We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful typical experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful typical experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is really amazing. It is a perfect mix between palace service and typical experience. The service is high standards, always trying to help you and recommending you nice things to do and nice places to go. We have not tried the restaurant but the spa is really nice as well.
If you are looking for a great romantic experience or a place where you feel everybody is there to make your stay a great moment, then you fond your hotel in Prague.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    148
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
194
1,072
72
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This amazing historical hotel offers a truly memorable experience. Jam packed with antiques and a grand atmosphere, an efficient and personalized service and a one of a kind spa in the basement where I have experienced some of the best ever massages, all this will ensure that the memory of this hotel will linger in your mind for many years. An experience which you will truly remember. Well worth the visit! - And NO I am not in any way connected to the owners of this hotel! :o))

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank issibni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a gorgeous little hotel , luxury with all the extra's included for a great stay in Prague. Ideal for a romantic or relaxing getaway. Situated in the historic but quieter side of town and a short walk to the Charles Bridge or steep uphill to the Castle. Fantastic and attentive staff, excellent fresh breakfast and comfortable rooms. The small Spa facility( included in the price) in the converted Middle Ages basement is a great way to end a long day of walking the cobblestone streets of old Prague. Wine and Cheese tasting in the Library decorated in the ostentatious Baroque style . This is five star luxury for those who love a small boutique away from the big hotel chains.

Room Tip: Reserve and pay in advance to get a good deal , even the smaller rooms seem very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danTA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

You know you re going to be well treated the first moment you enter the hotel . The staff is smiling motivated and competent.
Decoration is amazingly baroque, the wine and cheese at 5pm is great. The sauna and bubbling swimming pool excellent after a day of walking discovery in praha. Breakfast is at good level.
Loved it !!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDifficultDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We spent four nights at the Alchymist recently and it was a wonderful stay. The room was small but opulent with a Juliette balcony overlooking a courtyard with a bubbling fountain. The spa in the basement is stunning, a well equipped gym, sauna and a mini plunge pool. Ask at the spa front desk for them to turn it on. The pool is actually a Jacuzzi, wonderful to relax in with a chandelier above you and luxurious decor all around. Service is top notch, attentive yet unobtrusive and the complementary breakfast is of excellent quality. The location is great, a quiet street yet a 5 minute walk from all the action. In fact there are some wonderful restaurants on the same street. The hotel restaurant serves good food, if a little rich.

All in all, one feels immediately at home yet pampered in this small luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Basic rooms have little space so if this is important to you, upgrade. Bathrooms and decor are top n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I visited this beautiful hotel for three nights in May 2012; and we found the hotel to be absolutely glorious. The hotel exceeded all our expectations. The room was really lovely; everything was spotless and full of character and charm. The staff and service were undeniably brilliant, the location was perfect – as many people have said, it’s opposite the American Embassy so there seemed to be a constant but discreet Police presence. A true oasis of tranquillity within a busy capital. I would not hesitate to book again and would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darkmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

stayed for a week in nov 2011. used the hotel car service for airport pick-up with no problems. room was ready upon check-in. we were warmly greeted and given info about the hotel amenities as well as info on tours the hotel could book for us. we checked into a junior suite which was a split-level room that opened onto a large veranda. it was clean and nicely appointed. however, i ended up feeling claustrophobic within 15 minutes. on the lower level which was the main room, the ceilings were were low and slanted so you couldn't even stand up straight in half of the room making it feel half of its actual already-small size. then in the upstairs section, it was a tiny sitting area and then a hallway into the bathroom. bathroom was tiny and very awkward shower where water went everywhere. not at all pleased. we stayed there for a night then called the front desk to politely ask what could be done. the general manager asked us to meet him in the coffee shop to discuss. as soon as i mentioned i use tripadvisor, he said that they are VERY aware of their tripadvisor ratings and wanted to do everything to make us happy as they do with all customers. he offered us free spa treatments and moved us to the terrace suite which was an amazing room almost four times the size of our original room. the ceiling were high, the bathroom was HUGE and i'm certain it is one of the nicest rooms in the entire hotel. we appreciated his efforts to make us not just okay but over-the-moon happy.at one point during our week-long stay, we returned to our room to find free champagne on ice and strawberries along with a hand-written note. nice touch. the only thing i can say is that the management might have the right idea but the staff is not on par with a 5-star hotel mentality. housekeeping barely lifts a finger when they clean the rooms. i had to call several times to get my toiletries properly refilled and at times, didn't even get the full array that you're supposed to get (ie hair conditioner). in any other 5-star hotels i've been in, you don't even have to ask for the toiletries. they are automatically there. after all, it's the attention to detail is what sets some properties apart from all the rest. in another instance, the hostess at the restaurant was cold and rather rude on a few occasions. we showed up a few minutes before close one day and the answer was "we're closed!!". the hotel is in a great location. it's a 10-15 minute walk to the center of town but nice to be slightly away from the busy and loud touristy old town area. also felt very safe being right next to the american embassy and has 24-hour security just outside the doors of the hotel. the wine and cheese hour was elegant and nice to interact with other guests. the hotel decor, while not my taste, absolutely beautiful and made for some nice photo ops for my fiance and me. the spa was gorgeous and services seemed top-notch. we did have a nice stay at this property but mainly due to the personalized hospitality of the general manager and front desk staff. if he can now get the rest of the staff (mostly housekeeping and some restaurant staff) to share his same mentality and attitude, they will be headed for 5-star status in no time. all the ingredients are there! come on hotel alchymist, you can do it!

Room Tip: terrace suite was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mskutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing