We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 3rd stay in this hostel, can always reccommend this place.”
Review of AZ Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AZ Hostel
Ranked #399 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Reviewed 20 May 2013

It was my third time in this hostel, and I was always satisfied.
5 minute walk from the main traistation, walking distance to most of the Pragues sightseeings.
Lot of bars and clubs around is also advantage.
Friendly stuff and atmosphere.

Great location, cheap price, clean rooms, free wi-fi and free tea in the kitchen , I think its what the people expect for the good hostel.

Also met some interresing travellers here, from many differrent countries, to talk and share the experience , no complains.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RossEsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

Good points: Location + price. but for the cheap price, you get a real low quality accomodation. The hosstel is full of long term residents, like dealers, people who sell you the crap on the streets, some mentally unstable characters and the long term unemployed. It's one step away from being a homeless shelter.
I think this is a shame as with the location, the hostel could be marketed towards a student/ younger crowd and it would make more money and be nicer The way it is now.. it's pretty damn horrible.
There is very low water pressure in the showers so its impossible to have a decent shower (had to use the thai massage place downstairs for that) there is no soap dispenser in the toilet.

Things are not safe at the hostel, you must keep your things behind reception. as dorm rooms... pretty dangerous.
I would recommed spending a bit more money on a better hostel/hotel and have a more pleasant experience. I hated having to go back to the disgusting bed in the dorm room.
However, the single occupancy rooms are ok..

Room Tip: Single rooms are good, but they have shared toilet/shower facilities. Dormitory rooms are disgusti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Superletadlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The bathrooms were clean.

When I woke up after the first night I had 40+ bed bug bites. Expect drug dealers to hang out in the common area. The receptionists were hit and miss, some were good, others would ignore you until they finished checking their email.

Not worth it, never again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beensoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

The receptionists can be pretty rude, when we were gonna check in we had to wait for about 10 min because he was on the phone twice. The rooms were not that great, they give u sheets except for the one you sleep on. But they had an ok kitchen. It was kinda cheep so it was okey

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axman-swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I found it like the cheapest accommodation in the old city centre. It is nearby the Wenceslas square. Stuff was good, sometimes after their shift they also go with us to party. :-)
A well starting point to go everywhere in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

It was the cheapest hostel I found in the centre of the city. And when I say centre I mean just next to Vaclavske Namesti (Venceslas Square)! Also, behind the hostel there was a street and restaurant called "V cipu" wchich makes a Pole laugh :)
The hostel was old, not very "fresh" (a really bad smell in the corridors), rooms clean, but the beds weren't very tempting (old and a bit disgusting). Showers ok, staff nice. Safe and quiet area.
Great for students, but I wouldn't recommend it for a couple who wants to spend a romantic weekend there ;)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galusjanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I found this hostel just 5 minutes walk from the main trainstation and I can recommend it to all travellers. The dorm rooms was cheap, the stuff was friendly and helpfull but the biggest advantage of this hostel was its central location. Lot of sightsseing during the day and lot of bars i the night just in walking distance.

I came to Prague to spend there 2 days. Finally I spent there 5 great days and one of the reasons was this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossEsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
ARTHARMONY Pension & Hostel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hostel Miles
Hostel Miles
#146 of 691 in Prague
90 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#10 of 691 in Prague
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 691 in Prague
906 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#523 of 646 in Prague
188 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#88 of 646 in Prague
3,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZ Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZ Hostel

Address: Jindrishska 901/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 691 Speciality Lodging in Prague
Price Range: £15 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — AZ Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZ hostel is a a modern and clean hostel right in a downtown of Prague. It is located in a passage. It means you will not be bothered by noise from the street at night but you still will be able to take all advantages of living in the central Prague – historical sights, museums, restaurants, shopping centers, bars , music clubs etc. - all in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your AZ Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing