We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I spent four fantastic days in this splendid hotel. We loved the charming and interesting period decor that adorned every corner of the hotel. Our room was amazing and very comfortable. The hotel facilities were excellent, with a spa, gym, pool, and quiet restful areas. The hotel was well maintained and always very clean. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The hotel is well situated in a safe and interesting area of the city within walking distance to all the important and interesting sites and shopping areas.
We look forward to coming back very soon and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for fantastically appointed, quality,historical, peaceful hotel in Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denisbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2010

Thank you for your time to share your experience with other travellers. And thank you for your private note you sent me prior posting the review.
I am very happy to read you find the hotel up to the level of your expectations and you had a relaxing stay in Prague and in the Alchymist Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back in near future… with my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,812 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2010

Fantastic combination of medieval atmosphere of the venue and contemporary luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlidayova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

Thank you very much for your time to share your opinion about us. I hope to see you back in Alchymist in near future. with my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The Alchymist Hotel surpasses all expectations in service, beauty, food and a warm and friendly staff. Ask for a room with a garden or courtyard view. I stayed in a beautiful Junior suite from April 6th through the 21st. My trip was extended due to the volcano and closed airports, and the hotel staff helped me arrange alternate flights. If you prefer a small elegant hotel with old world charm, in an exquisite building dating to 1517, with beautiful antiques, gym, pool, spa, a cafe filled with sumptuous chocolates, and a delicious restaurant, then choose the Alchymist. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed with 18th century style antiques, and hand painted wooden beamed ceilings. The hotel is centrally located in Mala Strana, which is a 10-minute walk to Old Town, and within a 15 minute walk to many of the important sights. The Tram and Metro are two blocks from the hotel, if you would like to explore the city for 95 cents a ride. The Alchymist reminds me of my favorite hotels in Europe; the Danieli in Venice and the Hassler in Rome. The owner, Georgio Bonelli, made me feel like I was a guest in his villa.
(morning113, New York City)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morning113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

From the minute we arrived we felt that this hotel was very special. We have stayed in nice 5 star hotels in Prague before but non of them can compare to the Alchemist Grand Hotel and Spa.

The furnishings and atmosphere in the hotel is very special....no matter where you go in this hotel there's a lot of details you just have to admire.
We also loved the breakfast and the wine and cheese every evening. We had one trip to the Spa, this is a good place to end a long day with a lot of walking in Prague.

Even tough we loved the hotel itself, the stay would not be the same without the great people that work at the Alchemist Grand Hotel and Spa.
The Staff was great and did everything they could to make our stay perfect, we had some minor problems with the room and it was taken care of as quick as possible!
Everyone from the cleaning lady's to the people working at the reception did a great job, Unfortunately i don't remember all the names, but one guy who made an extra good impression for his good work was Otto(think that was his name) Always smiling and VERY helpful in a natural way.

My only regret is that we didn't try the restaurant but this might be because there are so many other places to eat in the area.Next time we will give it a go and if its half as good as the rest of the hotel i think we will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

the stay in the hotel was wonderful, the hotel is located in a beautiful, quiet, but also central setting. Service was excellent except for one person at the hotel's fitness center. The hotel is very expensive, though, also services such as garage were pricy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uschido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Recently returned from 3rd stay at The Alchymist, favourite destination for holiday now as city & hotel always impress. Top class service & location, all attractions within walking distance, good selection of local bars & restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This is a palatial appointed hotel with extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. It was our first experience in the interesting city of Prague and with the excellent staff and superb accommodations it was most rewarding. We also were fortunate to meet the owner Giorgio Bonelli and with his hands on approach this is the place to stay. You also receive great value for a 5+ star experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoadNewRochelle_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,998 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Hradčany & Letná
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 646 in Prague
1,817 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#5 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#16 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £138 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing