cooler in the sauna area but none there. The spa manager was only able to offer me a water bottle for sale. I challenged this and was given a glass eventually, and begrudgingly. Sorry, a water cooler for guests when there is a sauna is a basic and not a paid for extra.

Evening cheese and wine: a nice touch, but again nothing other hotels at this grade don't offer. The staff were far from quick to replenish anything when it should have been readily available and at 6:02pm, literally everything to eat or drink had already been taken away. Glasses/plates were still in the bar left 30 minutes later rather than staff having the same level of efficiency. If you're going to offer cheese/wine, do it properly, this was worse than not doing.

Front desk: yes, a glass of the local fizzy stuff on arrival is nice, but again, exepcted at this level. Friendly but took far too long to do anything, especially check out. We requested a taxi to the airport, and rather than needing to ask whether a late checkout until 2pm was available, this was offered. All fine. However, when checking out we were asked if we wanted a taxi ordering and upon seeing our shock the front desk then admitted she had remembered us asking the day before but had forgotten to order the taxi. Sorry, this is a fundamental to get right and we had a fraught 15 minute wait for a beaten up and dirty local taxi to arrive. Luckily the traffic was light and we made our flight, but mistakes like this overshadow any previous good service.

Nothing special and we will not return.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kentish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your comments here at Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to read that you find our service not to the level of a 5 star hotel. I discussed all the matters with my team in order to analyse and improve. Thank you very much and I still hope you enjoyed your stay in Prague.
with my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

we felt great at this hotel, the 5 stars service was for real. they have a huge basement with all spa facilities. the massage is great there!

the location is 5 minutes walk to charles bridge. we had room 312 and we saw the castle of prague during haveing a bath :)

great for relaxation and prague visiting

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emanuelclonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. I hope to see you back soon at the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Enjoyed a wonderful stay in the oasis of calm and grace in a wonderful location in Mala Strana. Staff was very attentive and courteous. Decor and appointments make for a charming and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcyf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
thank you ver much for your comments here at Tripadvisor. I hope to welcome you back at the Alchymist Gradn Hotel and Spa in near future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed for one night on good friday. We had stayed at the sister hotel Nosticova previously which was wonderful, but on good friday we were lucky to get a room anywhere and everywhere was expensive. The arranged driver to/from the airport was very good. The hotel is lovely, very opulent. We were welcomed with champagne and shown the hotel and our room on arrival, the hotel staff were engaging and courteous. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and cheese at 6pm. The hotel common areas are quite spacious. However our deluxe room was very small as was its bathroom. The room was nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable.There is no wifi in the room as standard, but we requested it on arrival and a technician arrived immediately to install it. The location is great, a short walk to Charles Bridge but away from the crowds in the old city. We would have left with pleasant memories of the hotel and it's staff if we hadn't had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant had very few tables to suit a couple inside so we choose a table in the courtyard. The service out there was very poor, the staff where at best uninterested. At least outside we far enough away from the piano crooner for it to be amusing (it wasn't suppose to be). The food was ok but not memorable. Would stay at a quieter time and skip the restuarant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_n_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your review here at Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to read you did not find the service of our restaurant at the level. I have already discussed with my team in order to get better and avoid mistakes for the future. I still hope you enjoyed your stay in Prague and I hope to welcome you back in near future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing