We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Karlin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Karlin
Ranked #315 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed there in May 2012 and chose the hotel for the central location and affordable price. Many restaurants in walking distance. Certainly not a 5 star property but as good as it gets for the reasonable price. Location is excellent with about 10 minutes walk into the city center (1 tram station). Very friendly and helpful staff. Wireless internet is free and fast enough. TV set is small and basic. 2 German channels, the rest is in Czech. A good and reasonable restaurant is on the bottom floor. If you arrive with heavy luggage, the elevator is helpful. Defiantly a very good option for anyone not prepared to spend a fortune on accommodation but still in a central location.

Room Tip: Take rooms facing the back. The hotel is located on a main road. No excessive traffic but many tram...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C130Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Karlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Good location; tram stop and metro just a short walk. The next door restaurant serves inexpensive and very delicious food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tarryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Four nights in May, room large and facing street but the noise was not too bad. The trams are there but they slide by, rumble.

Beds were two twins, very comfortable with lovely duvets. I can see it could be hot in summer. We had cool nights and kept one window open. Nice young couple ran the desk, very personable but we did not ask too much of them.. This is more like a pensione, or a tourist hotel than a real hotel, minimal services. The baths were modern, tile and nice fixtures. Breakfast was fine but not gourmet, good selection but the eggs - egg mcmuffin style - were like hockey pucks.
If you are a tourist this is fine for you. It's not the Hyatt. We paid $75 € double per night. Hotels downtown were 2-3 times that.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank handyman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed on Hotel Karlin for some days by the end of November, when I was in Prague for a conference... I choose this hotel basically for the price: 27 euros per day for a single room with breakfast included and in a location few meters from a Metro station where I could go to the conference´s place in a matter of minutes.

The hotel has some pros, and with a little more care I could certainly give them a much better grade: first, the room was quite large and comfortable. The bathroon and toillete - separate spaces, as im most Czech hotels - were recently renewed. The management was extremely polite; they even contacted me beforehand to offer to book a taxi to take me in the airport for a pre-arranged fee, which was a blessing considering I arrived in the evening after a less than tranquile travel. And, of course, the price: for such room and location, it is unbeatable. There are some markets, coffee houses and stores on the neighboorhood and they are only 2 or 3 Metro stops from Wenceslas Square. Also, they offer free wifi in the room.

However, there is no free lunch and unfortunatelly some details bothered me. First, there was a sign on the bathroom door warning guests not to throw towels in the floor, since they only change towels every 3 days !!! (it should be mentioned that apart from this the room was cleaned - and well - every day). Well, when I readed this I though - no problemo, I can live with that... At night, other small nuissance: everyday there was loud music from the street - which I suppose came from the restaurant which is annex to the hotel. But what really bothered me was the breakfast. The variety of choices was minimal: coffee, juice (from some Kool-Aid-type mix, apparently), sausages, eggs, some vegetables, meats and fruits. It was the poorer selection I´ve found in European hotels I´ve stayed. Considerind the room fee, that would be passable. However, there was only minimal service at the breakfast: tables were not cleaned (guests have to pile up dirt plates and cups to use space) and apparently only seldom someone from the kitchen - which was door to door with the coffee room - checked to refill the bins. On Saturday apparently was even worst - there was only one lady washing pans and stoves on the kitchen, and the breakfast room was a mess at 9:20 AM (it should supposed to be open until 10 AM).

Therefore, staying on this hotel has some drawbacks. It is safe, clean (forget about the towels) and, specially, cheap. But some improvements should be made, for sure...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hafnium72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Good hotel in good place at Karlin district. Nearest metro station Krizikova (300 m) makes easy any travel at city. Polite staff. Spacious room. Recommend

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pivomansu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My room was huge and the bathroom perfectly clean. Cable TV. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Location is also good, it takes one minute to walk from the subway. The price is fair. Definitely, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 8
Hotel Charles Central
Hotel Charles Central
#168 of 647 in Prague
1,118 reviews
Praha 8
Adeba Hotel
Adeba Hotel
#221 of 647 in Prague
617 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#158 of 647 in Prague
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 8
B&B Hotel Prague City
B&B Hotel Prague City
#141 of 647 in Prague
519 reviews
Praha 8
Residence Casa Italia
Residence Casa Italia
#391 of 647 in Prague
278 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#223 of 647 in Prague
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karlin

Address: Sokolovska 161/71, Prague 186 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £31 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karlin 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Karlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karlin Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing