We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akcent Hotel---stayed there twice during our 11 day visit to Europe”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #141 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Akcent Hotel---stayed there twice during our 11 day visit to Europe”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

After an extensive research project for hotels in and around Prague, we chose the Akcent hotel. Our daughter was studying abroad the fall 2011 semester, and we were visiting her to time the the end of school.

To be honest, we chose Akcent not for the amenities, but for a balance of price (low) and location to public transportation. The first time, anyway. We stayed there 3 nights on the front of our trip, then traveled Germany for 4 days, with a loose plan to come back to Prague for the final 2 days. We had our rooms in Prague booked at the Akcent as well, but would have had no problem cancelling those rooms if we didn't like it.

Not only did we keep our rooms for the second stay, we came back to Prague a day early. We simply were more comfortabel in Prague than Germany, and the Akcent was part of that comfort. The room was spacious, clean, fantastic assistance by front desk staff. The breakfast was excellent, different than the hot breakfasts available in U.S. hotels, but authentic and real food. I'll take that any day over the fake eggs in most U.S. hotels.

Do yourself a favor if you go to Prague. Try the Akcent. It's a hotel not trying to be anything different. It's easy.....it's convenient....and the price is good. Wireless didn't connect for us in either room.....we got an etherenet cable from the front desk otr carried our laptop to the bar and connected fine. Not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    220
    63
    13
    3
See reviews for
78
201
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This was my first trip to prague & I was a bit worried about this hotel's location as it is not in the city center; however, after my stay I've to admit that one of the best things about this trip was the area around the hotel. Prague is a very touristy city and you will not meet any locals or enjoy any local restaurants/pubs in the city center, so to be away from the city center is your only chance to meet local people & enjoy the true czech pub culture. The hotel is very convienintly located for all public transportation, it is literally above the entrance of "Andel" metro station which is only 4 stops from the city center, also there are numerous trams both at regular & late night times & the tram stop is only 5 min away. The area has a number of very good restaurants & pubs & there is a large shopping center only 3-4 min walk from the hotel. Also, I felt that the area was very safe & walked there late at night while coming back from the city center with no problems at all.
The hotel staff were really nice & helpful, I booked a single room, but was upgraded to a double one which was huge. However, one of the heaters in the room didn't work & when I told the front desk, the lady immediatly told me that I can change the room if I wish, when I said yes, she gave me a key to another room which was actaully more like a suite & was very large & comfy.
The room and bathroom were very clean & had a large bed, couch, table, TV, coffee making machine & lots of space. The shower worked very well with a good flow of hot water and the breakfast was ok (nothing special about it).
The only negative point in this hotel was that the carpets in the hallway were a bit dirty which gives you a bad feeling when first entering the hotel.
All in all, I was very satisfied by the hotel both for its location, staff & the large room I was assigned.

Room Tip: Take a room as far as possible from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I went to this hotel with my mom...OH MY GOD. The hotel has perfect location, nearest everything as shopping, metro, tram...The room is very large with small fridge bar. All rooms has balconies. I recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cellyarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My Czech friend recommended this hotel to me, since he did not have room in his apartment to host me. The hotel was an excellent value. The room was very clean, comfortable, and large by European standards. I was quite surprised in a good way.

One of the nicest amenities was the free, in-room, high speed Internet. The front desk clerk loaned me an ethernet cable for my laptop. With that, I had a link to the world.

The breakfast was quite nice and typical of what I've had at other European hotels.

The hotel rooms are on the sixth floor of the building. The reception area is on the ground floor. Security was good for the fact that a person needed a room key card to activate the lift to the hotel floor.

The location was excellent. The entrance to the metro was literally in front of the hotel entrance. There was a large shopping center just a few blocks down the street. There were several supermarkets cllose by.

The reception staff were all very friendly. I felt very comfortable and welcome at Akcent Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyguyWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

my partner+i stayed at the ackent 3yr ago for xmas,we arrived xmas eve and found a lovely chinese restaurant open and very reasonably priced.out of the hotel turn left+its just a few minutes away.across the road from there and on the corner is a little steak house obviously for locals as theres no english on the menu,however we did manage to order steak+chip,which was wonderfull+2 pints each for a tenner,result!!
If you follow the path down on to the main street+across the road we found a tiny little bar,again no english spoken but very hospitable+50p a pint+gorgeous lager.the akcent is in a brilliant place.loads of cheap eateries+bars.its about a 2 mile walk to the charles bridge,but loads of sights to see on the way which most tourists probably wouldnt see.lovely little churches+architect.the venicular railway is also on the way+worth a trip on.if you go into the restaurant at the top of the hill try the onion soup,best ive ever tasted.the ackent is in prague 5+i wouls recommend anyone to stay there.theres a great big shopping centre for you shoppers.beware though the closer you get to the centre the more expensive it is.a friend of ours was there at the same time+staying in a hotel right on the edge of town+he was paying £2.50 a pint compared to our 50p.all in all a fantastic place,hotel was lovely,though didnt stay open after 12,even the casino in the basement,but clean,friendly+in an ideal area

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supamac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I wasn't sure what to make of this hotel when I first arrived but now I'm a convert.
Clean room, simple but comfortable. Slept very well - no noise issues.
Easy to reach the old town centre by public transport. Walking distance from an area with bars, restaurants, shopping centre.
Staff told me about airport bus that stopped nearby, low-stress journey back to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowInBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and I have recommended it to many friends. Currently here with my daughter and we have walked everywhere. Andel Metro station is right outside the hotel making it easy to get here from the airport - bus station. Rooms are clean and airy - clean towels everyday if you want them. Prices include breakfast. There is a restaurant for evening meals if you want them but with so many good places to eat in the area you're spolit for choice. I can't praise the place highly enough. The last time I was here was January and it was knee deep in snow but still great. The only downside is that it is a very busy area so lot of traffic noise but with the double glazing and a couple of czech beers you'll hardly notice it.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel as the rooms on the side are a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#188 of 649 in Prague
1,574 reviews
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#98 of 649 in Prague
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#110 of 649 in Prague
1,473 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#78 of 649 in Prague
826 reviews
Praha 5
Austria Suites
Austria Suites
#275 of 649 in Prague
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Property: Akcent
Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#63 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#108 Family Hotel in Prague
#115 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing