We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic hotel would not stay here again.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beranek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beranek
Ranked #266 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very basic hotel would not stay here again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location and staff helpful but not friendly. Staff looked miserable and no one said good morning or smiled but if you asked for assistance they were helpful.
Rooms were clean but very basic even more basic than a UK travelodge. Broken fridge in room and one English speaking channel on old cathode ray tv. Very dated hotel!
Breakfast really was a joke with slices of cold cheese and same ham each day. Tinned fruit and cheap foods. Not really anything nice. If you like toast and jam every day or boiled eggs you will love it.

Staff helpful when you ask them to book an activity but other than that they all look unhappy. Simple things could be done to improve it but there appears no desire for customer service.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    145
    46
    16
    1
See reviews for
46
90
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean rooms .fairly good breakfast; Ideally located; reception staff friendly and helpful. This was our second visit to the hotel. We were introducing friends to Prague and the hotel added points to our room was on the first floor at the front we were pleased to say that we were not disturbed by the trams

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggerStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Beranek for 4 days on a city break to Prague. Hotel is ideally located and provides close walking access to the main sites such as the Old Town Square. Also, not too far of a transport from the airport either.

On welcome, we were greeted by friendly staff and were given a bottle of the home brewed beer by the hotel. A nice little welcome touch. Rooms were very cosy and comfortable for the little amount of time we used them for. Slightly too hot at times but all rooms have windows and air conditioning. Very clean and spacious.

Breakfast at the hotel was basic, not what you would normally expect from a continental breakfast. Mostly breads and cold meats and cereals. The odd warm addition such as sausage and steamed vegetables - but this could be normal for the culture over there. Breakfast was served on the fifth floor which was hard to get our heads round at first!

All in all, was generally pleased with this hotel and would stay here again when I return to Prague :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_S_D_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

All good opinions about the hotel are true.This is good 3stars hotel. Quite big rooms, clean, parking in the hotel, what is rather rare in this location, good breakfast, and most of all -the location.Good value for the money . Next time this place for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I have recently been in this hotel. My opinion is that this place is not so customer-friendly. They do the minimum because the guest enjoy its stay. I have asked to have (little) later check-out and, despite what contained in their room-booklet about this ('Ask to the reception for a later check-out', they say...) they answered that was impossible because 'they have to clean my room'. The requested checkout was at 1:30 pm instead of 12:00. I have seen the waitress also cleaning rooms in late afternoon, of course.....

The breakfast is rather cheap with a selection of very standards products.

I will avoid this hotel in the future and will use the new Clarion, just crossing the street, which is new and a very good branding hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiminiTheconductor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed here for four nights with my partner and this place was perfect! The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and maintained every day. It could get a bit noisy from the trams and sirens but it was not enough to keep us from sleeping. A 15-20 min walk to wenceslas square (definitely not 3 minutes as stated on the website!) and excellent tram services nearby. Breakfast was a good selection of breads, pastries and cereals although not many hot or fruit options... But this did not bother us at all. Perfect location for being not too far away from the centre but far enough away not to get disturbed by party goers! Loads of cheap and lovely restaurants located on the walk to wenceslas square. I would particularly recommend the Titanic restaurant. Did not look anything special from the outside (or the inside!) but the food and wine was gorgeous and ridiculously cheap.

The only two negative remarks I would make was firstly the parking situation was horrendous.... It is a tiny basement underneath the hotel and in our big estate car it was practically impossible to get in and out without hitting something! It was also fairly pricey to park there but this wouldn't affect most people coming on holiday and using hotel transfers.
Secondly the safety deposit box key is attached to the room key (which is needed to trigger the electricity via a box on the wall) so to use it you have to take it off or fumble around in darkness. However, the fact that this was free means that it really wasn't anything to grumble about!
One tip I would give is go to the hotels own website to find the best deals.... I found this hotel on booking.com and they wanted £1020 for four nights.... Via the hotel directly we only paid £280!

Overall this hotel was wonderful for our stay in Prague and we will definitely be staying here again.... But might leave the car behind!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookey1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel is about 100 yards from the stop for the No 22 tram which passes near the centre and travels on to the castle. The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and WiFi is free. We had a room at the front which we liked and although others have complained about noise from the trams we did not find it a problem. No bar, but drinks can be purchased at reception at very reasonable prices - the hotel own label beer is excellent.

The restaurant is only open for breakfast and can get a bit crowded but the staff are very efficient at clearing tables. Good selection of cold items, limited choice of hot food.

The room key must be inserted in the wall to provide electricity and the lights go out instantly it is removed. The safe key is attached to the room key, so unless you are prepared remove it and risk losing it, you will have problem using the safe in the evening without a torch. On the plus side it is free and many hotels charge extra for the use of a safe. Another bonus is the refrigerator in the room, ideal for chilling water and beer. We were told that beer is cheaper than water in Prague and this is not far off the mark!

Room Tip: We were unaware that smoking is permitted in the corridors and bedrooms on the first floor. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firewire204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Alton
Alton
#257 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Hotel Lunik
Hotel Lunik
#191 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
EA Hotel Tosca
EA Hotel Tosca
#168 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Tyl
Hotel Tyl
#253 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#148 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#128 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beranek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beranek

Property: Beranek
Address: Belehradska 478/110, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beranek 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Beranek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing