We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for lovers”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This is the most romantic and luxurious Hotel we have ever stayed.
Perfect in every way. We strongly recommend the Spa and the restaurant.
Located in the Lesser Town you take a 5 minutes walk to get to the castle or 10 minutes to get to the city centre.
It was a wonderfull experience!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RCosta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
197
1,086
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I've stayed at the Alchymist 3 times, but this is the 1st review (not sure why though).
I've been coming to Prague for 10 years now and have stayed in a number of hotels. The Alchymist provides the most enjoyable and romantic stay you could hope for. The check-in process (can't start much earlier than that) is lovely and the staff make you feel at home straight away. The rooms and hotel decor are very luxurious, the staff are extraordinarily helpful and polite. We stayed in a Junior Suite and there is ample room and great amenities.
For those of you who like to stay somewhere quiet, luxurious, romantic then this hotel is for you. Located in Mala Strana (The Lesser Town), you are far enough away from the city noise, but close to the castle, and close enough to the city centre (for a spot of shopping). Conveniently located near to some nice restaurants, or you should check out the hotel's own.
It's a great experience, and we'll be going back again in 2010!

P.S: I thought i would share an example of the great customer service. There was a small mix up at the end of our stay with my bag (a new member of staff placed it in the wrong room) and we had to head for the airport without it. Before we got to the airport (which is about 20 mins away), they rang through to the driver to speak to me. They had found the bag and were sending it in a car straight to me at the airport. 10 mins after arriving at the airport (we hadn't even got to check-in yet) my bag had arrived!! Absolutely fantastic and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frenzy382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The Alchymist hotel in Prague was perfect for our trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel and room were beautiful, the location was quiet but central (5 minutes walk to the Castle or Charles Bridge) and the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. If you are ever in need of "brownie points" (or would like to bank some) this place is perfect. One of the few places I've ever stayed where the pictures did not do it justice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay here in this eccentric hotel a short walk from both Prague Castle and the Charles Bridge. The service is excellent, the decor both splendid and pleasingly shocking, and the room was very comfortable.

We used the Spa and it was a fantastic experience, very well designed and atmospheric. There were some nice touches in the hotel like the free wine and cheese at 5pm which was very pleasant.

The only negative was the restaurant which served good food but felt very over-priced. Partly as a result it was a bit dead in terms of customers and therefore lacked atmosphere.

Overall though - a great place for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_cheshire2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend during the third week of November this year.  We were greeted on arrival with a glass of champagne and extremely helpful staff.  The driver who picked us up from the airport (which the hotel arranged for an extra charge) set the scene for the weekend.  He was punctual, polite and nothing was too much trouble.  The room was beautiful.  The hotel is luxuriously decorated in typical Baroque style.  The website doesn't do it  justice really.  (It's much more sumptuous in reality.)  The wine tasting  in the early evenings (which is free of charge and includes nibbles) is a nice touch and gets you in the mood for the evening.  Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and you can also order off the menu, as well as enjoy the buffet.  Everything you want to see in Prague is within walking distance.  Overall, wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

This is NOT a 5 star hotel, at least by American Standards. Our room looked NOTHING like the ones on the website. While the lobby of the hotel was unique, the rooms were reminiscent of a Motel 6 in America. The location is good, and the service is good if you tip very well, and the breakfast is acceptable. However, the value is just not there. The rooms are small and stuffy, with minimal air conditioning and the only view is that of the building across the narrow street.
On departure, arrange for the taxi to the airport yourself and save 50% of the cost as the hotel doubles the cab fare if they make the phone call. I would NOT RECOMMEND this hotel based on the cost. We paid $250 USD per night for a $60 USD hotel room. Save your money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelBuff97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

its not often that my wife and I steer away from the big hotel chains however in the case we did and it could not have been better. Here at the Alchemist its like going back in time , the hotel is luxurously furnished with a feeling of being at your own baroque mansion. The rooms are perfectly romantic. The staff are super helpfull. Location only walking distance from all main attractions , however still tucked away nicely just far away enough from the overcrowded turistic areas. Being located in the embassy district is also a plus with great dining everywhere. Unfortunately we did not manage to try the spa however we did have a sneak peak and it looked amazing. Costs at the bar / cafe & restaurant are on the high side for Czech standards however for a few relaxing days of perfect romance its worth it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amadeus1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,570 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing