We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel. Beautiful interior and spa. Helpful and nice staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
tinton fall, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean hotel. Beautiful interior and spa. Helpful and nice staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed at the Alchymist for 8 nights and really liked it. The front staff was super friendly and helpful. They helped us book two tours and took care of all the details for us. We arranged a ride to and from the airport via email and the driver Peter was neat and on time. He was sporting a new Chrysler and was happy to tell us about the area (when asked) on the way to the hotel. Peter does local travel as well if you need a private driver. We never ate in the hotel but it looked very nice and the pricing was on par with the area. I spent several mornings in the spa located downstairs. The pool was clean and there is a quiet area with a cool place to hang out if you like to read by the pool. I found it a great way to start the day with a swim and shower downstairs. This was nice as I was able to prep for the day while the two girls had the room/shower to themselves. I did not try a massage or any hotel services. You can find a cheaper service on the street but did not care to gamble on a "massage parlor" on the street. The room was perfectly made every night. Free wine tasting at night in a beautiful smoking parlor but we never were there long enough to try it. We felt very safe in this area as well. Right out the front door you will find late night brew and pizza if interested. I learned to avoid the tourist row over by the church a street over. You can find a Starbucks, casino, and a fruit market just down the street and there are a few small local places (apple turnover) just up the street. So all within a small walk you have the basics.

Clean, safe, close to basic needs and sights, working and clean facilities and internet access. You could find less costly but I doubt you will find a nicer overall Grand Hotel in such a perfect spot in Prague.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    147
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
189
1,063
72
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

Incredible staff, great location cozy and very confortable.
Carpets of the room have to be cleaned!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We spent 4 nights at the hotel at the end of July 2009 and everthing was ideal. We ghad read that taxis in Prague were not always trustworthy, so we arranged for the hotel to send its driver to pick us up at the train station. He was waiting for us on the platform when we arrived. Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful , with maps, directions, dinner suggestions etc. The hotel is on a relatively quiet street, about a 5-10 minute walk from the Charles Bridge, right next to the US embassy. Most attractions are within walking distance. We were in a junior suite , which was very large and comfortable. There are 2 computers in the hotel with free internet access. We ate one night in the hotel's Aquarius restaurant and the food and service were both excellent. Breakfast was also in Aquarius , with a large buffet and several available cooked to order items.
The only slightly annoying item, and it is a small item, was an aspect of the housekeeping service. If there was any shampoo or conditioner left in the bottle, the housekeeping staff would not leave a new bottle, even though there was not enough for the 2 of us to use. We had to track down housekeeping to get a new bottle. If management is reading this, they may want to suggest replenishing the shampoo/conditioner/lotion every day, even if there is still some left in the existing bottles.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JB60TRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

The Alchymist Grand Hotel in Prague is an excellent choice if you want to visit Prague.
This Hotel is located in a very strategically position and it's very close to the most important Prague's monuments (Castle, Charles' Bridge, Stare Mesto).
The Hotel has also a great Restaurant with an excellent Meditterranean cousine.
The Hotel is wonderful and also the staff is very nice

Helpful?
1 Thank Pettinicchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Conveniently located across the street from the US Embassy this special hotel treats you like royalty while maintaining the charm of Bohemia. Within walking distance to all Prague offers, the staff made sure our needs were met. The coffee shop was especially tastee with food and drink to remember! A great hotel in a very special city.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 39N104W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Our stay at the Alchymist could not have been more pleasant. The room was comfortable and well furnished, the staff was accommodating and knowledgeable, and our dinner at the restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

The neatly decorated lavish interior of the reception contiues right through to when you get into your own room. It truely is an amazing hotel hidden away in Prague.
The service was impecable and the amenities superb. Internet and gym use were included in the price which makes a welcoming change.
Many lounges to sit and enjoy reading the papers as well as daily wine tasting included. If only all hotels treated their guests the way they do here.
Will definately be returning!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dod83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#14 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing