We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Extol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extol Inn
Ranked #383 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We were supposed to be staying in another hotel, but were moved to this one after a problem with the original booking. A pleasant suprise. Clean rooms, and a nice, modern reception area. The room was a good size, and comfortable. Ate in the restaurant on the first night, very good value for money, and tasty! Quite a good breakfast, although at times things like bread/milk/juice ran out and weren't replaced.
It's only 15 mins on the tram into the middle of Prague, the reception staff will give you maps and information on public transport if, like us, you don't have a clue! They were really helpful, and you can buy your tram tickets from them. The only problem we had was trying to recognise which stop to get off at when we were getting the tram back, we missed it every time!
This is a clean, safe & convenient hotel, and reasonable for the price - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emc420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    106
    60
    12
    10
See reviews for
25
74
48
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed there over new years as it was the most reasonably priced place (34 euro a night) I could find on relatively short notice. The lobby and restaurant areas are really nice and new. I was in an economy room - bed, closet, table, shared mirror, shower, toilet, which was really quite 'economy'. no large towels provided (used my own) and no place to hang wet coats or towels. These were all things I can generally live with, however the smell of the entire floor (oil) was nauseating. The bathrooms could also do with an updating.

Saying that, there were positives too. Breakfast was amazing, as was the restaurant, and all the staff members were really polite and genuinely helpful and nice.

Location is definitely not so great. The tram is not a problem (in fact really easy to navigate, unless you have a large bag of luggage - transport tickets were easy to buy at the hotel reception), but as a solo female traveler I didn't always feel quite safe walking in the neighbourhood at night (also there were always people yelling on the street I faced - west). Clearly this is not the hotel's fault, so not much can be done about that.

If I came back to Prague, I would likely try and find a hostel in the central city area (as I was hoping to find, alas they were all booked out)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_chunkyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you don't mind:
- a small bed with a rubber foam cot ("mattress")
- not having a place to hang your (wet) coat
- occasionally having a shower cabin sliding door falling on your feet
- not having a hair dryer/fridge/big mirror
- having to pay for a clean towel if you wish to have one earlier than 3 days after your check-in
- stench of fried oil in corridors
... then you will be in the right place... just as I was not :-((
When I inquired about the whole thing, unfortunately only after the trip, the hotel's Sales Manager replied (in a very kind e-mail message)

"The hotel Extol Inn is a 3*hotel with a small part of 2*category, that we call economy. But this was not your room. Category economy consist of apartments with shared facilities (2-3 rooms share bathroom and toilet). In 3*category we have 3 different kind of rooms – rooms basic, rooms standard and rooms executive - the difference is in equipment and in price of course."

Obviously, when booking in this hotel you should first investigate what kind of 3* room you'll be in.
At the same time, our travel agent said (only after the trip) that 3* rating in the Czech Republic (Prague) doesn't correspond to usual EU standards.
All in all - think twice before turning your Prague trip into a bitter and disappointing experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

"A great location, a solid hotel". A solid hotel to stay in to enjoy the magnificent Prague with a very good breakfast buffet. Prague’s reliable public transportation (tram) stop is around the corner and a subway (Metro) 2 tram stops away. The hotel is newly renovated, clean and the front desk staff is friendly. It is a small, very reasonably priced hotel. We stayed for 13 days and enjoyed it. You cannot beat the whole package. Get the tickets for the public transportation at the front desk - we got the 3 day pass - cheaper and you do not have to deal w/the time restricted ticket (30 minutes...) or the day pass.
It has a gym but it's open from 10 AM! - very inconvenient, we never used it...
To conclude: it is not Hilton, it is a hotel you go to sleep to a clean bed and get a good, solid, local breakfast and the stay will not ruin your pocket.

Room Tip: I communicated/negotiated directly w/the hotel – cut off the middleman for arranging the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbt_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukosan, Zadarska, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

3rd time in Prague, 1st time in Extol inn, and for sure i will come back to this hotel. Why? Because it is in nice and peaceful neighbourhood of Prague, tram stop is 1 minute away, rooms are clean etc. Just few stops from hotel you can visit Krizikova Fontana and Sea World(morsky svet), and lil bit far away is ZOO which is amazing! cant wait to come back to extol inn and in Prague!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rajko R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four days and took the basic room. It really was basic, with shower, TV, closet, etc. It's missing a few less-basic but essential stuff like shower cap, tea/coffee set, water boiler, etc. Breakfast is good, staff are really helpful. It takes 15mins to get to the center using the tram which costs €1.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_raditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We took a room with en-suite which gave us free use of gym, spa & sauna, which was great after lots of sightseeing! Staff were a wealth of knowledge & public transport information. Breakfast is plentiful & Restraunt food delicious & well priced. Room was basic but clean, safe car park on site. Didn't mind being a bit out of town. No complaints.

Room Tip: We overlooked the street which was fine except for one night when drunken revellers were a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetenJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#418 of 649 in Prague
48 reviews
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#590 of 649 in Prague
111 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#518 of 649 in Prague
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#452 of 649 in Prague
63 reviews
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#243 of 649 in Prague
379 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Amadeus
Hotel Amadeus
#351 of 649 in Prague
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extol Inn

Property: Extol Inn
Address: Pristavni 340/2, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel is located approximately 15 minutes by tram from the historical centre (accessible by public transport for 24 hours). According to your budget you can choose from 4 kinds of rooms ( 3*executive, 3*standard, 2*standard or 2*economy). The hotel has also jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, is non-smoking and completely accessible for the handicapped. It has a secure car park (subject to availability, please book in advance). Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Extol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extol Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing