We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The small hole.”

Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana
Ranked #293 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The small hole.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The small hole.
The reason we stayed at this apartment for the long weekend is the busy period of May holidays when everything around was overbooked.
Well, you should not expect to see in reality what was on picture during booking. We 've got a hole, a small hole instead of a room, and yes there was no even a sink not talking about a bathroom, toilet. When we asked to give us a room according to booking picture and facilities, the answer was no as this is the last one available in this apartment. It was the poorest breakfast we ever experienced with my husband. Talking about apartment staff, the reception girl was helpful but couldn't do much and the manager was pretending to be so serious and important, she never said Hello to the guests :). I will recommend this hotel to my enemies or the ones I want to play a bad joke. But why not..there is very proud 8,1 Booking.com sign at the reception...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MargaritaSz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    20
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you want a cheaper option then this is a good place to stay. It is not in the city centre and is at least a 15-20minute walk to the top of Wenceslas Square. Not a good option if you want to be close to the action, but it is half the price of the city centre, so if you dont mind the walk (we didnt) or can figure out the trams/metro this is great. More money to spend on things to do. Prague is an AMAZING city, my ultimate favourite of all European cities. The Pension Jana was clean and basic. Breakfast was minimal, good cup of coffee, around 6-8 SMALL slices of bread, packet toppings, and each day either a yoghurt, or a banana or sliced ham & cheese (changes daily) plus a glass of juice. Enough to start you off before heading into the city for the amazing Czech food & cheap beer! Shared Bathrooms (we didnt see another person at all so seems we were lucky) with several toilets and one shower (separate mens & women) the staff we encountered don't go out of their way to say hello or offer help, but if we asked they were happy to oblige. They gave us advice on our 3rd day about the metro (which would have been helpful the first day) so make sure you ask when you get there as that made getting around alot more simple. We did the Sandemans free walking tour which was a perfect way to get in all the main sights, and find some favourites to go back to HIGHLY advise. All in all the awesomeness of Prague far outweighs the average hotel, and it really does help to save some money, so we would advise it if you want an affordable option in an amazing city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellwangen, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The pension offers value for money. If you look for reasonable expensive stay at Prag, this is a good choice. Yet, you need to be able to handle noise until late night and handle shared bathroom/shower. The latter was actully not an issue for my family and me. We found all facilities always very clean. Rooms are very basic but completely sufficient. Breakfast is ok - you get a prepared plate - there is no buffet (good for a diet). The location is quite close to the tram and Metro, it take 5 - 10 min to get to next station and 20 min to the city center.
Parking is available inside and price is ok.

Room Tip: Stay away from the WIFI area and the stairs !!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The location is great as it is in Vinhorady, a nice neighborhood near the subway and only two stops from the center of town. The receptionists are very rude and when you approach them it seems they are put out that you are interrupting their sitting there. There is one guy though that was VERY friendly and helpful. Otherwise, the staff were terrible. The room was small and beyond basic and the heat didn't work but was fixed. The beds were rock hard. The shared showers and toilets were clean. Most of the clientel I came across were retiree aged and there were only a few of them. There seemed to be very few people staying in the place. The hotel also has a dog that constantly barks. Overall I was disappointed with the place and had stayed there years ago when it was a vibrant friendlier environment. What a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors if you don't want to hear all of the staff laughing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingtheworld200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lysekil, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I loved this place! Really friendly owner!! Good value and great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystallia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hotel is a good place to stay in Prague. Rooms are clean, big enough, the bathroom was OK.
They have a luggage room and this service is free of charge.
The people from reception could be a little bit friendlier.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george2210_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2006

This is a cheap hostel, and so everything feels like a sleezy, outdated motel, but with (oh joy!) shared bathrooms. This is where you go if cost is your main concern when you travel. Nicely, the old building is somewhat charming, not at all "Communist -Style construction." It actually was some sort of (hospital? orphanage?) run by the Nazis during WWII, but it dates to probably the 1920's. I couldn't tell what its original purpose was. You can see the plaque about its use during WWII on the front facade. Once I got over the 70's-80's, non-matching decor, the somewhat dark and depressing rooms, it was OKAY. Annoying things I couldn't get over: 1) the whole building smelled of cigarette smoke (stinking up my clothes), but I guess that's Europe for you, 2) the beds were hard, the pillows flat, and a duvet (w/ duvet cover) was my only cover. The bathrooms, although shared with everyone on our floor, were clean and updated. The included breakfast was yogurt, assorted breads, jams...more things but I forgot. Not a bad light breakfast, and I'm a fairly picky eater, but you can't choose what they bring out of the kitchen for you. There was a very helpful and friendly man at the front desk who gave me directions and helped me make my first phone call from Europe on their pay phone. The front desk people speak English just fine, but not the cleaning lady or the dining room worker. On our second evening, there was a problem with the water supply and we couldn't use the bathrooms. The hostel staff arranged for us to stay at a near (and nicer) hostel. They called us a taxi and I think it was on the house. I would only stay there again if I had to in order to save a lot of money.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke smell everywhere.
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a look-see before you take your room, if possible.
  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodOldRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Clarion Hotel Prague City
Clarion Hotel Prague City
#135 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Iris Hotel Eden
#141 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Praha 5
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
Ibis Praha Mala Strana
#189 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#229 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Praha 3
Geo
Geo
#400 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#119 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana

Property: Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana
Address: Dykova 50/20, Prague 101 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 646 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Penzion Domov Mladeze / Hotel Jana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Jana / Domov Mladeze Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing