We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish hotel for nice price”
Review of U Semika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
U Semika
Ranked #349 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

stylish hotel, really a few meters to the historic fortifications Vysehrad - panoramic view of Prague, 30 min. walk distance to Old Town Square. Large room, draft beer pilsner urquell, rich breakfast, cheap safe parking if you need

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

LOCATION
Charming area with lots of old buildings. Plenty of cafés and restaurants. Well connected to the Old Town and the Main Railway station through bus and tram. The Vysehrad fortess is just around the corner. The river is a five-minute walk away.

ROOM
Our suite (= large open area with bed room part and living room part) was located on the fifth and highest floor. Nice, clean room with rather new furniture. Remarkable, though, that one of the twin beds was more worn than the other and correspondingly less comfortable. Clean, fresh bathroom, although the slightly unfortunate shower construction made it a bit of a fuss to take a shower. Comfortable sofa. Roof windows, which could be opened.

NOISE LEVEL
No problem with noise from the rather lively street, but the thin walls to the neighbouring room didn't provide much sound protection.

SERVICE
Friendly, helpful English-speaking staff

BREAKFAST
Rich buffet including warm stuff, such as bacon & eggs.

RESTAURANT
Located in the charming, old cellar (or, weather permitting, outside in the yard). Varied menu and what we had was very tasty. At the time of our stay, the restaurant offered a 20% discount on food and drinks for guests of the hotel, which made value for money here great.

OTHER THINGS
Computer corner on the ground floor with internet-connected PC, available for the guests.

SUMMARY
We found it a very good option for our short stay (3 nights), providing really good value for money (we payed 72 EUR/night at booking.com) and a possibility to see an area we might otherwise have missed. For a longer stay - a week or more, say - the one bed and the shower would have made the stay a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Goeran_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagnerova, Manager at U Semika, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your nice review.
We really appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and restaurant.
Hope to see you some next time.
Regards,
Kleopatra Wagnerová
Hotel&Restaurant Manager U Šemíka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very close to a bus stop (for bus #18, 6 etc.) to Old Town, Prague Castle and to Wenceslas Square. Clean room, friendly staff and the breakfast was filling. There is a library in the breakfast room, i thought that was quite cool. Free wifi is available. The restaurant could consider offering more vegetarian options in their menu. Nice stay overall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srir4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

All in all, a good choice if you are on a budget but want to stay in a decent place close to center.
The hotel is located in a nice clean are close to the Vysehrad castle (well worth a visit - nice panoramic views). It is easily accessible by car without the need of passing through the busy center (though you will need navigation). No free parking available, so you will need to pay 10 euro per day for the hotel parking. From the hotel you are within 10 min (walk + tram 18/24) to the center of Prague (24 crowns ~ 1 euro per trip).
Rooms are clean, well equiped though not luxurious (but for the price you pay you will get more than in other similar hotels). Breakfast was included and was good (nice selection of breads, cheese, ham, eggs, jams, cereals and an excellent coffee).
All in all, a good option if you are going to visit Prague the whole day and want just a decent place to sleep to recharge before a new exploring day.

Room Tip: We found the rooms on the street side a bit noisier, if you are a light sleeper you might consider a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Hotel rooms are nice and spacious but location of the hotel is not quite good.Its nearly 15 minutes walking from Tram stop .Food is nice and service is also good.Staff is really nice and helpful.Distance from the city centre is both good and bad since you feel isolated but at the same time you fell relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prasoon_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Good sized rooms (ours had a seperate seating area but not sure if they all have), spotlessly clean and nice quiet location, 10 mins by tram #3 or #17 takes you to the city centre or It's also a pleasant 20 min walk along the banks of the river . Staying here you get a real feel of a neighbourhood rather than the hustle and bustle of the old town and the mass tourism crowds. If you want something a bit different, try this place and you won't be dissapointed. Breakfast and dinner served in lovely surroundings and both were very good indeed. There are also a few reataurants nearby which serve the purpose well if you've been sightseeing all day and just feel like chilling out locally. A fine place to spend our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rablitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed in U Semika from 21st - 26th January 2013.
I arranged with the hotel for a taxi to collect us from the airport which cost roughly €20.00 for a car for 2-4 people which was very handy.
On arrival we were given a warm welcome and room 202 which was a nice sized room, clean and airy. On the second night we changed rooms however as when we returned after a dinner out some people had checked in to room 203 and were playing loud music, shouting over it and smoking in their room which all came through to our room. We settled on room 401 which was a much bigger room, had a small kitchen in it and was much quieter as it faced back to the church.
Unfortunately the fuses blew on one side of the room (by our bed) so we had no lights or plugs working on that part for the rest of the week even though I had mentioned it to the gentleman on reception but my lack of Czech words for fuse has blown and his lack of English words for fuse has blown (shouldn't that be in Czech & English 101 classes?) meant that this wasn't fixed. The beds also were not the most comfortable beds and the pillows weren't great either but we were just using the room as a base and didn't spend a lot of time in bed so it was fine.
I feel I am being mean in saying that this place was not fabulous like I want to but in all honesty it is just an OK hotel.......it IS basic but for what we paid we did very well.
Location wise it's good. The 17 tram from Vyton will bring you down to Charles Bridge in about 2 mins and you can buy tickets for transport at U Semika reception which is handy. There is also a Tesco across the road at the end of the hill which was good for picking up things we forgot or ran out of.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DublinRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel & Residence Royal Standard
Praha 2
Hotel Union Prague
Hotel Union Prague
#279 of 648 in Prague
510 reviews
Praha 5
Andel Apartments Prague
Andel Apartments Prague
#331 of 648 in Prague
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Hotel Vysehrad
Hotel Vysehrad
#422 of 648 in Prague
91 reviews
Praha 4
Rezidence Vysehrad
Rezidence Vysehrad
#14 of 648 in Prague
463 reviews
Praha 2
Vysehrad Castle SUITE
Vysehrad Castle SUITE
#111 of 677 in Prague
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U Semika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U Semika

Address: Vratislavova 129/36, Prague 128 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#156 Family Hotel in Prague
#173 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £49 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — U Semika 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly and family hotel offers accommodation in calm and spacious double rooms or luxurious two- or three- bedroom apartments. The hotel is situated just under the walls of Vysehrad, one of the oldest parts of Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your U Semika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Semika Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing