We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where should I start!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beta

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Beta
Ranked #49 of 368 Prague B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Where should I start!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

I'm not necessarily talking about the hostel itself but things that are and could be related to it. Firstly Beta Pension is located at a rather odd place, it's not difficult getting to and from (if you take the tram not the train) but it's not city centre either. I walked back there at night once, not due to the lack of transport, and some areas felt slightly shady.

The hostel itself is very good, the room was massive and the service was friendly. I myself loved how the place was rather sedate but one of the main problems was the noise. This would be fine with the windows closed but when open you hear all the noise from the motorway close by. And as there is no air con it's impossible not to open the window on a hot day.

Cleanliness is something I can't really comment for sure. Whilst I thought it was fine I did catch chickenpox at Prague, one possible culprit being the hostel.

There are a few newsagents around and slightly further there's a Lidl, not really sure if there are any restaurants around though.

Overall I would recommend Beta Pension on a budget but I would look at other options as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    48
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
35
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here for the weekend to run the Prague 1/2 Marathon. The location is pretty good. Ten minutes into town by tram.

The showers are clean and the beds made every day. The views from the window are not too great. But who cares? It was only a bed we needed.

Breakfast is included. It's very basic. I wouldn't bother trying the coffee. It's pretty dodgy.

The staff were very nice, and the man who showed us around was very informative.

I would recommend to stay here if your looking for something basic. You might find something better closer to town for a cheaper price. But I was happy to pay this amount for my first visit to Prague. 3 nights was 90 euro. Booked via the YHA hostel website.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I chose this as a cheap option while visiting Prague for a conference recently. I was perfectly located next to the conference centre and very convenient to the metro station. However, I personally really don't like rooms that smell of cigarette smoke and this place smelled very strongly of the same. I did ask for another room on my arrival, but I was told they would all be the same. Consequently, an otherwise good budget option gets only two stars from me.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJimJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2008

An agreable place to stay at a very low cost. Rooms are
basic and simple, but the furniture is modern, and the cleaning lady is doing an excellent job. The staff is friendly and informative. Security is good, you will leave your key
when going out, and every guest is checked. Breakfast
is not luxurious, but at this price you can´t complain, and
there is a choice, after all. Bring some fruit or meat yourself,
or use the money you have saved later in one of Pragues excellent cafés. There is an inexpensive LIDL supermarket on the Jaromirova/Na slupi street, which, when continued along the Vysehradska street, is the shortest way to walk to the centre.
Not that public transport isn´t cheap, but you may want to do some exercise because of Pragues tempting eating possibilities !
A very nice walk near Beta goes up to the Vysehrad Castle hill, where there is plenty to see and good views.

Beta is situated at the bottom of a ravine, next to the pillars of a tall motorway bridge which spans the ravine, but the neighbourhood is not unattractive. If you arrive via the Metro Vysehrad station, which is situated high up on the hill, simply walk down the pedestrian steps and cross the small railway, in-stead of walking along the roads.

  • Liked — Good value & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Ca´t complain
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joen.dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2008

Budget student backpacking, excellent place to stay would highly recommend, it is a little out of town but we enjoy the walk each morning. It is alot cheaper around this hostel so you will save money when eating out.
The breakfast was amazing, filled you up for the day.

If you are on a tight budget i would say stay here, rooms are clean , warm and spacious.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank clbegley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2007

We were only in Prague for 3 nights and had a great time but I think next time I'd pay more to stay in the middle of the city.
It was a short tram ride away, maybe 10 minutes but if you want to stay out late it's a little tricky.
Had a great chat with the night guy, really friendly.

A couple of things that weren't so great.
The shared shower on our floor was cold every morning, which isn't a biggy really but at the time very annoying!
And hate to speak badly of food (it's a personal thing you know..) but... the breakfast was real bad. Of course it could have improved since, i think we only gave it one shot... but we couldn't even drink the coffee which is saying something for us and the spongy bread rolls... wow! Interested to hear what others thought of it.

But after all that if you're having difficulty finding a cheap place to stay I would recommend it. It is clean and not that far away and once you're in the town plenty of great coffee!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aparthotel Davids
Aparthotel Davids
#30 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Penzion Euroclub Praha
#182 of 368 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Praha 4
Alexis
Alexis
#106 of 368 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Penzion Sofi
Penzion Sofi
#88 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Prokopka
Hotel Prokopka
#58 of 368 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Sunflower Prague
Hotel Sunflower Prague
#207 of 368 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beta

Property: Beta
Address: Jaromirova 174/46, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 368 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beta 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beta is located in a residential area of Prague 2, near by Vysehrad National Cultural Monument and Prague Congress Centre, close to the city centre. The Pension offers cheap accommodation in 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5-bed rooms with their own or shared bathrooms and WC. In case of shared social facilities there are altogether 3 rooms with 2 bathrooms and 2 WC separated for men and women on the floor. The building is connected well by public transportation which is easy and fast. Take tram no. 24 from Beta Pension and get to Wenceslas Square in 10 minutes. Tram no. 18 will take you to Charles Bridge,Old Town in 11 minutes and 16 minutes to Prague Castle.-The reception desk is open 24 hours a day.-Local taxes, buffet breakfast and WIFI are included in the price.-Luggage storage is free.-Telephone,fax service and safe at the reception desk.-Front desk-City tours.-Free WIFI in rooms.-The safe parking is 200 m far from our pension.-Parking for coaches is 400 m far from the pension.-Cycling track 450 m far.-Discounts for groups, students and members of IYHF.-We provide the chargeable parking . It costs 200,-Czk / 24 hours. We hope you will be satisfied with our service. We wish you a nice stay in Prague . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Beta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing