We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever experienced...”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #375 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 28 January 2011

My friend reccomended me this beautiful hotel in Prague. My newlywed and me were so happy and spent really good time.The staff was so helpful and gave us a lot of advice from where to go eat to where to shop. I would like to thank them so much! The Hotel was perfectly clean, staff was very helpful and personable. It was very easy to get everywhere you wanted to. Next year you will see us there again.Thank you guys, again !! Petra Vesela

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvesela48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2011

Prague is an amazing city to visit and if your after a cheap comfortable place to stay then it has to be the hotel Victoria 3 stops away on tram 9 to the main areas of the city. The hotel rooms are warm and bright with an excellent powerful shower in the en suite the staff are friendly enough and are willing to find information and book tickets for you. One let down was the breakfast, basic just about sums it up with the usual continental fair of cold meats and cheese freshness was an issue there is also a very odd option every morning of pasta/rice and frankfurter sausages however this being said there was always bread and jam to fill up on for the start of a packed day around Prague.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benji1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Hotel Victoria has a kind and helpful staff. Internet access is free. Breakfast is good, including fruits. The benefit-price ratio is very high. Rooms are not big yet very comfortable and well decorated. Bathroom is very well equipped. City center is reachable by 8 Minutes with tram. Highly recommendable hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergiopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Ignore the info that says the hotel is 10/15 mins walk from centre. More like 30/45 uphill & through less than desirable territory. Hotel receptionist advised not to walk!! Hotel is ok, cheap but far from cheerful. Room was clean & spacious,tv ok if you like Eurosport (Only English channel) Now to the bad side!!! Apart from one receptionist, I have never come across more arrogant , rude people in my life. My command of the Czech language is zero but I can still afford to smile & intimate emotion, this does not exist at the Victoria.Breakfast is a lottery, be quick or all the rice might have gone. Yes thats right, rice. OK in Asia but not Eastern Europe. City is beautiful,be prepared to spend though as you are paying city prices. Go and enjoy the culture but this hotel is no more than a sleeping stop.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davvakazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

plus.Hotel was clean, warm and comfortable.The typical breakfast buffet we found quite adequate and rhe reception staff very helpful and friendly.

negatives.Tram ride recommended for trip to town,but with an excellent,cheap,frequent service we found this no hardship,quite the reverse.
No lounge/bar at hotel but quite a few nearby.

all in all, we had an enjoyable stay and would have no hesitation in staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daiporth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The hotel was clean, not far from the City centre by tram and the staff was very friendly.
Finally a budget hotel with good beds. :-)
The staff was very helpfull and gave us directions to some nice locations in the city.
A hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron_Almere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We booked a last minute deal through Jet2 flying from Leeds Bradford Airport, 3 nights-4 days for just over £200 each...so we didn't expect 5 star luxury. The check in and flight from LBA were all pretty painless, despite the fact that we had a large 'stag party' on the flight (beware ...Prague is the stag and hen party capital of Europe...more later)
The transfer from the airport was very pleasant and efficient and we were begining to think we had got a real bargain deal.
However, when we arrived at the Victoria the receptionist informed us that she had 'made some mistakes' and the bottom line was...we didn't have a room !!
Eventually we were told that we were to be accommodated in their 'sister' hotel, the Gloria, which was '10 minutes away'
In order not to bore you with the next 2 hours events, I will short cut them...taxi to Gloria, unmarked estate car driven by very 'dodgy' looking character.
Hotel Gloria, cigarette smoke filled hotel, the room offered just vacated by student party, carpet filthy and soaked in beer...stained and smelly. Refused room, told no others, none at other 'sister' hotels either.
Offered one night at unspecified other hotel...one night at second etc ...etc...refused !
Receptionist rang Victoria at my insistance and told them we were on way back and they had better find a room.
On arrival back, after a very unpleasant taxi ride with the same driver that took us there (he was very aggressive threatening), we were told that, magically they now had a room. She also stated that the hotel reservations department had told her to lie to us about room availability, although I have no confidence that this was the case.
As we stood at reception another guest came down to complain about the cleanliness of her room, having found hairs in her bed!
We were given a voucher for a meal in the restaurant attached to the Hotel Victoria and told it closed at 11pm (by this time it was 9-30) We dropped our bags in the room and went down to eat. When we went into the restaurant the staff told us the actually closed at 10pm and food service had now finished ! However, when we told them that we had been sent by the hotel..and we explained that we had experienced problems, they very kindly arranged food for us....after eating we gave up and went to bed !
The next day we were able to get to have a good look around and found the hotel small and basic, but as far as we could see, clean and in good repair. Our room was also small but adequate with a good sized bathroom and plenty of clean towels. The continental breakfast was plentiful with a selection of meats and cheeses, lovely fresh bread rolls, and all the usual cerials, coffee, tea etc.
One thing to be aware of is that in public places in Prague they have yet to impose a 'blanket' smoking ban. As a result the hotels, restaurants and bars can be very smokey and unpleasant, if you dislike that sort of atmosphere. Although the breakfast room was a no smoking area, staff and guests smoke in the lobby which is only about 10 feet away, definately not very pleasant !
The Victoria is in a part of Prague that looks very run down and dismal. The surrounding buildings are remnants of the communist era and the streets are very dimly lit at night. Despite our original reservations we actually began to feel that it wasn't quite as bad as it looks,the small pizzaria accross the road on the corner was excellent and well worth a visit, however, I would still suggest caution after dark...as in any major city. We also found that the restaurant attached to the hotel was friendly and popular, although the 10pm closing is a little restricting!
Public transport is good in Prague and we bought a 24 Hour ticket from the hotel for 100crowns (about £3.50 at time of writing). The Number 9 Tram that stops just down the road from the hotel will have you in Wencleslas Square (actually a broad Boulevard) in just 3 stops.

In short, would I recommend the Hotel Victoria?
On the whole no, there are too many negatives. However, if you are on a short break where budget is a factor or you are a 'stag' or 'hen' party then you will find it adequate...but nothing more !

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-in-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#393 of 648 in Prague
446 reviews
Praha 3
Bily Lev
Bily Lev
#285 of 648 in Prague
249 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#366 of 648 in Prague
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Globus
Globus
#554 of 648 in Prague
412 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Atos
Hotel Atos
#229 of 648 in Prague
931 reviews
Praha 3
Ostas
Ostas
#350 of 648 in Prague
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Seifertova 617/26, Prague 130 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 3
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing