We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic basic hotel - walking distance to all sights”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #155 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic basic hotel - walking distance to all sights”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and I have recommended it to many friends. Currently here with my daughter and we have walked everywhere. Andel Metro station is right outside the hotel making it easy to get here from the airport - bus station. Rooms are clean and airy - clean towels everyday if you want them. Prices include breakfast. There is a restaurant for evening meals if you want them but with so many good places to eat in the area you're spolit for choice. I can't praise the place highly enough. The last time I was here was January and it was knee deep in snow but still great. The only downside is that it is a very busy area so lot of traffic noise but with the double glazing and a couple of czech beers you'll hardly notice it.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the rooms on the side are a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    217
    61
    13
    3
See reviews for
74
199
61
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very nice location, right out of the subway tunnel, close to City Center. Clean, cozy and comfortable. Very well equipped (tv, air cond, fridge), clean shower. Very good service, very welcoming and smiling faces, just right to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CernoMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We went with friends and thought this hotel, although not in the centre was easily accessible to all the tourist places. The metro is just outside the door, a short walk to the trams, shopping mall and supermarkets. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and well equipped. With the breakfast included it is certainly good value for money. The reception staff could have been a little more friendly and helpful but nevertheless when asked they did off their assistance as much as they could. We went to Karlstejn castle via the main train which we took from only one stop away from Andel. The hotel was easy to find coming from the airport. You buy a ticket for 26 crowns which gets you on to the no.100 bus to Zlicin metro station. Down the steps and the same ticket takes you all the way to Andel. Once on the platform at Andel walk to the entrance which say Bus (not trams) turn sharp right and then go up the stairs, you will be outside the hotel. If you exit from the 'tram' exit no-one seems to know where the hotel is.

Room Tip: It seems that all the rooms are much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2011

In summery(two and 1/2 stars): clean, spacious and nice(*) with reasonable price.(*) but rather an hassle to get from the main train station and right above a big casino(-*), service is like lemon car(-*), can't say bad but never good breakfast(1/2*)
internet works only with lan cable which they lend you for free, or in the reception, you can connect ot the wifi for free. it has nice big couches in the lobby.
hotel is nice and spacious. it's located in the 6th floor so the view isn't bad.
i read lots of people commenting hopitality of this place but i guess they haven't talked to the receptioner(?) except few words for check in and out. (or maybe a different one)
A girl, who seems to speak English and French(maybe something else too?) also, has a big smile(she's the main. the other is rather quite and speaks less english). i was very happy to see someone finally smiling at me.(came through France-German. they were nice. but with no smile on their faces almost not at all) however, i soon found out this was for almost everyone from the shops that deal with travelers a lot. they smile at you, pretending to be very nice. BUT they rather rip you off if it's a restaurant,(be aware that restaurants with english speaking waitress inviting you in tends to rip you off) or talk back in other places like this hotel. i don't know if it's been my luck or something, but every receptioners in other hotels were very nice and helpful whenever i asked for the directions or advice. but not this one. if you say i shouldn't be asking for anyother informations not concerning the hotel itself, i guess it was my fault. however, i believed it is also one of their job to be guiding travelers(not extensively, of course) but when i did, they made jokes and talked in Czech(which sounded very much like making fun of me, according to the sense i developed traveling through countried with languages i don't speak). well, she did help me in the end, but this all made my mood quite grumpy and this goes on and on.
Also, it's kinda hassle to get here from the main train station because i have to change the station. no direct tram from old town square either. (only 2 direct tram to parague castle. if you are using bus, it might be good cuz it's right in front of the hotel.). and it's right beside a Casino which makes woman tavelers all nervious during the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is clean and the rooms are nice, with surprisingly soft beds (in a good way). Staff is friendly, The hotel is situated on top of the Andel subway station, with two stops into the city centre, and next to the Na Knizeci bus/tram station. The breakfast was very bad, a failed attempt at a continental one. Fortunately there is a huge shopping mall at Andel, with a good creperie on the top floor.

It is easy to get to/from the airport even at night, since the 150 bus makes a stop at Arbesovo Namesti, a 10 minute walk north.

The free high speed Internet only works in the lobby, and hardly that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

It was a really clean hotel. It was no frills but it had nothing that I wanted to complain about at all. It was great. It's not the place to go if you're looking for luxury stay with all sorts of amenities or extra little touches, but it was a good deal and I felt safe and it was immaculately clean. I did hate that it really smelled like smoke in the room though. But you kinda got used to it and it was fine.

I wasn't sure about the location because I kept reading that it was a bit far from the action, but it was totally fine. It wasn't in the heart of the action but I thought that was good because Prague is so overwhelmingly touristy. The location was fine for us -- it was a 25 minute talk to the Old Jewish Cemetary, which was the furthest place you'd really want to go. So, it usually only took us 20 minutes to walk home from the Old Town.

if you just want a clean place to sleep, this is a great spot.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmclevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Great hotel.. Huge rooms, clean, greatly located next to the metro station.. Brilliant breakfast! ok service!! Very good relation quality-price!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamirva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#185 of 649 in Prague
1,554 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#98 of 649 in Prague
409 reviews
Praha 5
andel’s by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#122 of 649 in Prague
302 reviews
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#115 of 649 in Prague
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Property: Akcent
Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#63 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#108 Family Hotel in Prague
#115 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing