We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Beta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beta
Ranked #58 of 358 Prague B&B and Inns
Poręba, Polska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I've stayed in few hostels in the past but this is by far one of the best if you consider the price and location. The breakfast was suprisingly good. It's all-you-can-eat buffet which included many kinds of foods to choose from (different types of bread, eggs, canned meat pie, yogurt, cereal, honey, chocolate butter, milk, orange juice, coffee, tea...). And don't worry about the huge overpass going over the building :) We didn't hear a smallest noise comming from up there during the night. Service was very kind. The hostel is open 24/7 so you can enjoy Prague's nightlife with no limits.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mRoQuE82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    49
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
15
37
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What a great hostel. I got a nice big, airy, clean room. The Wi-Fi worked well.

Breakfast was plentiful and items replaced as they were used. Several choices of bread, cheese, spreads, pate, cereals & fruit juice. A tray of eggs and a saucepan on a cooker for doing your own boiled eggs. A microwave and toaster were also provided. It was self-service and do it yourself but that was fine. Breakfast is from 0800 till 1000.
Transport wise there is a tram stop a few yards from the Hostel that will take you into the city.

There is a Lidl supermarket a few hundred metres down the road.

The staff were all pleasant and spoke very passable English There are loads of brochures / leaflets about things to do. They give you a card with your room number, a small map and the hotel address / contact details so if ever you did get lost you can easily get in a taxi and be brought back.

The only drawback I found was it is a bit noisy. There is a road above the Hostel, a train line behind and a tram line in front. However I didn’t go on holiday to spread too much time in bed all day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This turned out to be a Hostelling International hostel as well as a Pension, although we stayed in a private twin room. Facilities were clean but fairly basic, with a shared bathroom - not great value at 16 euro a night per person - seemed to be neither a decent backpackers (which would have been cheaper) or a decent pension (which you'd get for the same price or marginally more).

Overall a very average pension, nigh-on impossible to find from the Metro station (it's thorugh the park and down some steps that you can't see from the Metro, if you do decide to stay there!). Regular trams from outside the hostel once you know where you're going, but not a great area and no restaurants etc particularly nearby that we could see. Slightly dodgy looking pub downstairs trying to advertise itself as a backpacker-friendly place, but didn't look particularly welcoming. The main problem with this Pension is that which troubles many HI/YHA hostels - school groups! We were sharing the place with a very pleasant and well-mannered group of French sixth formers, but none the less a large group, with the inevitable noise that a school group bring. HI need to decide - either cater exclusively to school groups, or cater to tourists and backpackers - they don't mix! Our room was also quite noisy anyway with trains passing every 20 mins or so until late at night. Breakfast included but again very average and the worst of our trip.

Overall I was a bit annoyed with myself for not booking accommodation sooner, hence staying here - we had visited Prague before and it has better to offer than this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleshoptroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Moscow
Level Contributor
312 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

very cheap accommodation, but not good for a long stay. The breakfast is poor, the streets are noisy, no air-con, old furniture, not close to the city centre. They have a bar on ground floor and give some discounts (if you stay at that hostel). Nothing good, but not too bad, either

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Good place for people on budget, nothing fancy. Its certainly not in the center of the city but you can get easily to center (old town, charles bridge etc) using Tram 18. Just 30 meters from the tram stop. Rooms are very clean and tidy. Decent breakfast in the morning included in the price. Service personnel are excellent and always gave required and correct information.

Disadvantage is there is no metro station that is close. Vysehrad seems to be close to it on map but you have to climb a mountain to get there. There is a bar downstairs, but I was not disturbed any sound.

Room Tip: Take one on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravi_s79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I'm not necessarily talking about the hostel itself but things that are and could be related to it. Firstly Beta Pension is located at a rather odd place, it's not difficult getting to and from (if you take the tram not the train) but it's not city centre either. I walked back there at night once, not due to the lack of transport, and some areas felt slightly shady.

The hostel itself is very good, the room was massive and the service was friendly. I myself loved how the place was rather sedate but one of the main problems was the noise. This would be fine with the windows closed but when open you hear all the noise from the motorway close by. And as there is no air con it's impossible not to open the window on a hot day.

Cleanliness is something I can't really comment for sure. Whilst I thought it was fine I did catch chickenpox at Prague, one possible culprit being the hostel.

There are a few newsagents around and slightly further there's a Lidl, not really sure if there are any restaurants around though.

Overall I would recommend Beta Pension on a budget but I would look at other options as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed here for the weekend to run the Prague 1/2 Marathon. The location is pretty good. Ten minutes into town by tram.

The showers are clean and the beds made every day. The views from the window are not too great. But who cares? It was only a bed we needed.

Breakfast is included. It's very basic. I wouldn't bother trying the coffee. It's pretty dodgy.

The staff were very nice, and the man who showed us around was very informative.

I would recommend to stay here if your looking for something basic. You might find something better closer to town for a cheaper price. But I was happy to pay this amount for my first visit to Prague. 3 nights was 90 euro. Booked via the YHA hostel website.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Aparthotel Davids
Aparthotel Davids
#30 of 358 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Penzion Euroclub Praha
#186 of 358 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Sunflower Prague
Hotel Sunflower Prague
#214 of 358 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
No photo provided
I'm Easy Housing Hostel
#324 of 644 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Praha 4
Alexis
Alexis
#94 of 358 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Prokopka
Hotel Prokopka
#63 of 358 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beta

Property: Beta
Address: Jaromirova 174/46, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beta 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beta is located in a residential area of Prague 2, near by Vysehrad National Cultural Monument and Prague Congress Centre, close to the city centre. The Pension offers cheap accommodation in 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5-bed rooms with their own or shared bathrooms and WC. In case of shared social facilities there are altogether 3 rooms with 2 bathrooms and 2 WC separated for men and women on the floor. The building is connected well by public transportation which is easy and fast. Take tram no. 24 from Beta Pension and get to Wenceslas Square in 10 minutes. Tram no. 18 will take you to Charles Bridge,Old Town in 11 minutes and 16 minutes to Prague Castle.-The reception desk is open 24 hours a day.-Local taxes, buffet breakfast and WIFI are included in the price.-Luggage storage is free.-Telephone,fax service and safe at the reception desk.-Front desk-City tours.-Free WIFI in rooms.-The safe parking is 200 m far from our pension.-Parking for coaches is 400 m far from the pension.-Cycling track 450 m far.-Discounts for groups, students and members of IYHF.-We provide the chargeable parking . It costs 200,-Czk / 24 hours. We hope you will be satisfied with our service. We wish you a nice stay in Prague . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing