We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

It is hard to describe just how good this hotel is, the architecture is beautiful since parts of the hotel dates back to the 1500's and the entrance courtyard sets the tone for what will be a wonderful experience. The staff, without exception, are excellent in every way, the public rooms are stunning and the bedrooms are decorated to a high standard - the building may be old but the hotel interior has every modern convenience worthy of a new hotel. Location is excellent, a short walk to Charles Bridge in one direction or the castle in the other.
Impossible to find any fault, if you go to Prague then you must stay at the Alchymist!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    148
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
196
1,078
73
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed a the "Alchymist Grand Hotel" for two nights during the family's first visit to Prague. I selected it based on the positive reviews on this website and because of my intention to be located in the old part of Prague near the Charles Bridge and the Castle.

We were not disappointed, the location served its purpose being on a quite street a few minutes walk from all the pedestrian activities, the river and less than half an hour walk to the main shopping area, old square, museums etc... The hotel is opposite the US Embassy ... which could be a plus from a security point of view, but if you are driving... then the local police will search your car every time you are approaching the hotel !

Speaking of car (we were driving from Munich), you will not really need it in Prague... parking around the hotel is very scarce/difficult, but they take care of it.

As stated by previous reviewers the hotel has a special "ambiance" of old central European rich decor and furniture ... a change from your typical hotel .... its relative small size makes it more causy and personal. The rooms we took were somewhat small but convenient, very clean and well kept. I would not say the hotel is the best ever, but it was very pleasant and worth it. Breakfast was good, not impressive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yerevan, Armenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was traveling for business and didn't choose my hotel, but I couldn't be happier when I arrived in Alchymist. The photos online do no justice to the place. Everything here was fabulous starting from the staff and ending with the interior of the hotel. I had a great time and a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel during our European honeymoon tour at the recommendation of a friend who is in the hotel industry. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! It is a very unique space - very old-fashioned yet modern, BEAUTIFULLY decorated rooms, top-notch service, and located just minutes from Prague castle...and as Americans, it didn't hurt that it was next to the American Embassy :). It is also close to the world-famous Charles Bridge and Old Town. Another thing I am picky about is water pressure in the shower...and it was fantastic!!! Our first night there, they brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne since it was our honeymoon. It wasn't necessary but it was definitely a nice touch. Housekeeping was excellent as well. It is a bit on the pricier side, but hey, if you're in a city such as Prague, go ahead and splurge! It is well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmwbikerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at the Alchymist Grand hotel and Spa to celebrate my husband’s 60th birthday.
It was a truly beautiful hotel making it perfect for an extra special birthday celebration.
The hotel room was exquisite, fit for a king and queen, luxuriously decorated in gold and reds, with a beautiful sparkling crystal chandelier hanging from the ceiling. We felt like royalty staying here.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made sure we were well taken care of.
We especially enjoyed the free cheese and wine tasting sessions held every evening, which was a great chance to sample some of the local produce.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Prague, it is definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I spent 75% of my time traveling around the world and most of that time is spent in various business hotels. I am lucky to have the chance to travel the work doing what I love and occasionally the cherry on the top of the cake is to stay in a hotel that is just so different from everything else. If you want to stay in a hotel that is like a fairy tale castle in the middle of an almost fairy tale city, then come to the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa in Prague. Driving up to the hotel along cobbled streets one is stopped by police as they search the vehicle ... no need to panic ... the hotel is opposite the residence of the US Ambassador. Walking into the hotel is like walking back in time. The red carpet leads through a delightful courtyard up to the entrance and the lobby. From the moment you arrive you will be greeted by staff who are polite, welcoming and incredibly helpful. The decor of the hotel has to be seen to be believed. Rich, ornate rococo in style with a twist of Louis XIV and Art Deco. Subtle ... no ... gorgeous "bling" ... yes! Check-in includes a cooling wet towel and a choice of drink. My tea was taken to my room which was a haven of gold and lacquer. The bed was very comfortable and the turn down service left wonderful chocolates and the breakfast card for the morning. The bathroom was equally luxurious with colored marble and was sparkling clean. Lots of amenities and towels and hot water for soaking in the bath. The room also has plenty of storage and a small table (good for room service) as well as a desk with facilities for tea and coffee. The restaurant serves exquisite food. Try the potato and forest mushroom soup and the baked Coquille St Jacque ... wow. Washed down with a very good Czech wine and make sure to leave room for the moelleux! Breakfast is also first class with a very extensive selection of baked goods, yogurts, cereals and cold cuts. Wine and cheese in the evening is also a very nice addition to the experience. Finally the Spa. It's like walking into a temple. Service is sublime, the massage was exactly what was needed after a long flight and a great way to unwind. The fitness room is "cosy" and to be honest I didn't care ... this place screams indulgence! The location is also perfect. Everything is within easy walking distance but one also feels tucked away from the crowds of tourists. If you are coming to Prague and want to splash out on some unforgettable luxury then try this place. It would be impossible not to find yourself smiling every second you are here. Have fun!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank The_bald_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We have never been treated so well at a hotel. They made us feel like a king and queen. Absolutely everything was thought through, down to the smallest detail.

A scented moist towel when we checked in, gourmet chocolates on our pillows at night, wine and cheese at the end of the afternoon, and servers available instantly to attend to our every whim.

The complimentary breakfast was so delicious that I couldn't wait to get up (while on vacation mind you!) to enjoy the incredible variety. The homemade herb butter made me close my eyes at every bite and say, "mmmmmmmmm!"

The spa was like escaping into another world, where every care was left behind. Amazing massage by Ida.

Some places are priced high but don't deliver. The Alchymist put every dollar we spent into making us have an unforgettable experience.

Truly amazing!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Meredith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing