We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service - avoid!”

V Kolkovne Restaurant
Ranked #412 of 5,509 Restaurants in Prague
Cuisines: European, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dreadful service - avoid!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The food is very nice in terms of Czech cuisine, and the portions are quite large. You will pay much and you will not leave hungry.

You will leave irritated, though. The waiters are rude as hell, completely unfriendly and totally useless. I don't think they are having bad days, but the wrong career. If you like lashing out at people, go be a drill sergeant or something. You have no place in the catering business. I don't know what the owner must be thinking, but if he approves of this demeanor, he should consider a career change as well.

Avoid!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    1,041
    369
    146
    158
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible staff, worst service in Prague!!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When the bill arrived, we were twice reminded that tip was not included in a very rude way. We were not happy with the service and the food so we decided not to leave a tip, the waiter reminded us for the third time and then he got so rude, he called his colleague shouting all over the restaurant that we didn't leave a tip. We just walked away but the waiters kept discussing us by the bar. I would like to mention that it is not compulsory to leave a tip in the Czech republic!
This restaurant was a big disappointment. The food was a typical tousist rip off and we are never going back....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KristensenA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Missing on several fronts”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Attended with a party of 24 as part of a post-customer business meeting. Located near Prague Old Town city center, we were seated in the basement on long tables - the ambience was certainly not as entertaining as the upstairs, but given the party size, was the only option.
The food choices were salmon and chicken, both of which were pretty good, but they stumbled on several areas:
1) Service - our server worked hard to try to provide and alone did a good job, but they needed additional people to support our party, which made everyone dissatisfied and stressed.
2) Wine list - the prices are high - the consistency of the wine, even between bottles that were EXACTLY the same, was unbelievably poor - several bottles were undrinkable. (No problem with the waiter taking those off our extensive wine bill at the end of the evening).
3) The dessert was a earlier-in-the-day change to what we were told was a chocolate fondant. Unfortunately, it was simply VERY dry chocolate cake - with most people not eating beyond a first taste.

I don't know if the experience upstairs would have been more enjoyable and without a large party to accommodate, but this experience left a "bad taste" in many of the diner's mouth. Wouldn't go back....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cohibaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Staff from RUR. Food OK”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Terrible service downstairs. The staff are from Karel Capek's play - emotionless robots who only care about your money and are programmed to be disrespectful to non-Czechs. Non-Czechs are routinely seated by the toilet.

Upstairs is a completely different story (however it is smoking).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere but the service???”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Food was good, especially the 'Special Burger' and the sausages were amazing. The atmosphere was very nice. You can go here as a pub and drink great beers, or you can go here as a restaurant and eat great food. But the service was bad and slow. Still, Kolkovna is a great place to go to have a great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed V Kolkovne Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to V Kolkovne Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing