We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Extol Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extol Inn
Ranked #356 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I've been three times to that hotel, because I wanted to hike in Czech Republic and it was so convenient for the first and last night in that country (flying to and from Prague Airport). Each time I stayed in a "single" (i. e., double, single occupancy) room at the"Youth Hostel" price (you need the International Youth Hostels member card), with reservation ahead through Internet. Everything was perfect, top modern bathroom+WC (shared), total silence because of multiple doors (from the corridor, there's a door to the unit comprising three rooms and the bathroom+WC). First stay, the breakfast was wonderful, with fresh chicken, etc., but two other stays only sausage. Very polite and efficient employees, indeed everything was perfect. Only point: it costed then 18 € per night, and by now you can see on their website that prices have jumped up by 10 €. Location is not a problem (you get used to directions very quickly, as in Czech Republic everything is very clearly indicated), you just have to take a tramway into the "interesting" parts of the city.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    105
    58
    12
    7
See reviews for
24
73
46
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

This hotel offers ridiculously cheap stays that even come with complimentary breakfast that is really not bad!

I stayed with 5 other friends in 2 adjoined triple rooms with a shared bathroom and corridor. The room I got was very spacious, though my friends' room was slightly less so. The beds were really comfy and the bedding was clean. The restaurant staff were super friendly though they didn't speak much English. The food is not bad too, and very very reasonably priced.

The only flaws about this place is the expensive Internet, and its location. It's located in a particularly unpopulated area of New Prague and the view is not much, but Old Prague, the touristy part of Prague, is just a 10 minute tram ride away, so it's really not that bad.

Overall, this is one of the best budget hotels EVER in my opinion, and I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Wow...i can't say enough great things about Extol! I absolutely loved my stay there. The staff was amazing and very helpful. The rooms were immaculate. I would definitely stay again. The breakfast was quite the spread. The massage service was a welcome addition to our stay. The only thing lacking is it is slightly out of the way but was easy to reach by public transportation. It made my second visit to Prague much more enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenHenmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Usually I am not the one who write reviews like this, but I was so satisfied with the services in that hotel I have to.
It was a big surprise for me that the 3 star hotel can offer the same services as a 4 star hotel. I stayed at executive room, very comfortable, wi-fi, minibar, gown (!!!).
Also the restaurant was not that bad, safe parking place, friendly staff. May be just the laundry I missed.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lucgrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

The Extol Inn was a great budget hotel option in Prague. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the reception desk was always staffed, day and night. The breakfast included in the price per night was very good, with lots of options (bread, meat and cheese, coffeecakes, granola, yogurt, fruit etc). Meals available at the restaurant were good too, and reasonably priced.
The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Our double room shared a bathroom with just two other rooms and was quiet and secure. The bathroom was clean and well kept, with good water pressure and plenty of hot water.
The hotel was a 10 minute tram ride from the centre of town on 3 different tram lines, with the tram stop about 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The trams were very convenient and frequent, with the only slow time being after 10pm.
The hotel was also convenient for arrival from Holesovice train/metro station
(NB: the transfer from the train/metro to the tram station where you pick up the tram to the hotel can be awkward if you're packing suitcases rather than backpacks-an underpass connects the two stations, and has long flights of stairs with no elevator or escalator)

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Although this hotel is well placed for Praha Holesovice railway station, it's in a run down part of Prague, and guests really need to master the tram system to get into central Prague. However, it is away from the noisy throng, who were loving Prague to death on the sunny weekend we spent there.
There was free wifi in the hotel lobby. The breakfast was adequate but not lavish. We had a more expensive 3 star room at the back, but the cost was still modest. The room was was quiet, comfortable, and quite large, with an electric jug and supplies of tea and coffee. The bathroom (shower only) was very large, and there was plenty of storage for luggage.
Reception staff were pleasant and helpful, and there was a lift and good security.

  • Liked — Room size, free wifi
  • Disliked — Neighbourhood
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank melblib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

I staid here as a part of a bigger group and was satisfied with the hotel. I had a single room which shared a very clean bathroom with a double room. The mattress was a bit hard and there were no bathtowels but otherwise everything went well. The breakfast buffet was better than I expected, although there were hardly any vegetables or fruits. The staff at the reception was very friendly and professional and spoke very good English. The only minus is the location of the hotel, as you need to take a tram to a metro station and then the metro to get to the centre. However, this only took around 15 min. Also, the check out time is already at 10.30 am. Overall, if you are looking for cheap accomodation and don't mind using public transport to get around, it's a very good deal!

  • Liked — Value for money, breakfast
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank srtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#516 of 670 in Prague
22 reviews
Praha 6
Discounts Prague Hotel
Discounts Prague Hotel
#389 of 670 in Prague
142 reviews
Praha 7
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#418 of 670 in Prague
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#502 of 670 in Prague
165 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Residence Tabor
Hotel Residence Tabor
#293 of 670 in Prague
210 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#408 of 670 in Prague
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extol Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extol Inn

Property: Extol Inn
Address: Pristavni 340/2, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extol Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished hotel is located approximately 15 minutes by tram from the historical centre (accessible by public transport for 24 hours). According to your budget you can choose from 4 kinds of rooms ( 3*executive, 3*standard, 2*standard or 2*economy). The hotel has also jacuzzi, sauna and fitness, is non-smoking and completely accessible for the handicapped. It has a secure car park (subject to availability, please book in advance). Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extol Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extol Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing