We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, professional, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, professional, great staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I stayed at the Alchymist for a business meeting, and so didn't choose the hotel myself. However, our meeting organisors made a great choice on our behalf. Service was excellent from arrival to departure, lovely rooms and superb facilities. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all tasty and well prepared. We worked hard, spending most of our time 'confined' to the hotel for two days, but can honestly say that this was a very stress-free experience. Shame I didn't have time for the spa which looked fantastic. Recommended!

  • Liked — Service, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Just a little slow with the return taxi to airport
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich66Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
199
1,094
73
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

This Spa Retreat and Boutique Hotel is the best kept Secret in EAST Europe.

In Pargue, I don't believe you could be any more secure and safe and at the same time pampered and feel the luxury of a SPA.

The staff is very warm, professional and almost like family.

The Sales Managers, the Front Office Manager Mr. Andoni, the Reception Staff and the GM all are organized and willing to help you ad your family.

The decor and the barooque details and the SPA ambience is outstanding.

I will be back with my wife and children as soon as possible.

Warm regards,
Pete

  • Liked — The SPA
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank positivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

I booked this hotel after coming across the website while browsing info on Prague. I wanted to take my girlfriend to Prague for Christmas so that i could surprise her with a proposal.

From the minute we arrived at the hotel to the moment we departed the WOW factor remained! staff were very friendly and efficient and always asking if they could do anything more for you. When we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded to a suite (i told the hotel that i was planning on proposing!) where we met with the chocolate strawberries i had ordered and a complimentary bottle of wine. the decor of the hotel is that of sheer luxury and my now Fiance was just delighted.
the hotel is also located in the perfect location just alongside the Irish and American embassies. My fiance and I never had to get a tram, cab or any other form of transport as we were within walking distance of everything - right in the heart of prague.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough and advise anyone travelling to the city to stay here. We will absolutely be returning here.

  • Liked — Great location, service and luxurious accommodation
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank stitch413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

Have you got a good friend who owns a beautiful historical house in the very heart of Central Europe? You haven't? And we had not too only a week ago.... But now the changeover had taken place ....
6 days ago - on the 10th of December - we arrived in amazing Prague and entered the hotel we chose by Internet.
The name of the hotel was unusual and mysterious - the Alchymist. And the hotel itself was very unusual too. For a moment we were amazed and surprised - too many different spaces, stairs, corridors, passages, mirrors, statues, other antique works of art. But we spent 4 nights and 5 days in the deluxe room on the third floor and every following morning we felt in love with our hotel more and more.
It was not only a hotel, it was a Museum-Hotel - a small museum under the tiled roofs of the three medieval houses united in one building of the hotel. In every part of this big old comfortable house - in the guest rooms, halls, restaurant and cafe, lobby, corridors , even in health center! - you can see the genuine antique furniture, lamps, sculptures, oil-paintings, engravings, drawings, vases, clocks, another unusual works of art of different styles, countries and historic periods.
Just imagine ... You are in a small pool with whirlpool and hydro-massage and there are mirrors, candles, statues around you and a sparkling crystal chandelier overhead.... And after pool. sauna or steam bath you can relax on the pillows of antique curved Chinese sofa. It's wonderful
And below is the less emotional but more objective and practical short review.
Location - the best in Prague. Mala Strana is the centre of the city but the hotel is i situated in very quiet, safe and romantic place
Staff - very friendly and professional
Breakfast - wide choice and good quality
Restaurant. and cafe - stylish wonderful atmosphere
Spa centre - very beautiful and clean, staff - friendly and skilful

On the whole, the delightful atmosphere of the age-old comfortable home is the main distinguishing feature of this unusual hotel. Here you really feel yourself like a long-awaited guest in the house of the hospitable friend.
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is a genuine fairy tale of magic Zlata (Golden) Prague. And we would like to return to this fairy tale as soon as possible.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank abba2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights early december. We are great fans of the city having visited Pargue previously, but this hotel was something else. Well worth the money. From the moment we arrived outside the hotel we knew we were staying somewhere special. The room was lovely, the facilities exceptional, and the staff always on hand to help - nothing was too much trouble. I have to say, it was probably the cleanest hotel we have stayed in - and we have stayed in many top-class hotels across the world. I would certainly recommend use of the hotel spa as well. This is such a fabulous touch, and so welcome when you have been out walking all day. I only wish we had used it more than we did. I would ceratinly recommend this hotel, and no doubt we will be visiting Prague again, and finances allowing, will definitely be hoping to stay at ths hotel again.

  • Liked — It was luxurious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank emski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

With One Word: Perfect!! We stayed our Honeymoon at the hotel's suite. Everything was soooo clean, the staff really nice and helpful, it felt that they were there just for You! Also the Spa was excellent (the best we've visited!). Also the restaurant, and the breakfast: Excellent! Everything was Perfect!

  • Liked — Amazing suite!! :-)
  • Disliked — none...
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarkko75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Gaddesden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

We were looking for something completely different, and found it in the Alchymist Hotel.
As seasoned travellers we have stayed in many top class hotels but this is as good as anything we have experienced to date.
The service was personal and excellent without being over the top. Nothing was too much trouble: the Ecsotica spa was possibly the best we have ever experienced in terms of therapy and ambience, and the Aquarius restaurant was a pleasure in every respect.
The Alchymist is perfectly located, just a few minutes from the river and the main hub of Prague activity, and within easy walking distance of everything to be seen.
Our five star rating is full justified, and would say to anyone visiting this beautiful city not to look anywhere further than the Achymist.

  • Liked — Service, location, friendliness - in fact everything
  • Disliked — Dopes nopt apply
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,744 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,638 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#12 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing