We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a unique experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

this hotel is not only an accommodation place, it's a unique experience. the rooms are exquisite and cozy, the staff is amazing. and the one table breakfast area is an amazing idea. it's a trip to the past with all the modern facilities. it is one of the best hotel i stayed in in my entire life. i highly recommend, which is something i rarely do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phoenicianjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
201
1,107
73
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed from Oct 11 for 4 nights. Were received at airport & arrived at hotel around midnight. Welcome drink was waiting & check in friendly & quick. Ushered into room 108 which was spacious, clean & tastefully furnished. Bathroom was spotlessly clean & of good size.
Whole hotel oozes of history, tradition & character. Buffet breakfast well laid out & a great treat. Restaurant AQUARIUS is gourmet though quite pricey! Location is excellent......a mere 3 minutes walk to the Charles Bridge. And the most important requirement of a hotel is SERVICE. 10 on 10 on this account! Entire personnel went out of their way to be helpful with an ever ready smile...makes you feel so welcome! If we visit Prague again, we will return to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor south side are good & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SyedDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel is simply fantastic. Starting with the pick-up from the airport with Peter the driver, which was very comfortable and convenient. The location, which is the safest in the city as it's right next to the American embassy, is also a 2 minute’s walk from the famous Charles bridge and close to all the main attractions, yet located in a very quiet and peaceful area. The courtyard before entering the reception was beautiful and very romantic, I can see this being the perfect hotel for a honeymoon.
The hotel is in a typical baroque/art deco style, and very opulently decorated. My mother and I reserved a deluxe room, which although was a bit on the small side was fine for us and we didn’t come to Prague to sit in our room 
The staff’s attention to detail and personalised service was beyond what I could have expected. The wine tasting was wonderful, allowing us to meet some of the other hotel guests and taste some lovely local wines.
We booked a three hour personalized tour with Ivana, and her knowledge of the city was beyond par, we learned a lot about the history and she took us to all the main sights and advised us where to go to explore the city further. Absolutely recommended!
I will without a doubt be returning to this beautiful city, and this beautiful hotel. Five-star experience, all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We visited Prague and the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa as part of our honeymoon. We were thoroughly spoilt by the staff there and the room we stayed in. The Tower Room was simply beautiful. Elegant and stylish whilst maintaining an air of cosiness. The breakfast choice was vast and of a high standard as you'd expect. The daily cheese and wine tastings at 5pm were a particular favourite and a welcome surprise on arrival. The Spa facilities are fantastic and they offer a wide range of treatments to help you relax. The location was brilliant. Situated on a quiet backstreet but within easy walking distance of both the castle and the Charles Bridge. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a romantic stay in Prague.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

All the exemplary reviews- and that means almost all the reviews- correctly characterize the service and each and every person who provides it as outstanding: gracious, personal, comprehensive, knowledgeable, accessible,..in all ways the staff of Alchymist equal or exceed any boutique hotel anywhere. This alone, without considering other criteria of the package, including free Wi-Fi in the rooms, makes the price a bargain,...unless you're only interested in having a bed at night and a roof above your head. Here, the beds, ceilings, bathrooms, decor, public rooms, dining room, and spa are elegant but charming. The location is quiet, but convenient for the [uphill] walk to the Prague Castle, cathedral, Lobkowicz Collection, Museum Kampa, Strakhov Monastery, etc. (even the off-beat KGB Museum!) as well as to the Charles Bridge and easy walking access to the busy Old Town, Jewish Town, and New Town. If distances are an issue, e.g. to the National Gallery, trams are convenient and manageable. Buffet breakfasts with additional menu selections are sumptious. Our otherwise limited experience with dining in the hotel restaurant was impressive, if just for the gracious way the staff replaced a mistakenly ordered cream based (?) minnestrone I chose for a snack after the opera! Afternoon wine and cheese were complimentary and a nice opportunity to talk with other guests about their travels!

Room Tip: We were fortunate to stay in two different rooms, an overnight in Czesky Krumlov intervening. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Harbor, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This hotel has all the old world charm and modern day amenities you could want. The staff is accustomed to catering to personal needs in a very professional way. The hotel itself is very eclectic and you never feel like you are "just a guest", You become their responsibility. We were always referred to by name. The location is on a quiet street that is very near the Charles Bridge and just below the Prague Castle.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know what type of trip you are planning and let them choose a room for you. No tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I am so glad I chose this hotel (from trip advisor reviews) for my weekend in Prague - I can only say whatever good stuff you read here is all true - lovely hotel; great location; wonderful food; and super staff. Just book it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kakaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#4 of 649 in Prague
1,762 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,689 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing