We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric”
Review of Akcent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akcent
Ranked #160 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Hotel faces vast streetcars' depot and subway station is few steps away, in fcat, it feels like the entrance there is at the ground-floor or the hotel itself. This place is queer: it's supposed to be noisy, but you sleep like a baby there; it's not far from historic center, but feels like a secluded, almost abandonded. In addition, it has really friendly staff, it's clean and comfortable, rooms are spacy, although no surprises. The last, but not the least -- it's very price-worthy.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvaGorenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    219
    62
    13
    3
See reviews for
75
200
62
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Service was excellent - found the reception staff very helpful when asking for information about transport etc. The room was huge! Only gripe was that we had a sunlight in the room so as soon as the sun rose we had a glare of light shining on us - but it didn't matter to us that much. Wasn't worth changing the room over. Would recommend B&B board. This hotel is slap bang next to the Metro - ideal! The other end of the subway for this station leads to a shopping centre (open til 10pm every night!) and loads of shops! We loved Prague and when we go again, we will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This hotel is pretty cheap. That being said, it is kind of gross. The maids didn't really clean the rooms other than making the beds and half of the time restocking the towels. The people at the front desk were pretty unhelpful. Their English was poor, which is fine, however other reviewers stated that they spoke English well, which was not the case. The employees at the front desk mislead us several times regarding directions, etc. There was no way to call the front desk from the room and no way to order a wake-up call. When we asked the front desk in person for a wake-up call, they completely forgot to do it and we received no wake-up call. The hotel also reeks of smoke and the walls are paper thin so you hear everything going on in other rooms and outside. The smoke smell is probably because the first floor of the building is a shady casino, and the rest of the floors are apartments. The hotel only consists of the top floor of a whole building. While I would probably never recommend this hotel to anyone, the one saving grace was that it had free breakfast. This "hotel" was basically like an average hostel. Next time, I would get a hostel that is closer to the city center.

Also, people reviewed this hotel as being in a great location. While it is right outside of the metro stop, it is a 20 minute tram ride or a 50 minute walk to the main tourist spots/city center.

Overall, halfway decent, but I would not repeat my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caj268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Hotel is in a great location for whatever you want to do in Prague, with the Metro stop right at the bottom of the hotel! Staff are friendly and helpful, who speak good english. The bar downstairs is very cheap for a pint!
Easy to get to the hotel from the airport, take the #100 bus, then get on the yellow line metro and get off at Andel, this is the stop which is just at the foot of the hotel!
had a fantastic week with my mates, and we are returning again same time next year, hopefully to this hotel again!
rooms are a good size for two people, i had a twin room and there was enough floor, cupboard, and bathroom space for the two of us!
We got a great deal on this hotel, i think it cost us about £150 for 4 nights which we all thought was great value when booking it, and even more so now having stopped there!
overall this hotel would be an excellent choice for anyone, can't go wrong with it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Check in:
-friendly staff, speak English well.

Rooms:
-noise travels well through walls here. luckily I didn't have any partiers near me.
-Large room with balcony
-work desk/table
-beds, 2 singles put together. Matresses are soft (too soft for my liking)
-tea kettle
-No Wifi, but internet available with cord.
-mini bar
-safe

Bathroom is large and fine.

buffet:
very good. nice selection of food.


location:
-hotel is right beside Andel (metro station/yellow line)
this is about 6 stops(exchange trains once) from main train station
-Casino in same building as hotel.
-nice shopping area is a short walk. shops and restaurants

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank --_--11ACES11--_--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

If you are looking for a short stay, good location,clean hotel and good value then this is the perfect hotel. Rooms are very clean, and there is free wired or wireless internet which was great for us as we were on a business trip. Right outside are trams,buses and Metro stations for easy access. We actually walked into the centre which took around 20 mins but was very pleasant. Also, apprx 3 mins walk away is a large shopping mall with shops,restaurants and a massive Tesco store. Also, we arrived late at night and just by the shopping mall we found a kind of 'Seven-Eleven' store.
People at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was suffecient. Included hot sausages,scrambled eggs plus cold meats,cheeses etc. I have one waring though,,if you ask the hotel to book a taxi to the airport, they charge 650cz krona,,the price should be around 450-500cz krona,,,I told them this and they adjusted the price accordingly for me so taxi fares they advertise at the reception are negotiable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I read other reviews before I selected Akcent Hotel, and although most of the reviews mentioned that the hotel is near a metro station, I imagined that it'd be across the road or sth like that. It's actually literally at the hotel's doorstep! That is the greatest thing about Akcent. The room was very clean and quite spacious (we stayed in a triple room), but the pillows and mattress can be a bit saggy for some. I was fine with them.It could also be very noisy due to the traffic below. Other than that, the staff was very helpful, breakfast was acceptable. The only problem was that we got stuck in the lift on our final day there, and help did not come from the hotel staff somehow...perhaps still trying to call their engineer or sth, and another tourist had to help pry open the door.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordWhiterose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Angelis
Angelis
#99 of 649 in Prague
420 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#187 of 649 in Prague
1,567 reviews
Praha 5
Vienna House Andel's Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
815 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#136 of 649 in Prague
701 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 649 in Prague
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akcent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akcent

Property: Akcent
Address: Stroupeznickeho 1/253 | Smichov, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Prague
#108 Family Hotel in Prague
#115 Business Hotel in Prague
#186 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Akcent 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reconstructed Akcent hotel is a modern 3-star budget hotel with a friendly atmosphere located on the 7th floor of a 1930s Functionalist-style office building and can boast splendid views of Prague from all 53 rooms. The hotel is situated in the heart of Smichov quarter, just a 3 minute walk from one of Prague's major commercial and entertainment zones, where two big shopping malls Novy Smichov and Zlaty Andel are to be found. Guests highly value the hotel's location also for easy and quick connections to the centre of Prague. With an entrance to the Andel subway station right outside hotel front door, and several tram line stops nearby, the entire historical centre of the "City of Hundred Spires" is just 5 minutes away, while picturesque Lesser Town, park Kampa and Petrin Hill is only a 20 minute walk. Not far is also river Vltava and Vysehrad Castle. Hotel's location is also very convenient for tourists coming for Prague Beer Tour as Staropramen brewery is in surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Akcent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Akcent Hotel
Akcent Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing