We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel around the corner from the Charles Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

After much deliberation my husband and I decided to stay here on our second trip to Prague. It was simply beautiful! We made arrangements for a car pick-up and it was a shiny BMW 750d. The staff were warm and welcoming even with the late hour of our arrival (11pm). They made reservations for us at Kampa Park which was delicious.

The spa is quite grand with steam room, sauna, and pool. We had a couples massage which was GREAT! I had a combination of Swedish, Thai, and Balinese which I recommend. Stepping into this hotel is like going back in time with its arched ceilings, wooden beams, and spiral staircases. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning which is included in the price of the room. There was a good selection and you can't beat the price. You can also order off of the a la carte menu for free! We didn't eat in the restaurant for any other meals so I have no feedback on that. The hotel also has an included wine and cheese tasting each evening around 5-6pm.

The room was a decent size and as others have stated quite warm. The windows open easily and the thermostat is in the bathroom which cools things off quickly. Overall a wonderful stay and we would stay here again. I think it was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

635 - 641 of 1,807 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

we stayed 3 nights at the alchymist grand hotel ,after seeing many reviews from travellers we could not imagine that is going to be real and we will touch it ,every thing we have seen in the pictures before ,we found it real maybe more beautiful than pictures ,once we arrived to the hotel ,we were picked up from the car to the hotel with lovely glass of Sekt and warm welcome ,the decoration of the hotel is such a unique,you feel like you are in a palace ,very good location all sights are in few min walking from the hotel,
The furniture seemed to be high value of this hotel ,its very beautiful and thin .the staff are very well informed and they go out of their places to help you ,they have big knowledge of the hotel and the city and also the concierge helped us a lot in updating our plane in the city with great recommendation and many services they did it for us ,they are so polite you feel like you are a princes how they treat you .
the spa is amazing and the massage was very good ,we had a wonder full stay in The Alchymist grand hotel great deal and sure we will be back ,we would highly recommend this hotel for such a romantic stay or holiday break for relax ,or even for such a great experience in one of the most beautiful cities in the world .and again thank you all Alchymist members for a great time and we look forward to stay with you again .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

On the New Year Eve , I and my husband was looking to celebration to a wonderful, baroque hotel Alchymist Grand hotel and SPA 5 * . The hotel was in the historical part of Prague. The services and all staff was at the high level. Great adventure mediteranian cuisine, diverse selection of wines and cheese both Czech and French. Festive menu has been compiled with careful forethought. Staff was very lovely.
From the hotel was a short walk away to important historical monument.This year we keep with us the beautiful memories in celebrate of the New Year that complited our 4-day stay in Prague. Highly recommended to all who want to spend a great time in Prague. Looking forward to be back soon.

Room Tip: all the room are verz good but 101 the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shinji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed with 'hot' wine and towels which I thought was a lovely touch. We were then showed to our room by one of the many fantastic members of staff. The staff at this hotel make it. Ok, the room was a little on the small side. We however didn't mind seeing as we were only there for 3 nights and were there to see the sites and enjoy the beauty which is Prague. I'm sure if we had mentioned this to reception they would have been more than happy to move us. Every evening at 5pm was wine and cheese tasting. A lovely pre dinner idea. This also seemed to be pretty much help yourselves to as much as you would like. The food in the hotel was extremely tasty, with a lot of choice. Breakfast in particular exceeded any expectations. Many reviewers have mentioned the decor, which personally I loved. It was a little more quirky and fun than the usual 'samey' contemporary hotels. Felt very warm and comfortable, especially as it was snowing outside. The spa was great, an added bonus to a city break hotel. The location could not have been improved. It was a 2 minute walk on to Charles Bridge and not far from Prague Castle. Perfect. If I every returned to Prague I would definitely stay here and would recommend it to anyone. What a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is very well located and has an astonishing decor. The baroque interior blends perfectly with the beautiful architecture of Prague. if you are used to conventional cold hotels definitely not your type.
But what sets this hotel apart from the rest is the service and care for its guests.

Thank you Alchymist for a fantastic holiday. We will be back soon...

Room Tip: visit the SPA. its out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very well located on the quieter side of the old city, the hotel wold be quite tolerable if it were not for the decor - based on the time-honed principal that more is better. The furniture is faux Gothic- hideously twisted fake antiques covered in layers of gold paint. There is gilt everywhere - walls, floors and lavatories.
For a high-end hotel - services were shoddy. The staff was friendly but clueless - the internet worked badly if at all - they provided a single bottle of water for the entire stay, and when I asked the desk clerk why a hotel in this price range did not provide guests with unlimited drinking water - his reply was : thats how we do it! Not at all the answer I expected for 500 Euros per night. Breakfast was fair - however the hotel restaurant is good. Not again - for certain...

Room Tip: down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ursa387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Dear Guest,

It is regrettable this guest’s experience was fraught with disappointment. This experience is clearly the antithesis of what we strive so hard to provide, impeccable accommodations and unsurpassed service. Certainly the hotel’s decor is unique and particular and every single piece of the highest quality, but that is in fact our identity. We do accept and respect personal opinions about our decor and style of course, although our style is what receives praise from travelers who search for unique luxury hotels.

As for the water in our bedrooms, I would like to assure that for the duration of the stay the water is always complimentary on demand and therefore the misunderstood reply from one of our team members "that's how we do it" might refer to the fact that we leave a bottle of water before check in already in the room and the rest of the stay is upon request.

Anyhow we are sincerely sorry that this particular stay was not satisfactory and our style did not go along with the taste of one of our guests although we are pleased to hear that our restaurant was satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I booked this hotel for our Honeymoon and we stayed from New Years Eve for 4 nights. We would never normally stay in 5 star hotels but splashed out for this particular trip. There were pluses and minuses to our stay but I'll start with the positives!

On arrival, after a delayed flight, the hotel is beautifully impressive. Set in Mala Strana, it is perfect for sight seeing as it's only a 5 minute walk from Charles Bridge. It's in a beautiful part of town near the American and Irish embassies and walking distance to Prague Castle. We were welcomed at check in with mulled wine and our bags were brought to our room. The room was small but beautifully decorated and the bathroom was in the wardrobe which I thought was quite cool!
The hotel is gorgeous-a really old building with lots of nooks and crannies and luxuriously decorated. We ordered room service the first night which although expensive was quite nice and very prompt.
The cheese and wine each evening from 5-6pm is a nice touch and the staff are quick to replenish everything. The breakfast buffet was nice and the staff in the dining room were attentive. I must mention Peter who showed us to our room-he was very friendly and welcoming. Also, Stan, another member of staff was very friendly especially when it turned out he had lived in our city for a few years. Another nice touch was the bottle of wine they delivered to the room as a surprise for our honeymoon.

Now to the cons.....let me start by saying we are not fussy people who are looking for things to give out about. On the contrary, we are pretty laid back!

The room (106) was one of the noisiest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in!! At first, I put this down to the fact that it was New Years Eve and probably a full house. We said the same about New Years Day. Our third night was one of the quietest nights there but again on our final night, we were woken several times. It was always early in the morning that we were woken-my husband went to investigate and concluded that maybe we were over the kitchen or some other staff area. Doors banging, footsteps, voices-it was ridiculously noisy. To be fair to the hotel, I'm sure that they might have moved us had we asked but we were only there for 4 nights and didn't really want the hassle of moving rooms. However, I would have thought a 5 star hotel would be calm and quiet.

Secondly, the room was seriously warm. We turned on the air conditioning but it wasn't great so resorted to opening the door out the courtyard to cool the room.

Next was the wifi! Now normally if I see someone mention the lack of wifi in a hotel, I dismiss them as a crank!!! But here I am doing the same thing. We were told there was wifi in the room and a hotel computer room with a printer. We were delighted as we had to check in online and print our boarding passes. The internet in the hotel computer room wouldn't connect the night we tried so we couldn't print our boarding passes. Not a massive deal but again if it is offered by the 5 star hotel you're paying for, it should work. The wifi in the room was painfully slow and not worth having.

And finally, the tickets!! This was what annoyed me the most. We wanted to book tickets to a concert and were told we could do it through the hotel. We booked it one morning through Mohammed and his blond haired colleague whose name escapes me. We were told we could collect them on our way back in that evening. When we sat at reception that evening to collect them, there seemed to be some confusion and we were told they didn't have them just now so they would drop them up to our room. We were in our room for a few hours and then left for dinner. We put the Do not Disturb sign on our door that night as the maids used to come early. We then got up the next morning, taking the sign down and left to sight see for the day. When we came back that evening, (the night of the concert), we passed the same staff we had ordered the tickets from. We presumed because we hadn't received our tickets, that they weren't available but my husband said he would check once more. He went down to reception and sure enough our tickets were there!!! This was 45 mins before the concert was due to start on the other side of town. When asked why they hadn't delivered them to our room as promised, he was told we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Now, I do not accept this. We had passed in and out several times so they could have called us. They could have put a note under the door or they could have called to the room any of the other times we didn't have the sign on the door which was most of the time. It just appeared as if they didn't care.

All in all, this is a lovely hotel with a great location and good staff.
However, since we had splashed out for a 5 star hotel, this wasn't up to scratch!! In my opinion, it is the little touches that make it 5 star and they lacked this. If I was going back to Prague, I think I could find another 5 star hotel that provided the 5 star standard. It's not that the hotel is bad-it's a good 4 star but we were disappointed that we didn't receive the 5 star standard we had paid for.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 106-very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lauram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

We are deeply sorry to hear that this guest could not enjoy their stay due to noise disturbances. We would like to assure that the room specified is an isolated area of the hotel away from any "back of house" staff area. Nevertheless there might be many different reasons, including neighboring rooms that might accommodate families with children that we were not aware of that could have explained the noise from outside the room that disturbed this guest.

As was also pointed out, the hotel provides complimentary WiFi to our guest and a business room with two computers and a printer in case the WiFi is insufficient. We apologize for the lack of connection in the computers when this guest tried to connect. Nevertheless, we do have an IT team that ensures constantly the perfect functioning of the business room and the WiFi and we hope that on a second attempt this guest could use the computers and the printer without a problem and print their boarding passes.

Although striving for perfection is our mission, problems can, nevertheless, arise, in which case it is usually best to make one’s concerns known soon as soon as possible; this way, the hotel has an opportunity to address the problem and find the best resolution to ensure guest satisfaction.

I extend my apologies for any confusion at the front desk regarding the tickets delivery to the room and we will certainly look into this matter and find ways to improve our communication skills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#97 of 646 in Prague
3,360 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,960 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#5 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#16 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £147 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing