We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice economical hotel :)”
Review of Extol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Extol Inn
Ranked #380 of 650 Hotels in Prague
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice economical hotel :)”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I'm happy with this hotel that was around the same price as a hostel. I stayed in one with a shared bathroom that was shared with only 2 other rooms so I did not even see anyone else use it. The restaurant is nice and reasonably priced. The breakfast included was a great added bonus and had plenty of food. The main suggestion would be to add some padding to the bed. It was fine for me but I could imagine that it could be hard for others. The staff online and in person were very helpful as well. The "long" distance from the city center is a total exaggeration. There is are trams that goes directly there in 15 mins. It's actually better to be away from the mobs of tourists and the general city noise for a fraction of the price!! There are also spa and gym facilities at a reduced price for guests, about 4 EUR/hour. Thanks!

Room Tip: The single with a shared bathroom was a good price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelerfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    105
    60
    12
    9
See reviews for
25
73
46
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is quite far from downtown, but tue public transport is okay tough. The room we stayed at, was quit puritan, but clean, and quiet. The breakfast was great, and the service people were nice too. And last but not least, the hotel es really cheap and is in a great value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habesz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usti nad Labem, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Co-operative staff, nice wellness. Economy room on 4th floor was OK. I liked the surroundings. It is quiet and somehow different then in the city center. Like in the fifties. Special.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tygrrr1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We booked the Extol Inn for the reasons that it wasn't right in the city centre, the cost, and that it has off road guarded parking.

We booked a double room with ensuite facilities and were put on the third floor. No problems carrying cases etc as they have two lifts. The room was very spacious but lacked a plug in the sink. Must remember to buy a travel plug!!

Although in Prague 7, it is a short walk and 24kc number 3 tram ride into Wenceslas Square.

Breakfast was the usual continental fare but with the addition of bacon (it seemed boiled!) and klobasa.

The hotel has the bonus of free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a standard double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvictaMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Extol inn is a well-priced hotel/hostel not too far from all of the main attractions of Prague. It is significantly better value than staying anywhere in Praha 1 (the city centre).

We were surprised at how large the room was. We had a double room with shared bathroom and both the room and the bathroom were very large, well-kept and clean. It definitely felt, in that regard, more like a hotel than a hostel.
As for the location, it wasn't great but it was very good. Extol inn is located in what is kind of a more run-down residential area and there isn't much to see in the immediate surroundings, but the tram stop is less than a block away. Getting there from the airport on public transit takes a while, but good directions can be found on hostelbookers and if you follow them to the letter, you should be okay (but it's a long haul - bus, two metro lines and a tram). Otherwise, getting to the city centre only takes a tram or two, and one tram to the Prague castle/Strahov monastery.
The hotel restaurant was very good and extremely well priced (beer under a dollar)!
Most of the service was rather noncommittal, but there was a really nice hotel desk clerk who helped us when we screwed up our booking, and even helped us with our train tickets.

On the downside, one of the nights we were there a school group of teenagers was too, and they were extremely loud. Soundproofing wasn't a big deal at all with the exception of that one night. Also, the room kind of had a light odd smell (the carpets are really old), but with the windows open a crack you couldn't even notice.

All in all, a good bet for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyssaFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

+
We loved our room, which was much larger than expected. Reception was nice, and internet was free. Though with the internet, they had (free wireless) routers on every floor, but neither my friend or I could connect to them; only the one in the lobby worked for us. The whole hotel in general looked really clean and new, which was nice. Breakfast was also nice, and the restaurant has CHEAP beer.

-
The soundproofing was lacking, which became problematic at night. Teenagers going to (11pm) and from the bars (3am) would yell at each other in the street and in the lobby, both of which could be heard perfectly in our room. Reception seemingly did nothing to quiet the noise. We felt that the hotel was actually priced too low for what it was, attracting the type of clientele that yells in the lobby and in the street all night long.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andybond13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dont tell
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed in shared bathroom room, but best for the price and clean. Receptionists are helpful, Breakfast is the best for the price (included).I am not sure why they don’t have laundry room but they do have kitchen

There are plenty of transports to the city so distance does not matter, It is not far from the city so you could feel the local peoples’ and convenient.

Advice to the travelers

First time you get confused to reach the hotel from Prague so please take taxi

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analysers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#446 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#407 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#470 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#518 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#414 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#185 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extol Inn

Property: Extol Inn
Address: Pristavni 340/2, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel is located approximately 15 minutes by tram from the historical centre (accessible by public transport for 24 hours). According to your budget you can choose from 4 kinds of rooms ( 3*executive, 3*standard, 2*standard or 2*economy). The hotel has also jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, is non-smoking and completely accessible for the handicapped. It has a secure car park (subject to availability, please book in advance). Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extol Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing