We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Victoria is just the job”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #365 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hotel Victoria is just the job”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Just come back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Victoria. Had a fantastic time and can not rate the hotel high enough. Really good location with "local" prices in the nearby bars, shops and restaurants. Transport to the city centre is quick & easy. The hotel is located on Seifertova 26 and is between 2 tram stops called Husinicka (opposite the football ground) and Lipsanka. Both stops are on the main road and less than 200yards from the hotel front door. You can buy your tram tickets in the "official" Tabak shops. We used the shop by the Lipsanka stop on the same side as the hotel as it sold the 1 day & 3 day passes. Tram 9 is best for the Square and is only 3 stops( just over 5 minutes). You also get Tram 26 to the National Theatre which is by the river.(Charles bridge is the next bridge along). You can also change here for tram 22 which will take you up the hill to the Castle entrance. Tram 5 will take you to the eastern side of the Jewish quarter. Everything is very close & handy.The mini market shop near the hotel was great for snacks with bottles of water at 13Kc as opposed to 50Kc in town.
The airport express(AE) bus route has been extended. It now runs from outside Terminal 1 to the main station at Hlavni nadrazi which is at the bottom of Seifertova. Tickets cost 50Kc each and can be brought from the driver. Look for the blue & white AE bus sign. As check-in time for the hotel was not until 1400hrs we walked up from the station( about 10minutes). You can walk across the main road from the train station and down into the small park and pick up tram 9 or 26 which will take you up to the hotel. A taxi from the hotel back to the airport cost 630Kc.The journey from the airport by bus is no real problem. I would go back tomorrow. Hope this review has helped.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    133
    86
    27
    27
See reviews for
55
135
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We were a group of 8 friends who found the hotel to be very good value for money on our 4 day stay. The rooms were clean and very warm with lot's of hot water in the big shower that worked as so many don't in past hotels. We all found that breakfast was a great feast with lovely cheeses, meats, cakes, fresh yogurt, jam, breads, sausages and even porridge on several mornings more than enough to set us up for a days sight seeing.
The hotel is on the tram route the number 9 into Wencelass Square only 3 stops away about 6 /7 mins and you can buy tickets in the little shop opposite a 24 hour pass to use on all trams, buses and metro is about £4. The restaurant next to the hotel is very very very good ,great service, a really good menu so much to choose from, very large portions so much so we ate there every evening a really nice atmosphere. There is also a local pub / bar just up the road when you come out of the restaurant you are on the corner of the road turn left about 100 yards up the hill on the same side of the road again a local atmosphere and local not tourist prices. The staff were very helpful and booked a number of excursions for us where the tour bus came to the hotel to pick us up. There is also a cash machine little supermarket and coffee and cake shop on the main road opposite the hotel a great location

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samdaisytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Room 506,spacious and warm, on 5th(top)floor was ready for our early arrival on a freezing cold day.No fuss check-in was friendly.It's a basic,clean hotel with a fine continental buffet breakfast served until 10 a.m.
Ignore reviews by people wanting champagne for the price of a cola.

Don't be put off by local transport:-
From Airport: Bus 119(Clearly Signed) to the last stop at< Dejvicka metro>.The Metro station is right there in front of you.Go down steps and board metro to <MUSEUM<.
Change here to Metro C one stop to Prague main Station <Hlavni Nadrazi<.

Leave station building and turn diagonally right through a pleasant little park (200 m)to the tram stop up on your right and board Tram No.9 for 2 stops.

The hotel is on your right between tram stop 1 and 2,so look out for it as you pass.
You can buy the ticket(which covers bus,tram and metro) at any news stand in the airport for 26 Kc p.p. about £1each for the whole journey!!
Sounds difficult but it really is simple and it all runs like clockwork.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dtalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Hotel Victoria.

The Hotel victoria is about a 20/25 min walk in the snow, so without any snow I would say thats maybe more like a 15/20 min walk to the old square.

When we first booked the hotel we were apprehensive about how good it was going to be, most of the reviews on this website had been good but for the very small price we had paid I tended to expect the worst!

We walked from Hlavani Nadrasi station with a case in the snow which I would definatly not reccomend, but without snow it is no problem at all and can cut out a £20 cab fair. The area around the hotel is quite run down, lots of Graffiti and untidy shops, mixed in with smart hotels here and there. Luckily throughout our stay we never experienced any problems and there diddnt seem to be any dodgy people about even at night when we walked back.

When we got into the hotel we were very impressed with what we saw. The hotel reception was smart and tidy and manned by 24 hour staff. They spoke decent enough English and told directed us to our room.

The room was of a good size with a comfy double bed, good heating and a very smart bathroom/toilet. Incredibly clean and tidy and overall a very nice place to stay.

Breakfast was decent, they have a selection of cereals, bread, cheese and cold meats, and also serve some juices and hot drinks from a machine. Nothing special but easily enough to keep you going.

Overall I expect many people reading this review will not be looking for a luxuary hotel, and this is not what the Hotel Victoria is. However it is a very tidy and smart hotel with very nice size rooms that I can reccomend very highly. Whilst we stayed there it wasnt very busy being in January but im sure this will change going into the Summer.

If your not looking to spend a lot of money and dont mind about a 15/20 min to the old town or a 10/15 min walk to the new town then i think the Hotel Victoria is the right place for you.

Any questions dont hesitate to message me.

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NPalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

If it is a trip not costing a fortune this is the hotel for you. My wife and I stayed here with 2 friends. OK it is a couple of tram stops away from the centre but we had no complaints.
We would return.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Though not in center of things, we found Hotel Victoria to be very conveniently located (right on tram line) - 3 quick tram stops to Metro as well. And the Zizkhov neighborhood grew on us. A nice uphill walk to the TV tower through quiet residential neighborhood. A great inexpensive restaurant next door that serves copious amounts of good food. Also a nice cafe just around corner. Plenty of other local bars/cafes around here as well. Seemed to have a bit of a Bohemian character - lots of younger people around - seemed liked it might be an up and coming neighborhood.

Nothing wrong with our rooms - just fine and clean. Breakfast room was convenient and choices adequate. Staff helpful enough. But nothing particularly charming about the hotel either. We booked it as part of Austrian Air package - it was the basic choice. Would stay there again if price seemed really good/worthwhile. If not, might stay closer in and try for a bit of charm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

A very good and worm htl whit nice staff (a spashely Jacobe).very welcoming invirment.
Just 20 minets wolk from the center of towen and for the lazey just 3 trem stop or 1 trem stop and a tube to every place.
good brekfast from 07:30-10:00.
The only thing that was not nice was the lake of cleaning towels 2 days in arowe.
And anather good thing to know there is no air conditison in the hotel but we were ok (12/8-16/8) even that it was worme outside.
To end it all go to Victoria hotel in Prague and have the beast time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#355 of 649 in Prague
429 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#288 of 649 in Prague
237 reviews
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#560 of 649 in Prague
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#349 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Praha 3
City Lounge Hotel
City Lounge Hotel
#325 of 649 in Prague
101 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Otakar
Hotel Otakar
#486 of 649 in Prague
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: Seifertova 617/26, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Superbreak UK, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing