We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

What a lovely, relaxing, informal hotel, yet first class service. Massive room well appointed. Couldnt have got a better position only 5 mins from Charles Bridge 10 mins 'easy' walk up to the Castle, plenty of restaurants within high heel walking distance. Only negative on hotel don't book it on the Spa hotel basis as not that good. Only have sauna, pool is only about 12ft sq steam room is through the mens changing rooms. but having said that is still nice to lie on the beds and chill to the music. The complementry wine and cheese tasting every night is a very nice touch and just what you need after walking around Prague all day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
197
1,089
73
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

brilliant find staff were fab, beautiful room and the transfer from the airport made it so easy

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliasbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Alchymist in late March. This was our first trip to Prague and we didn't know our way around, so we relied quite heavily on Tripadvisor reviews to help us find the right place. We weren't let down by The Alchymist - our anticipation was heightened when we saw it was featured in Tripadvisor's top 25 luxury hotels in the world, quite an achievement given the very expensive competition.

Things we loved:
Nice quiet location in a secure zone, being next door to the USA Embassy, but just an alleyway away from a huge range of local bars and restaurants.
Our room overlooked a long narrow cobbled street used only, as far as we could see, by nuns from the convent up the hill.
A lovely welcome from every member of staff, right from the start with cool towels and a glass of sparkling.
The quirky spa & pool area down in the "dungeons".
Free wifi throughout - we were given a code but never actually needed it.
The complementary wine and cheese hour with endless refills!
The way you could almost get used to the completely Over The Top decor.
The price - $500 for 3 nights including breakfast, all the extras and world-class service.

Room for improvement:
Up-market tea bags that refused to brew!
Air conditioning not yet switched on so rooms were quite warm - open windows not really an option because of all those cobbles.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerbyVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The ornate courtyard entrance introduces guests to a lovely establishment imbued with an essence of the historical city which we had come to experience. Nothing corporate, bland or middle of the road here; from outrageous chandeliers and a lavishment of repro gilt furnishings, to lush drapes, expansive canvasses of opium den dreamers and assorted statues - this is in your face, over the top baroque and bohemia set in a restored palace. We loved it. Top marks for design and execution.

As many commentators have noted the reception on arrival is excellent, the guest rooms reflect the art and design themes whilst being comfortable, well appointed, and spacious. For those, like me, who enjoy cheese and wine, a daily freebie session at 5.00 was a lovely touch. The inclusive breakfast was above average and the restaurant dinner was well worth the price. All this and a spa with pool (albeit more of plunge pool) cunningly interleaving the modern with the medieval in the basement.

Although a mushy mattress triggered back ache on the first night a replacement was sorted without further inconvenience. Excellent. So what is not to like. A number of niggles, not much individually perhaps but taken together it does detract …. For example why on earth the penny pinching on limiting the in-room refreshment to one breakfast teabag and one sachet of freeze dried coffee granules per adult guest per night !! Twice we had to complain that even this meagre rationing was short or there was an absence of ‘creamer’ or brown sugar… in our suite it looked particularly silly in the context of tea pots, crockery, cutlery and a dedicated work top and sink! At least provide generously with tea bags and coffee and better still leaf tea, filter coffee, and fresh milk. A couple of chocolates with the turn-down service was nice but why only one complimentary bottle of water for the whole stay? What about some fruit, maybe some Czech cakes, a few extra touches like this would have complemented the otherwise high standard of guest accommodation. Breakfast was said to be served until 10.30 but a late arrival risks being swamped by lunch preparations as we discovered on the first morning and a polite but firm eviction at 10.50. Background music in the public rooms was fine when it was in context…Dvorjak, Mozart, Czech folk or jazz etc but not Western musak and not in the lift please!

So a hotel heading for my first five star award but regrettably falling a wee bit short (four and a half stars I would say) for want of attention to a few trivial details for the management but important factors for guest hospitality. But a cracking hotel nonetheless.

Room Tip: We were in 304, lovely roof beems with clever lighting and lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had a pleasant two nights stay at Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa. The welcome greets with a nice drink offer and a little explanation of nice places of the city by friendly staff gave me a good first impressions of the city. The location was just perfect, somewhere in the middle of Charles Bridge and The Castle, in the inside corner of the street which means lays in a quite yet safe environment. They offered some free facilities, but the (fast) internet connection was the only thing I need at that moment.
There were some drawbacks, but I would still consider it as minor ones. A strange time for a room (cleaning) service offer, late in the afternoon, somehow make an uncomfortable feeling since that was the great time to have some rest after a tiring day. Window in the bathroom only covered by a transparent thin curtain, make a bit worry of someone might accidentally have a look inside. But a nice simple request to the staff would be enough to solve the issue.

Overall, it was a very nice stay in this hotel and I would love to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you a type of person who easily lost, ask for a room close to elevator or stairs. It will
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelindeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had four nights here over the Easter break, our welcome to the hotel when we arrived couldn't be faulted the staff were friendly, helpful and totally charming and the glass of bubbly was a nice touch. Our room was lovely with its super ornate gilt bed and we loved the monsoon shower.

The public ares of the hotel are amazing, very ornately decorated and we enjoyed looking in the various curio cabinets. Breakfast was excellent, extensive buffet choices including hot food and also the option of other hot food made to order. We used the pool and sauna / steam room areas which are very nicely done, although we were a little disappointed that they were not more couple friendly (both sauna and steam room facilities are within the changing rooms so are segregated). We tried the on site coffee shop too where we had a lovely coffee and cake and where they sell the lovely chocolates that you get when the room is made up in the evening.

The hotel was from our point of view perfectly located, it was just a 2 minute walk to the Charles bridge and into the old town but up a lovely quiet road away from the hoards of tourists we encountered in other areas (the downside of visiting over Easter). On days when we had been exploring all day and were tired there were a number of restaurants to choose from (as well as the Hotels own) at the bottom of the road.

The hotel for us was a perfect match for the city, interesting, beautifully ornate and a wonderful experience. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_M_Leon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2012

3 nights stay. had a great time. breakfast was very good, the room was beautiful. the hotel is a walk from everywhere in the city.
defiantly will stay here again !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,580 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing