We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, excellent staff, excellent breakfast.”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #157 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Just returned from Prague. We purchased a 72 hours pass which covers, tube, buses, trams and vanicular railway, it cost £10, a bargin. THis can be purchased in a kiosk, still in the airport, close to the exit doors.
We then caught a 100 bus, which stops right outside the airport you dont even have to cross the road. Catch the bus to Zlicin. When you arrive at Zlicin, there is a one minute walk to the tube station where you catch the B Line tube (yellow) to Andel. When you arrive and get off the train onto the station, turn immediately left and walk up the stairs. If you go right, you will end up about half a mile away from the hotel. As you come out of the station the hotel is right next to you.
My first thought was 'oh my god, whats this'. But erase that thought from your mind. Its a very nice hotel and the staff are so helpful. The buffet breakfast was really nice and it included, scrambled egg, fried egg, sausages(hot dog style) and bacon. Of course there were all the usual buffet things.
If I had to make one complaint it would be the air conditioning! It was practically non existent. Luckily we did not have boiling hot days but I would not like to be in these rooms if the weather was really hot. We had a room at the front of the hotel and although it was quite noisy, we did have excellent views across to the river. The hotel is only on the 6th floor of the building. The rest of the building is a Casino, flats and offices. You are not disturbed by any of the other things going on in the building. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, particularly because of the price.
We walked everywhere in Prague, from this hotel, but you do have the tube right outside your door or the trams just round the corner should you wish to use them.
A boat trip is worth a go and you must visit the castle and surrounding areas. When eating or drinking, stay away from the main areas. A pint of beer off the beaten track will cost you 70p but if you go to the main square you will pay £4.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline1Romford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

Nice,Clean,Big rooms........excellent hot breakfast

Stayed: July 2009
Thank meghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

A good three star hotel,spacious rooms,reasonably furnished,large balconieswith views looking out to Prague castle from our room.Room and bathroom were kept very clean ,a good shower and well appointed bathroom with fresh towels every day.The breakfast w

,.as average three star but fresh and plentiful,the hot section usually being s..ausage,egg and bacon,there was more than enough to set you up for the day.The hotel is to be congratulated on their staff, they were all first class,cheerful,polite and very helpful especially at reception ,they spoke very good english and readily gave advice or information.The biggest bonus of this hotel is access to public transport,the entrance to Andel tube station is right outside the hotel,the bus station is across the road and the trams are only a minute away.Restaurants and bars are cheaper than in the centre of the city,we found a few very good restaurants locally,. try Corleonne,s.When you arrive at the airport go to a kiosk and buy a 72 hour ticket,this allows on every form of public transport for that period of time as often as you like, it costs about ten pounds.Right outside the airport exit you wil see the bus stop for the no.100 bus to Zlicin,stay on the bus to the terminus which is Zlicin tube station,it is on the yellow line,the same as Andel station,so just sit tight and alight at Andel.Whenyou are on the platform there are exit escalators to your left and right,if you go up the wrong one you may waste time finding the hotel.There are signs at the bottom of the escalators telling which tell you the street you exit onto,you want the one that says BUS go up the escalator turn right up the stairs,you are at the Akcent hotel , we were in the hotel 50 minutes after arrival at the airport,I doubt if a taxi could have done it a lot quicker and that would have cost twenty pounds.
It takes less than ten minutes by tube to the city centre
A good hotel in a great location to enjoy a wonderful,beautiful city that has great atmosphere and first class ale,our trip was five days.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robharrisbeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Although the building is nothing special from teh outside, this hotel is very good. Well situated only within 10mins walk to the town centre and the metro/tram is located right under the hotel! There's lots of eateries and shops near the hotel too.
The the staff are freindly, accommodating. we stayed in an executive room, very spacious, comfortable and air conditioned.
Breakfast offered healthy options too. The restaurant is good and we would highyly recommend the steak.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Staff is helpful. Room is clean. Bathroom and furniture are fine. Neighor feels safe. Located at the 7th floor of a building. Relatively quite if you close the Window from the traffic nosie. AC is working and quite. Very convenience. Metro stop is right underneath the Hotel. Bus stop is close by. Advice from other reviewers on how to get from airport to Hotel is helpful and a good saving tip.

A 5 min walk to the a good size shopping mall with a good selection of foods. Local food around Old town tastes good and inexpensive. Local people are firendly. They take the time to draw me a map (w/ good advice) when I asked for direction. Prague is beautiful and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveskiingkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Stayed here for three nights in June 2009. I hadn't been to Prague for a while, but have stayed in several similar-class hotels in the past. However, in the Akcent Hotel, I have finally found a hotel I will return to regularly. The building itself is nothing special - a former office block next to a bus station/tram stop - but once inside, all changes. First stop, reception, and I was greeted by one of the friendliest and most helpful members of hotel staff I have met anywhere. All our conversation was in Czech; however, I found later that the lady in question (sadly, I failed to note her name) spoke excellent English, as do other members in staff (I imagine that German is spoken as well, as most of the TV channels are Czech/German, and only one is in English, so I suspect that this hotel is more popular with Czech/German visitors, rather than English). The rooms themselves are fairly basic, but comfortable, and with all the amenities one would expect of this class of hotel - shower, hairdryer, kettle, TV, but best of all, excellent air conditioning! The rooms also open onto private balconies, which may have good views according to which side of the hotel they are located - mine was situated on the east side, with views towards the Staropramen brewery, Žižkov Tower and even a glimpse of Prague Castle. The rooms were kept clean and tidy throughout my stay. Unfortunately I am too lazy to get up for breakfast (haha) so I can't comment on the restaurant. Anděl/Nový Smíchov is not in the centre of town, but being only 3 Metro stops from the centre, is only 10 minutes away from the main attractions. There are plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants and other facilities in the area, so you don't even have to do any shopping in town unless you really want to. The rooms also open onto private balconies, which may have good views according to which side of the hotel they are located - mine was situated on the east side, with views towards the Staropramen brewery, Žižkov Tower and even a glimpse of Prague Castle. The hotel is incredibly well-located for Metro Anděl (literally 5m from the entrance), but when leaving the train (when travelling from central Prague) make sure you turn left to leave via the correct exit, or you will have a 400m walk from the other entrance (which is more convenient for the Nový Smíchov shopping centre). All in all, a very well-located, pleasant and friendly hotel, which is a bargain compared to similar hotels in Prague. The only complaint I would have is that tea/coffee etc is not provided in the room, but as enough tea bags and sugar to last a fortnight can be bought for £1.00 GBP at the Tesco nearby, it's a very minor complaint!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cestina2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I recently stayed at the Akcent is mid-May with a group of eight friends for four nights. The hotel is actually the top floor of an apartment building and is conveniently located next to a metro and tram stop - only about a 10 minute ride to the Old Town or castle areas. While the immediate view of the metro station is not great, the farther view of the city is very nice. The front-desk staff was very helpful in giving directions and booking tours, especially Jana.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#93 of 647 in Prague
449 reviews
Praha 5
angelo by Vienna House Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#191 of 647 in Prague
1,605 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#110 of 647 in Prague
1,501 reviews
Praha 5
Aparthotel City 5
Aparthotel City 5
#5 of 647 in Prague
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#55 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#107 Family Hotel in Prague
#114 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £35 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing