We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We are in room 206. I have stayed some lovely hotels including the some 7 star hotels. This hotel is up there with the very best. It is not a huge hotel but the attention to detail and customer service are absolute class. Paul made us feel welcome on arrival as did Emmanuel. Our driver from the airport was very friendly too. There are too many good staff to mention all. The shower is lovely as is all the decorations in the room. Chandeliers are a neat touch. Breakfast is excellent quality. I cannot rate this hotel any higher from the music to the decor to the food and staff. A real global gem. Keep up the efforts. Almost forgot the home made chocolates are Devine.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ace28065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,485
    147
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
189
1,063
72
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We really enjoyed getting picked up at the airport by one of the hotels drivers. After a smooth ride to the hotel we were greeted by very courteous and friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. It was my 50th birthday and they arranged a bottle of champers and choccies in the room for us. The hotel has great character and charm and every room has so much too see. Our bedroom was lovely and was very comfortable.
The hotel is situated in a very convenient place to get around and see the centre of Prague from. We spent our time mostly walking around Prague which is a great way to enjoy all the sights. We did manage to enjoy an afternoon in the Spa at the hotel and were lucky enough to have the facilities all to ourselves.
If you're looking for a lovely venue with great service then this fits the bill exactly.
We would and have recommended this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanRackham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

we stayed in many leading hotels of the world, but the Alchymist Grand Hotel beats them all. From the welcome to departure we felt at home and the service couldn't have been better.The restaurant is excellent and the rooms have that romantic touch you expect to find in Prague.
Although we have seen most of Prague we certainly come back for just the hotel and the opera and ballet performances . We stayed 5 nights and I wished we could have stayhed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edward a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for my 50 something birthday. I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years but this really was outstanding. The service throughout our stay was superb, the public rooms quite extraordinary and our bedroom was beautiful. Don't come here if you want a bleak, cream hotel with angular furniture - but if you like a bit of baroque, this is for you. We enjoyed both the hotel restaurant and the café - sadly not the spa, as the delights of Prague were too compelling. Breakfast was a banquet too. Terrific attention to detail - staff noticed it was my birthday from my passport and sent up a complementary bottle - wholly unexpected, quite delightful. Excellent help from reception staff, with tips on using the trams and maps. Our only problem was leaving at the end! Thank you to all at the Alchymist, we hope to be back and will be recommending to friends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouarzazate
Level Contributor
430 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Location...TOP
Room...even it was a small delux.....good
Service.....Great...Thanks to the Bell boy named Slan, it is due to His good service that we book on this Hotel
Breakfast.............good
Decoration......it is really like a Doll House but it ok for a fews nights
Ambiance...TOP
Spa, i did a facial treatment.....SUPER

Room Tip: if u need space forget the delux room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel..stayed for 3 nights..had one incident at the restaurant where we were charged for 2 rather expensive glasses of champagne when we under the impression they were going to be complimentary based on the way te waiter approached our table an offered us the drinks...this was quickly rectified the next day by the hotel manager giving us a voucher for the restaurant to compensate being charged for the drinks. This hotel has a great spa and we had a lovely massage. I think the temperature in the pool could be hotter. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Prague. Location is great and hotel staff were very approachable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carraroejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked this hotel form my husbands 50th birthday what can I say ...WOW! It is like stepping into a fairy tale. We were collected by the hotels own driver in a gorgeous BMW. We felt like celebrities! The driver was so welcoming and pleasant and carried our luggage in for us. As you walk into the entrance of the hotel it is amazing. A beautiful welcoming courtyard with red carpet a lovely seated area with candles on the tables and the staff are wonderful. Really professional, friendly and helpful staff. They make it feel very special, nothing is too much trouble. We could not believe on check in we were offered refreshing towels and a welcoming glass of champagne! The staff carried our luggage to and from our rooms for us. The lounge area is beautiful with gorgeous chairs, and beautiful pictures and chandeliers. We had a lovely buffet breakfast and took advantage of the cheese and wine that they offer each evening between 5-6 pm. This is definitely worth doing. The extra touches to your visit make it magical and romantic. The staff even offered to turn the bed down with chocolates!

We also enjoyed using the very magical spa facilities. On our last night even though we had checked out we were offered the chance to store our luggage and make use of the pool and spa. We were given keys and on opening the locker found fluffy white towels, a dressing gown and slippers! We had the facilities all to ourselves which was heavenly, which could also be made into a large jacuzzi! Just what we needed after all that walking around Prague.

If you want a truly memorable, romantic and magical stay this is definitely the hotel to book. Thank you so much to all the staff who all made it such a wonderful break.

Room Tip: The cheese & wine is worth trying and you must try the pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,922 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#14 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing