We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One fantastic city and a Hotel to match”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
A Yorkshire man
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One fantastic city and a Hotel to match”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We decided on a "romantic break". Collected from the airport by a limo and driven to the Hotel. Greeted by name and asked to sit down in comfy chairs whilst registering - most of it prefilled in. The attitude of reception was reflected by all staff during our stay.

The room was small but very well appointed. Breakfast is self service and a la carte - sets you up for the day. We had the multi course meal in the evening - very very nice but also expensive.

The massaage was one of the best I have had and the wine tasting (every day between 5 and 6) was more than ok. Would we go back? Yes definitely. A great break and we were looked after exceptionally well

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fritzonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Prague is fantastic city and to read we match that with our hotel make me really proud nad happy. I hope to welcome you back in the near future, with my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    148
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
197
1,086
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

It is rare that my wife is completely happy. She felt at home at this hotel. Our suite was large and nice. The location was perfect. The toiletries were the same as we use at home. The food was wonderful. The staff was always there to help, starting with the driver who was waiting at the airport. They supplied umbrellas for the rain and gave good directions and restaurant suggestions. We just got back from a trip to New York at the 4 seasons and I can say that the Alchymist was a far better experience. Lastly the spa-please try the Alchymist Massage; it is the best you will ever have.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Your wife was happy! what a title... than we are happy to hear about that. Our team of people try to deliver always professional service. When we read comments from our guests and we understand their stay was relaxing and enjoyable we are proud. I hope to see you back in the Alchymist in the near future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

One of the most beautiful boutique hotels we have ever stayed at. I cannot say anything negative about the quality and elegance of this hotel. The hotel is so tastefully appointed in a classic style and the staff so perfect. The spa is so worth the visit. We will definitely recommend this hotel and it will be our choice when we visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for your comments. I hope to see you back in the future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty, with complimentary champagne, and professional and friendly staff that checked us in and gave us a tour of the property. This place is like a museum -- every stairwell, every room, every corner is elaborately decorated in a Renaissance or Baroque style. The fountains in the courtyards and patios have koi. The room had wood beams in the ceiling like a Medieval castle, with red and gold embroidered upholstery on the bed and chair, and a painting of a Medieval prince. The pool is lit up like a magical lake, and can turn into a whirpool if you want. The spa welcomes you with a bridge over a pond in the hall; we had a couples' massage as part of our package, and it was wonderful. The concierge helped us book tickets to a beautiful concert. We had such a wonderful time, we didn't want to leave.

The location is also perfect; you can walk everywhere along the incredible streets of historic Prague. We didn't have a car, and I am glad we didn't because parking is not easy for this hotel, and driving seems stressful in Prague. Not a problem, though, because a car is absolutely unnecessary.

We've stayed in many other hotels, including other 5-star hotels, and none has ever been this impressive. Now when I walk into another hotel, I am hoping/expecting it to be like the Alchymist. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
WOW, thank you for the title. We are not scared to be copied it is our privilege.... but I think all individual private properties try to deliver to its guests something unique, something they would not find anywhere else. If the decor, service and all in one ambience contributed to your memorable stay, than we are very happy. I hope to see you back .... with my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is beautiful and atmospheric. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. The location is central and perfect for sightseeing from by foot, but still you can have a quiet night - and the service is great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank austbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for your note here. I hope to welcome you back in near future. With my kindest regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We booked this hotel for my friends 50th birthday and 'wow' what a little gem. We booked one of the packages which was advertised on their website which was fantastic. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are wonderful, together with the excellent location what more could you ask for. For that 'something special' this is the perfect place and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazBaz041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you to choose Alchymist Hotel for a special occasion of a birthday trip! I am happy to read we met your expectations. I will be more than happy to welcome you back at the Alchymist sometime in the future. With my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborska - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This is a lovely boutique hotel in a quiet section of the city. Everything you want to do is within easy walking distance, and what wonderful walks they are. The hotel is intimate, with a beautiful courtyard to relax in with a glass of wine at the end of a day of sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated in a baroque style that seems appropriate in this lovely jewel of a city. The staff is professional, accomodating and warm--they couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was plentiful and good and it was such a pleasure to start the day in the courtyard with coffee, fruit and pastry! When we return to Prague the Alchymist is where we'll make our home during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisasnyder813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alchymist, General Manager at Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Dear guests, I am happy to read you positive review about your stay at the Alchymist. Our location is one of the best in Prague if you are looking for a central but calm stay. Prague is easy walk city with lot of attractions and places to see on the way. Thank you for the possitive comments about the service and people working here to make your stay memorable. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. With my kindest Regards, Veronika Choteborská - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Four Seasons Hotel Prague
Hradcany & Letna
Alchymist Prague Castle Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,570 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: Trziste 19, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Prague
#6 Family Hotel in Prague
#10 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#13 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa represents the renaissance of a magnificent Baroque landmark, "Dum u Jeziska" dating from the 16th century and exquisitely transformed with the most modern comforts into a luxury and distinctive hotel that reflects the nobility and charm of historic Prague. If looking for a luxury boutique hotel in the very centre of Prague, the Alchymist Grand Hotel and Spa is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alchymist Grand Hotel Prague
Alchymist Grand Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing