We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely gem of a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a quiet section of the city. Everything you want to do is within easy walking distance, and what wonderful walks they are. The hotel is intimate, with a beautiful courtyard to relax in with a glass of wine at the end of a day of sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated in a baroque style that seems appropriate in this lovely jewel of a city. The staff is professional, accomodating and warm--they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was plentiful and good and it was such a pleasure to start the day in the courtyard with coffee, fruit and pastry! When we return to Prague the Alchymist is where we'll make our home during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisasnyder813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear guests, I am happy to read you positive review about your stay at the Alchymist. Our location is one of the best in Prague if you are looking for a central but calm stay. Prague is easy walk city with lot of attractions and places to see on the way. Thank you for the possitive comments about the service and people working here to make your stay memorable. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. With my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
There are newer reviews for Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

Our 4th trip to Prague, we decided to stay a bit further away from the Old Town Square and booked in here. The check in was very nice and easy a bit over the top but then I suppose we paid for that. After this we were offered a drink and were due to be showed to our suite but after waiting 10 minutes we decided to find it ourselves, which was very easy as it is a small hotel.
When we got into the room we were happy with the overkill of the room, it was the reason we booked the hotel and found it as good as the write ups, excessive in every way.
The big problem was for such a hotel it seemed to have no sound proofing as the room above they seemed to be walking in high heels for hours in the evenings and in our rooms we were directly above the bins and the stores in door which was getting very annoying on the 3rd day.
There was free wine testing but as i dont drink I asked if it included juice, they said yes so I ordered a juice with my wife only to be charged a small fortune.
The Spa - my wife reported - was very nice including the supersized jaccuzi / small pool.
The location is great for most things in Prague and just far enough away to get away from the mad rush.
Over all the hotel is over the top which is exactly what we wanted and would be great if they can deal with the noise issues.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachHunter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear guests, first of all thank you for your time to share your experience with us. I am happy you found our location good for exploring the historical city centre. I am sorry about the noise issue that could be solved during your stay. I am sure we would be able to offer other room where you would not be directly under high heels attack. As I can read overall your stay was up to the expectation and therefore I hope to welcome you back in the future. WIth my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

This was our third trip to Prague and second visit to the hotel, this time for our honeymoon. As per the first visit the hotel was great. Excellent, friendly and efficient service and beautiful hotel. The honeymoon package has some wonderful extras such as complimentary massage - fabulous! Great location, close to Charles bridge and the castle but not noisy at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinny473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

we were in prague with our 3year old and stayed in this hotel upon reviews of trip advisor,We could not have made a better choice.The staff was very pleasant helped us plan our whole trip in prague. The hotel is kid friendly , and very centrally located. We would definitely stay there again if we visited prague again. meh07

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear guests, thank you for your review of our hotel here at Tripadvisor. I am happy that your selection based upon the other travellers reviews was good. Thank you and hope to see you back here at the Alchymist and Prague. WIth my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Praha is fantastic, wonderful, romantic and the old city quiete without car! I have really enjoyed all. The Alchymist Grand Hotel is simply beautiful. The Czeck people are kind and respectfull.
I really enjoyed. Thank you. See you next time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lvernoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2010

Dear guests, let me thank you for your nice words about us here at Alchymist Hotel. I hope to see you back in near future. With my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

What a wonderful hotel with an old charm flair. The staffs were friendly and very helpful. It happened that we were there during the heat wave and the bedroom upstair (we booked a suite) got bit hotter. The staffs tried to resolve this in every way possible but we ended up staying at the same suite as we like the suite so much. Another example of staffs professionalism, when a cab driver tried to cheat us with the fare, we checked with the front desk first before paying the cab. They handled the cab very well....and even had the security guy talked to the driver!!!
When you don't feel like dinning out.... - just go to their restaurant... the food is SUPERB!!!! in all...... this hotel really is world class.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abudih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Hotel was perfect - very good location, excellent service, breakfast & free happy hour were both good quality, nice, big room, and real, old world elegance. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisterMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

thank you for your time to comment your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back at the Alchymist. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 648 in Prague
2,738 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 648 in Prague
1,776 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Mandarin Oriental, Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#10 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £164 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing