We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont let the casino put you off.”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #158 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2009

A regular traveller to Prague, Normally I stay in central hotels. On this occasion I decided on this hotel soley on price. On first seeing it as I arrived, I thought I hed made a great mistake. The Casino on the ground floor was offputing. But I need not have worried. The casino is quite separate, I never had any problem with noise. The rooms were excellent, secure, and quiet. I had room 747 which had no balcony. Quite large rooms. Excellent quality beds and linnen. Large bathroom with excellent strong shower. Soft new towels. There is tea making facilities in the room, but you must buy tea or coffee packages at reception. Only a few pennies. Air conditioning with remote. The metro station just outside is a bonus. It is simple to use, just the yellow line, couple of stops and you are in the city center. I spent 4 happy days in this hotel exploring Prague. All the staff were friendly and helpful. With the exception of the head bar lady, in the casino/bar. The staff and some of the guests were afraid of her. I got barked at, for standing at the wrong end of the bar!! And it was not nice to listen to her nagging at the younger workers there. But there are plenty of friendly bars and restaurants within 2 minutes walk of this hotel. All in all, I was happy here, and I would return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eenocent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2009

Our room was huge, the sheets were the best we've ever had and the staff were superb!! We had a corner room over looking a street ( metro area). It is a stone throws away from the metro, and walking distance from other trams and shopping malls. A taxi fare from old town wasn't expensive either. It was wonderful, I fell in love with Prague!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perthchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Found this hotel on the net, and, as a result of earleir reviews here, booked it. It is very good value - much cheaper than many other hotels in Prague of similar quality. We paid only 50 euros a night, including breakfast. The location is also excellent, with the metro (line B - which also connects to the airport bus 100 at Zlicin), literally outside the door, and a large number of trams close by (2 mins walk). The rooms are reasonably sized, with all the usual amenities one expects of a three star. I was lucky also to get one with a small balcony. Breakfasts were good, too. However, the rooms were too hot, and the air conditioning didn't seem to work very well - the hotel really needs to get new units put in. Despite having a casino on the ground floor, there were no seedy types hanging around. One minor problem is that there is no bar in the hotel - unless you want to go into the casino, which we didn't. However, there are many (and good) bars nearby in the Andel junction to the north. Beware though - most seem to shut at midnight.....as do the bulk of the trams, and the metro. So you may need to go into the city centre. If so, do not get ripped off by the taxi drivers - there are some night trams, running about every half hour. The 54 runs close by.

Overall, I would this hotel for anyone on a budget, perhaps on a weekend city brteak, and wanting to see Prague without being located in the Stag/Hen area closer to the city centre. If you want nightlife, then perhaps you may need to pay more in the centre....

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights and would happily stay there for longer...lovely views of prague from the 7th floor where its located...Metro stop right outside to door...extreamly Clean well equipped air con couldnt fault it in anyway even had a fridge in the room which was very handy...and a big shopping centre within walking distance...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkSham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Stayed for 4 nights for visiting Prague.
Excelent location (Metro station nearby, trams and buses very close) with a rapid connection to every interesting place to visit (castles, Bridges, Museums and...Shops, of course).
Room was spatious, clean and comfortable. Hotel personnel (receptionists) very proffessional, very helpful if asked for address or connection details.
I reccomend it for its excelent "price / quality" ratio.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Stayed here for a long weekend in July, it is very conveniently placed for the Metro, and the shops and amenities close by a very useful. Our room was right on the corner, overlooking the courtyard parking area, and had a nice double aspect balcony. The breakfast was a typical continental offering, and perfectly fine for us. Although we never ventured in there is a casino directly under the hotel building.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trailblazer_uk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

It was the second time I came to Prague. This time Radiohead concert was the trigger that set me in a mood to venture a trip. I did it with a 3 year old daughter and those ones of you who have children know how much hotel conveniences mean when you are living there with a kid.
Akcent hotel satisfied all my needs as being a father and being a traveler. Rooms are spacious, clean, bathrooms are comfortable and modern, beds are made for enjoyable night sleep, balcony view of my room was splendid. Several times I had soothing moments of sipping my drinks and looking at the city settling down for the night.
Location is very favorable due to closeness to Andel underground station, the entrance of which is two steps from hotel door. Andel part of the city can boast excellent shopping center - Smichov, numerous trustworthy restaurants, Detsky Island on Vltava river - a big playground for kids, fabulous Petrin hill - a nice park to walk through and finally it is only 15-20 minute walk from main most acknowledged city attraction sites.
Many tram lines run through Andel giving you freedom of accessing such attractions as Prague zoo, Vystaviste (a Fair center, the Radiohead concert took place there) and many others.
The readiness to help which is the style of hotel employees adds a great deal of nice impression from this hotel. And here I use my chance to thank the reception and hotel restaurant people for being so nice to us.
Good speed LAN internet connection included in room price will be a great helper to you when planning you darts around the city or choosing a place to eat. Take your laptop and you won't regret it.
What else? Breakfast is also included in price of your stay. Breakfast is not very fancy but during our 7 days of eating there we didn't get tired of what we ate. Cereals, ham, cheese, buns and bread, omelet, sausages and tomatoes and cucumbers, yogurt, coffee, watermelons and cakes for dessert - looks pretty decent to me.
The cheapest booking should be done through booking.com or hotels.com. Booking at the hotel web-site will cost you 1.5 more.
When coming, don't have a chain hotel expectations. It is not a very common hotel. Situated on the 7 floor of office building, not classy, glasses in your room could be with bonaqua embossing on them, TV channel selection could sound poor to Hilton visitor, something could go not as smooth as you would expect (some guests complained about ants in their rooms), bus terminal sounds can seem too loud for nervous people (which can be solved by simply closing the windows), but this place has its own spirit and chain hotels could be too sterile and dull.
Overall impression is still very positive and remains untouched by any shade of disappointment.
Traveling is fun, isn't it?

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank u_vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#76 of 648 in Prague
868 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 648 in Prague
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#90 of 648 in Prague
455 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#190 of 648 in Prague
1,620 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#132 of 648 in Prague
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#107 Family Hotel in Prague
#114 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £32 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing