We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service & an amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing service & an amazing place”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Having stayed in this hotel in October I can honestly say how impressed I was.
The location is excellent, the service is perfect and the suite we stayed in was plush, true to its opulent decor.
Cheese and wine tasting every evening brings the guest together and unwind sharing their sight-seeing experiences.
We like fresh air in the room and therefore kept the windows open at night but found the outside alley way very noisy early in the morning but that's the only criticism.
Great for couples!

Room Tip: Suites are large, well decorated and luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
197
1,089
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Me and my husband find the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is a miracle hotel in the heart of Prague. It’s very nice decorated and you well find yourself as in the Versailles Ballrooms. The complementary wine and cheese not only bring brings you an opportunity to gather with other interesting people but also set the mood by playing some soft, romantic music. ... Light the room with either bright, slow-burning candles and brings such a romantic atmosphere but also relaxing after long day tours around magnificent Prague. I always prefer to have a look in trip adviser when I choose a hotel, so I would like to share my opinion regarding Alchymist Hotel which without hesitation I would call an oasis of love.
The rooms are value and very clean, the restaurant is fantastic the Baroque café such a lovely with very delicious homemade chocolate and cheesecake. Than you really feel pamper and reborn in the Spa. Special thanks for the staff they all were so kind, helpful so polite and professional. Alchymisti is an Elegant Hotel specializes in luxury boutique townhouse hotel. We had such a unique and wonderful experience. We really enjoyed it - Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice and deferent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I don't think I am a very fussy customer, but the experience I had at Alchymist Hotel and Spa is really worth contemplating... We requested a quite room and was assigned to a room right next to an elevator, requested to change and the next room smelled like a smoking room, we again requested to change, and this time the room had a double bed that we felt the bed was too small for a middle aged couple, so here comes the fourth room with two single beds, and by this time we were so tired that we just wanted to rest and did not mind anything else anymore. Now, the issue was next morning at 8:30 when a construction started right above our room. I specifically requested a quite room and the room turned out to be so noisy the next morning that we had to get up and leave the room right away, was this a $300 a night's joke or what?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank shaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
It is regrettable that this guest’s stay did not meet their expectations. While I am unable to change subjective perceptions, I would like to point out some matters of fact which I believe the TripAdvisor community will find helpful.

Being a historical hotel, it is true that our hotel offers a variety of rooms and categories. Nevertheless all our rooms would only have either 180cm or 200cm beds or twin beds.

Our hotel follows a strict Non-Smoking policy in bedrooms and public areas.

As far as elevator noise is concerned, our lifts virtually have no noise since they have being muted and the guests discretion in our corridors is understood. Therefore the quietness of our hotel frequently wins praise.

Construction work in neighboring buildings although out of our control are usually postponed if notified.

I would like to stress that it is very unfortunate this guest in particular who only had reserved for one night did not have the chance to truly experience our hotel after having tried four different rooms.

At the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa, we specialize in providing personalized service and do our best to realize our guests’ requests and therefore we hope to have the chance to see this guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had debated between the Four Seasons and this hotel for our stay in Prague for July. I ended up settling on this hotel because I wanted an authentic Prague experience - and boy does this hotel offer it. You feel like you are staying in an 18th century castle that has not been touched since! We were upgraded to a suite - which was the size of three rooms. It was very opulent, clean, and quiet. The hotel was great in helping us get around Prague, and in helping us make dinner reservations. The location (in Old Town) was within walking distance to everything.
We ended up having dinner at the Four Seasons and I think I was happy with my choice. The Four Seasons was like any other luxury hotel in the world with little of the charm that the Alchymist had. But I can understand that the choice might still be hard to make....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldclasstraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Visited Prague with my fiancee last October, on our anniversary romantic trip. Our stay at the Alchymyst Grand Hotel was without doubt a wonderful experience. Located at the foothill of Prague's Castle, in the heart of the aristocratic Lesser Town, this Baroque-styled boutique hotel made for the perfect setting for our celebration. Equipped with the most soothing spa and relaxing treatments, it offered about that right amount of pampering we were wishing for. No need to bother with public transport or taxis; all the must-see sights were a short walk away, of which we enjoyed many, along the narrow cobblestone paved streets of this magnificent city.
Staff was very friendly and helpful; big thanks to Guest Relations Manager, Ms. Xhelo, for making sure all our expectations were met and exceeded.
Mickey O.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mickey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Without a doubt the hotel is among top hotels I have been in the world! As a frequent traveller I stop by many hotels world wide and I must addmint Alchymist Granda Hotel and Spa in Prague is one of the world's best!

Style, food, confort, safety, customer service, sanity is top rated so I would recommand this to anyone. I am particularly impressed though Value the Guest Relations Manager Ms Katerina Xhelo for tireless effort to confort us and feel like home.
I would give the best rated for: Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness and Service.

keep up your excellent work

GM

Room Tip: any room is great, but Corner suites are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Genci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Alchymist. We have stayed in many hotels around the world and I have to say the welcome and how we were looked after was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble in fact they couldnt do enough to please us and make our stay a truly memorable one. Mohammed, Elena and the other reception team really put themselves out for us. We were lucky to be upgraded into the most beautiful and spacious suite with roll top bath and four poster bed - pure luxury. The wine and cheese is a great idea and lovely to sample the wine and cheese and also meet other guests. We ate in the restaurant which we thought was a really high standard and really enjoyed the pianist - which added to the wonderful ambience of the restaurant. The decor and attention to detail is incredible. We are already looking at our next trip back. Thank you to all the staff at the Alchymist for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsParker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,573 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing