We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem of a Hotel in a great part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Hotel in a great part of town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

This is a lovely hotel on a quiet street in Mala Strana, just beneath the walls of Prague Castle. The building is old but it was completely gutted and reconstructed, so everything is beautiful and works perfectly. The decoration is luxurious, the staff very friendly and courteous, and the location is superb -- walking distance to the Castle, the Charles Bridge and numerous restaurants and pubs. The spa in the basement is a real plus (especially on a cold winter day).

P.S. This is a wonderful place, but it is worth noting that they are "encouraging" guests to write Trip Advisor reviews by entering them in a "prize draw." (I turned down the entry form.)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    147
    29
    18
    3
See reviews for
194
1,071
72
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

We spent 5 days with the family in the Alchymist hotel during the Christmas break. Whist we are annual visitors to Pragure, the hotel and its staff really outdid themselves:
- The rooms were very comfortably setup with an excellent family room configuration
- Staff were friendly, professional
- When we had to delay our booking because of bad weather, the hotel didn't make a problem about it and helped us to rearrange
- The hotel restaurant provides a perfect setup with the live music and great fish / seafood
- And finally, for my wife's birthday, the hotel helped organise a perfect surprise package
The hotel is perfectly located to visit the different parts of the city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_VB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed here the weekend of 15th Jan 2010 and from when we got off the plane the proof of service started. We were 19 ladies celebrating my 50th (and due to a recent wedding proposal it also became my hen night) so was never going to be easy to organise but the hotel helped lots with answering questions by e-mail etc. In any case, we got off the plane and the mini-bus organised by the hotel was there ready and waiting. First rate service from the driver, friendly and helpful - sorted out all the bags on the trailer etc.
As we pulled up outside the hotel you could see the staff inside ready to move out to greet us. The silver trays with champagne then arrived as our rooms were being sorted (I got everyone to fill in their registration forms before we got there to save time). Once we had our keys we were in time for the evening even of wine and cheese (from 5.00pm-6.00pm). We were just wandering around with our drinks oooohing and aaaahing because the hotel was so beautiful. Everyone also very excited about their rooms which were all beautiful and so clean - lovely bathrobes, slipper and L'Occitane bath products and also beautiful chocolates on the bed from their on-site coffee shop (for the 1st night).
As it was my birthday they had left a bottle of champagne in my room and a fruit platter which I shared with my 2 roomies before we went out.
They have a sister hotel 5 minutes away which is where we ate and I will put a separate report on the restaurant site - suffice to say it was the highlight of our weekend. We had the 5 course tasting menu and food was delicious, service excellent and surroundings stunning - highly recomment this too!
In a nutshell, the hotel could not do enough for us. The attention to detail was fabulous, the staff really couldn't do enough for you, they were polite and attentive at all times.
It was very quiet, I think I only saw about another 3 couples in the hotel so a good time of year to go if you like the quietness (and cheaper rate than in the summer) - better for us as we were 19 people so we had the hotel moreorless to ourselves, which was useful late evening for more drinks!!
Thanks to The Alchymist for making our weekend such a brilliant experience - Heather

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FeatherCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2010

This is a superbly presented hotel in the heart of Prague making it easy to access the tourist locations. It has a fabulous restaurant and very good Spa Facilities. I had a facial and it was divine. All the rooms are superbly decortated and extremely comfortable. The staff could not do enough for us thus making the stay even more fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doddjeory_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

The location was the best of this hotel. In the main the hotel was perfect. It was very cosy there. It's good for young couples because the atmosphere was very romantic. We also liked the rooms. They were very clean and good-sized. There was a cafe in this hotel that we liked very much. There was a very good home made chocolate!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piacenza
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I'm a frequent traveller and 220 days per year i'm useful to sleep in hotel all around the world ...my way to analyze the service is usually ipercritical...my first time in Praha i was absolutely happy regarding the quality of services received in the Alchymist ....location , rooms and restaurant are amazing ...but the real main positive point is the quality of people work inside ...they are friendly , professionist and help me like a friend .
I feel really like at home...my Best Regards to all the staff .
Davide Airaghi Italy

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Birbadado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

My husband and I came here for our first wedding anniversary. We were welcomed and wished a happy anniversary. Our room was beautiful-well worth the value-and in our room a box of chocolates and a bottle of wine had been set out as an anniversary gift.

The room was very very comfortable as was the bathroom. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was served in the morning and the spa was perfectly fine. We didn't have any treatments-just used the sauna.

It is in a great location-less than 5 minutes walk from the charles bridge.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Nosticova Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing