We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint and romantic hotel in the perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very quaint and romantic hotel in the perfect location!”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We went back to Prague to celebrate our 5th year's anniversary in the city where my partner and I met for the first time. Plus it was his 30th birthday as well. We also got engaged this weekend, so it couldn't have been more perfect for us and there couldn't have been a better hotel than the Alchymist to have experienced this all. The layout of the hotel and surrounding area are so quaint and romantic, that we couldn't have wished for a better staging of our engagement weekend! :)

However, there are some downsides to the hotel, so therefore I chose "very good" instead of "excellent". The wifi didn't work at all in the room and it was very noisy (also during the night, which was rather odd...). The latter probably because it's a very old building. The breakfast is nice, but I wouldn't say excellent. The pancakes I ordered didn't taste like freshly made pancakes at all, but more like microwave pancakes. Also the orange juice didn't taste quite fresh. I guess that's all fine too (I normally don't really complain about that kind of stuff...), but not for a 5 star hotel and the price you have to pay to stay in this hotel (especially when you think about the fact that some people pay the normal, way higher, price for a room in this hotel).

Anyway, if you want to have a romantic weekend in Prague and you can find a good deal for this hotel I would highly recommend it, because it is situated in one of the most beautiful parts of the city, of which I think is also one of the most beautiful cities of Europe!

Room Tip: I think it has been mentioned here before, but room 106 is a very noisy one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kremer30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
199
1,094
73
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend break with my husband.
I really liked this hotel, beautifully decorated really classy.
We went to Prague to see Coldplay concert, met a lovely couple at concert who were ironically staying at this hotel too!
I've recommended this hotel to all I know, do go you won't be disappointed.
My favourite bit is the hotels court yard,so relaxing there!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovethesun54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Excellent location, great service, helpful staff - all you can wish for a fantastic stay. Liked the spa to relax after the travel day. Afternoon refreshment, wine and cheese was an added value. Will come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Arrived to be offered hot towels and hot wine, brilliant , fantastic central location to walk to all the sights , wine and cheese at 5-6 everyday, had some good crack with the other residents, ( martin you know who you are ) room was superb with 4 poster and huge bathroom,we went to the spa everyday to chill out and relax, we were the only 2 in their, we had a superb romantic break in this beautiful city and hotel, just down the road for good wine in a little bar called cork and fork , and up the next street at Jo,s for cocktails, dont hesitate, get booked and enjoy the city and this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Loved this hotel. Great location, boutique size hotel, great, freindly staff, nice bedrooms, good service. The spa was fantastic and was reasonably priced.

At 4pm everyday there is wine and chese which is a very nice touch and a way of finishing off the afternoon before going out to dinner that evening.

We could walk everywhere in Prague from our hotel. Also there is a segway shot next to the hotel and this is a fantastic way to do a tour of the city. It takes 3 hours and gave us an excellent overview.

Only small complaint - breakfast was a bt average and if there is one area they could improve it is this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collykp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

After much deliberation my husband and I decided to stay here on our second trip to Prague. It was simply beautiful! We made arrangements for a car pick-up and it was a shiny BMW 750d. The staff were warm and welcoming even with the late hour of our arrival (11pm). They made reservations for us at Kampa Park which was delicious.

The spa is quite grand with steam room, sauna, and pool. We had a couples massage which was GREAT! I had a combination of Swedish, Thai, and Balinese which I recommend. Stepping into this hotel is like going back in time with its arched ceilings, wooden beams, and spiral staircases. We had breakfast at the hotel each morning which is included in the price of the room. There was a good selection and you can't beat the price. You can also order off of the a la carte menu for free! We didn't eat in the restaurant for any other meals so I have no feedback on that. The hotel also has an included wine and cheese tasting each evening around 5-6pm.

The room was a decent size and as others have stated quite warm. The windows open easily and the thermostat is in the bathroom which cools things off quickly. Overall a wonderful stay and we would stay here again. I think it was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

we stayed 3 nights at the alchymist grand hotel ,after seeing many reviews from travellers we could not imagine that is going to be real and we will touch it ,every thing we have seen in the pictures before ,we found it real maybe more beautiful than pictures ,once we arrived to the hotel ,we were picked up from the car to the hotel with lovely glass of Sekt and warm welcome ,the decoration of the hotel is such a unique,you feel like you are in a palace ,very good location all sights are in few min walking from the hotel,
The furniture seemed to be high value of this hotel ,its very beautiful and thin .the staff are very well informed and they go out of their places to help you ,they have big knowledge of the hotel and the city and also the concierge helped us a lot in updating our plane in the city with great recommendation and many services they did it for us ,they are so polite you feel like you are a princes how they treat you .
the spa is amazing and the massage was very good ,we had a wonder full stay in The Alchymist grand hotel great deal and sure we will be back ,we would highly recommend this hotel for such a romantic stay or holiday break for relax ,or even for such a great experience in one of the most beautiful cities in the world .and again thank you all Alchymist members for a great time and we look forward to stay with you again .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,744 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing