We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was a fantastic find absoloutely first class in every way.
Our room was small but beautiful.
Breakfast had everything you could want.
Location was very safe and only short walk from Charles bridge

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

This 16th century Baroque-style building has been beautifully restored and combines the opulence of the era with modern convenience (free WiFi throughout).

The hotel is ideally located just 5 mins walk from the famous Charles Bridge and close to the Prague Castle.

Without exception ALL of the staff are friendly and efficient.

The underground Spa with its crystal chandeliers is a real treat.

I spent a few hours in the open courtyard with a glass of wine and an iPad. Bliss!

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone - particularly couples on a romantic getaway ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I highly recommend this hotel!
I stayed for 3 nights for a family holiday (3 adults), and had a marvellous time.
The location is ideal to get to the castle, and also Charles bridge, and we were able to walk to the National Theatre to ballet, and to Municiple House too.
The decor is furnished really beautifully, with great attention to detail - fresh flowers, atmospheric lighting, mirrors, lush drapes and gilt embellishments. The dining areas too are very pretty with chandeliers, murals and all-in-all a luxurious feel.
For breakfast there was a good choice, and we were asked if we would like alternatives if we so wished - eg: I had waffles.
The staff were all really friendly, polite and helpful - the service was great. When asked for extra things like an ironing board, it was brought straight away (they offered to do it too).
The complimentary wine and cheese tastings are a good idea for discussions and socialising.
The spa also is well equipped and with a very relaxing atmosphere; again with great attention to detail and I wish that I had more time to use it more.
So when I come back to Prague, I will definitely stay here again! The hotel helped make the holiday very special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beva5on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at this hotel on our recent trip to Prague, and our only complaint was that we couldn't have stayed longer! It was the most intimate, romantic and beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the staff was incredibly helpful and we were even greeted with complimentary wine upon arrival. We would definitely recommend this hotel! It will make your trip to Prague so much better!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaitlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I traveled with a group, so I don't know the exact hotel room prices, but the entire experience could not have been better. The staff was so gracious and accommodating. My room was extremely comfortable and quiet, and there are several welcoming rooms on the first floor to relax and enjoy. The afternoon wine and cheese is a very special addition. I enjoyed the spa and really wish I had taken more opportunity to use the facility. Be sure to take your swimsuit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXHillCountry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

An absolutely beautiful hotel!!! Everything was excellent; the staff, the spa, the continental breakfast, the evening wine & cheese reception, the comfy beds, the shower head, the gym, the flowers on the tables! Every detail was done to perfection and just gorgeousl. Chandeliers everywhere, even the gym. Absolutely a wonderful, luxurious place to stay. We loved it! Would highly recommend it.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I cannot emphasize enough how the extraordinary management & staff of this lovely boutique hotel made our first stay in Prague calm & relaxing, and provided an exceptional place to "come home to," after long days of walking & exploration. In every way, the staff of The Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa created a warm atmosphere for our visit; aided our understanding of local customs, fees, phrases, and directions; and provided an easy afternoon salon for us to converse and share with our fellow travelers. From start to finish, the people we met went out of their way to help make our stay wonderful. The spa was absolutely gorgeous. I can't comment on the restaurant, as we dined elsewhere in the city (though we did order room service breakfast a few days, and it was much better than we had in London a few days later, in a more expensive hotel). The location was perfect for us. We could walk everywhere, yet not be in absolute ground-zero tourist zone. Perfect. I must take exception to the reviewer who called it, "Friendly Disneyland Baroque," without offering a better alternative. Prague is gorgeous, and there IS a certain showiness to it. But anywhere you go, you can learn more about what's under the surface if you give it some effort. You cannot "know" a place as a tourist. You can admire and hope to speak to as many people as possible. So I must disagree with "langvass" and agree with mahleen. It was fabulous. This is real service. Thank you Stan, Mohammed, et al.

Room Tip: Our room was quite beautiful, but it overlooked a cobblestoned road. Early in the morning it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosebud410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#91 of 646 in Prague
3,309 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 646 in Prague
2,052 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,893 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#5 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £152 - £652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing