We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #387 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Not bad single room (with wi-fi), good breakfast and not bad location.
I like it and I'll stay here in next time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We initially booked in Gloria hotel but when we arrived we had to move to Victoria hotel (same hotel company, 500 meters away) since there was no room for us.
When we arrived at Victoria hotel we had our room without problems.
Anyway Victoria hotel is a good compromise between price and quality: rich breakfast, good rooms and it's easy to get to the city center by tram (10 min approx).

While we were waiting for our room a French couple has been sent away since their room was "not available" [they booked the room 3 months before and already paid]. The hotel offered them a different accommodation in another hotel very far from the city center (and only a free taxi run) or a 50% refund.
Is it due to overbooking?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripp4PerGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Slightly out of the city centre however tram services just outside are often. The hotel reception was manned well and the breakfast was perfect. Rooms were slightly dated and a double bed was 2 beds pushed together however very clean and a modern bathroom with a very good shower. Overall a brilliant place to base yourself from to get away from the hustle and bustle but not difficult to get to the sights. We often walked 20 mins or got the 5 min tram taxis also cheap. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Slightly out of the city centre however tram services just outside are often. The hotel reception was manned well and the breakfast was perfect. Rooms were slightly dated and a double bed was 2 beds pushed together however very clean and a modern bathroom with a very good shower. Overall a brilliant place to base yourself from to get away from the hustle and bustle but not difficult to get to the sights. We often walked 20 mins or got the 5 min tram taxis also cheap. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul9184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is a pleasant little commercial hotel, situated less than a kilometre from the city centre, so everything on the east side of the river is easily reachable on foot - remember to use light-controlled crossings to cross main roads as the locals drive very fast and do not make allowance for pedestrians. The Victoria is on a main tram route and also only about half a Km. from the nearest Metro station so taking advantage of Prague's excellent integrated public transport system makes it easy to use the hotel as a base.

The hotel itself proved to be a good choice. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful when I arrived - I was too early for the 2.00 PM check-in time so she let me stow my bag safely and go exploring until the room was available. The room was clean, airy and comfortable (I requested - and got - a room on a high floor as the trams run all night and it could get noisy lower down). The breakfast comprised a good selection of continental fare - meats, cheeses, cereals, fruits, etc. so there was no need to start your day out hungry.

The area around the hotel looks a little shabby and going up the cobbled side streets is like stepping back into the thirties, but it never felt intimidating. There are several places to eat very close by if you do not feel like going back into the city in the evening.

All in all, I would describe my stay at the Victoria as great value for money and it served to enhance my stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: When booking, try for a room on a high floor as the trams outside can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

this is a great budget hotel the rooms were clean and tidy great value for £7.00 per night.
The only down side was the trams outside which were very loud, but if you are looking for a good value hotel close to the city centre ths is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

When i pulled up outside Hotel Victoria, I nearly cried. It looked nothing at all like the website depicted it to be. It looked grubby and old fashioned to say the least. When we went in we were greeted by a miserable looking receptionist, but her english was good. We tried to check in but she told us that we couldnt until 2pm - it was 10.30am at the time. This was no mentioned on the hotel website nor when I booked. She took our suitcases and then practically shooed us out of the hotel. When we got back we finally got into our room, which was a rewlly decent size. However, it had no airconditioning which made the room very stuffy and made it difficult to sleep some nights. We were also on the roadside where trams went past every 10 minutes and were very loud. This wasnt so much of a problem during the day when we were out and about but it did casue a bit of a problem on nights that we couldn't sleep because of the heat. Breakfast was pretty average - scrambled egg, sausage, breads.....and pasta! The hotel's website says that it is a 15 minute walk from Wencelas Square - this is a lie! It is atleast 25 - 30 minute walk. Apart from that it was fine. The room was cleaned everyday and we got fresh towels daily. It really wasn't great and i wouldn't stay there again but for how much we paid, it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Roadside rooms are by far the noisiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charley2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#386 of 646 in Prague
454 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#363 of 646 in Prague
196 reviews
Hotel Augustus et Otto
#308 of 646 in Prague
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Ostas
Ostas
#349 of 646 in Prague
179 reviews
Praha 3
Euro Wings Hotel
Euro Wings Hotel
#406 of 646 in Prague
85 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Ariston & Ariston Patio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Seifertova 617/26, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £22 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing