We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Amazing!”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The ambience was very good. The service is excellent. The people are very nice.

Guest treat them so special. . Alex and Albina are very friendly and helpful.

The city is just a step away, and some good sceneries in Prague, the place, the people the hotel itself are just perfect! Totally amazing! :)

Come back to bring my family and friend :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,557
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
201
1,107
73
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
748 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights for my birthday. The welcome at reception was fantastic - a mulled wine was given to us both with a towel and a (just a bit too long) explanation of local attractions and restaurants. Our room was absolutely stunning. Gorgeous four poster bed. I was so happy. However, our first night's sleep was ruined with noise from the room above. They were being very loud all night, although there must have been a problem with the insulation as you could hear everything they did, from plugging in their phone to putting the toilet seat down. I wonder if there was anything the hotel could do to insulate the floor upstairs as you wouldn't want to do anything to insulate the lovely beamed ceiling. We asked to change rooms as our entire night's sleep was ruined. We had to change twice as the second room we were given was not as nice as the first. If it was not for this ruined night's sleep I would have given 5 stars as everything else was perfect. I've still given 4 stars which shows how good the hotel is that one of our three nights there we couldn't sleep at all.

The breakfasts were tasty and you could get some items cooked to order. The waffles were great. The staff were friendly and helpful and always ready to assist at any time. The pool and spa were lovely and relaxing and we used it twice.

The free wine and cheese every evening was a great touch. And the decor was opulent and lovely. A real change from a standard hotel.

I loved my stay here - great location, great service and magical decor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypridd
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Valentines Weekend after booking a last minute break. We were greeted at the front door and taken to the reception desk where we were given a glass of bubbly each and a cool towel as we were checked in. The room was lovely and overlooked a small courtyard so was really quiet. There was a rose left on the bed and a complimentary bottle of red wine. The little touches like this really made the hotel. We used the sauna and also had a massage in the spa which was amazing for tired muscles after a day walking around Prague.

The hotel is very central and you can walk anywhere from here. It was a lovely base from which to explore Prague and we would not hesitate in booking here again if we returned.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor which was quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBorringdocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I visited The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa in March 2013
I had heard that it was a boutique hotel and very different from the norm and very worth a visit
We were already visiting Prague at the time and so did not stay here although we were shown several bedrooms and the public rooms.
It is quite amazing, the style is extremely Czech traditional but with influences from other cultures and mainly in the Baroque style. Sumptuous fabrics throughout in red, gold and blue. Located in a quiet street close to the US embassy and very close to the Charles Bridge. The bedrooms are in the same style as the rest of the hotel which could be too decorative for some but everything achieves such a warm and cosy feel it could be said to be a home from home.
The underground spa is quite unique. The pool is small but in keeping with the overall feel of the spa itself. Access to most areas is across a wooden bridge and the feel of the Orient abounds.
There is free wi-if throughout the hotel and the Aquarius restaurant has a great reputation.
If you are a chocolate lover then the coffee shop is an absolute must. My husband loves hot chocolate and he was not disappointed. It is served with or without cream and is simply molten chocolate. He was in heaven! The individual chocolates are also great.
The hotel is not inexpensive but if it is to your style I am sure you will love it.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

When visiting Prague be prepared to face the crowds. Even in freezing weather streets in the old town are paved with visiting high school pupils, students, guided groups and even individual travellers form all over the world. The city deserved that interest, no doubt about it.
But taking the numbers into account you would most likely be interested in a good or even excellent hotel, close to the old town but far from the hussle and noise. The Alchymist Grand hotel and Spa is such a place, and visiting during 3 days we found no competition. Located only 200 meters from the Karlov Most ( Karls bridge) in a quiet street and only a few minutes walking distance from one of the most magnificent cathedrals in town, The US embassy across the street is permanently watched by a police team also making it the safest street in Prague .
Many reviewers have already sung praise of the very friendly and hospitable staff, and they have not exagerated. You will find it difficult not to be pleased. The hotel interior is a treat for the eye if you like Baroc, the rooms are spacious and well furnished and the bathroom modern and well maintained. In short , even frequent and spoiled travelers will have difficult finding flaws.
As closing remark a quick word about the restaurant. In many cases the restaurant of hotels should best be avoided by those appreciating michelin style foods. It the case of the Alchymist the restaurant deserved a detour , in short a positive exeption. Those who dine there will not leave disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Booked a 4 night stay as a surprise for my husbands 50th birthday. From the moment we were collected at the airport by the hotel car until the moment we left the whole experience was an absolute pleasure. The staff are so friendly, helpful and accomodating in every way - nothing is too much trouble. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated very much in keeping with the style of the building, adorned in rich red & gold furnishings. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, we found wifi service to be absolutely fine. Wine & Cheese is served in one of the lounge areas each evening between 5 - 6pm and is a lovely way to relax after a days sightseeing.
Food in the Aquarius Restaurant is top class - we had the seven course tasting menu, which was particularly good - each course complimented with a well chosen wine. For pre dinner drinks try the Gin & Tonic made with Cucumber - sound a strange combination but is delicioulsy refreshing. The hotel is in a superb location, only 10 minutes walk from The Charles Bridge and Prague Castle yet in a quiet, peaceful corner of the city. Complete with a Health Spa,Pool & Fitness Room you really shouldn't look any further than this for a real 'spoil yourself' treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanD911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#4 of 649 in Prague
1,765 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,689 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#11 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing