We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Augustus et Otto
Ranked #310 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Location is ok. It's close to metro station, Karlovo namesti, and tram station, Zborovská. The neighborhood is very quiet, not very well lit. I paid 29Eur for 2 nights' parking. The staff don't smile at all. But they did try to help when you ask. They did recommend a couple good restaurants to us. We reserved 2 rooms, and were given 1 with air conditioning, 1 without. The room with air conditioning had something triggered my friend's allergy, and she got rash all over both her arms. The room without air conditioning, the staff brought us a fan, but you have to request for it. When we checked in, we were given a couple of remote controls for the TV, but they did not tell us to bring them back when we checked out. So, they made us go back to the rooms to bring them back the remotes. Even the air conditioning remote that was inside the room in the first place, they wanted it back at check out. I just don't understand why they are making their customers such a hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KyWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

15-20 minute walk from the city center. Quiet, cozy hotel. On the reception they speak English and are very friendly. Closed pay parking at the hotel € 12. We got a huge room that looked into the yard. Free tea and coffee in the room. Every day we walked into the city center along the river, which is very cozy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nananuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we booked 2 similar rooms in this hotel, but one of us got upgrade. Thant could be nice, if rooms are fine, but room without upgrading was awful - without AC, very small and stinky. So, person with upgrading was feeling very strange. Why we pay the same money, traveling together, booked also together, but person with german name was treated better than person with russian name.... The currency change in hotel also not so good, better to go out and find bank.
i would not recommend this hotel for long stay, only for one-maximum 2 nights.

the small tip (not about hotel) - Everywhere in Prague you will find currency exchange. With a nice money course, around 25. But this course only if you change more than 100 euro, that its written with very small letters.....So, when we tryed to change 50 euro, we got it with course as 17, and the guy in window showed us this very small sign with pretty smile. Of couse, we wanted our money back, because we thought that changing money with 25 kr for 1 euro, not 17....It was not possible already... As i know, this happening everywhere, in all money exchange will be very very small sign about it, so you cant complain....Just need to be carefully.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Quiet, good location to Charles bridge and city center. Staff was fairly helpful. There is a great little area around the corner by the river. We didn't try the restaurant but wish we had. Only downer was when we needed to make a local call they charged us 50c per minute. Money was not the issue, but as a travel industry employee this feels cheesy! I frequently let travelers use my cell phone and would not ask for money, so this is a shame on you in my opinion. For the rest of the good- AC was a plus, clean and comfortable, breakfast gets a 10, and you can order off the menu. Secure building in a quiet setting, never a noise issue.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank jon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Augustus et otto is set just two km from Wenceslas square and 3 from the old town area. There is a tram terminus just 1km where you can travel cheaply to any part of Prague.
The hotel is welcoming and the staff are really helpful, we found our room spotless, with a comfortable 180cm bed, the room we had did not have air conditioning but we asked to be moved to the 3rd floor which has ac in the rooms for €3 extra per day, well worth it as Prague is hot and humid in summer. Breakfast was provided in the restaurant with 3 choices of main plus cereal, yogurt and normal continental selection, the food was of good quality.
This is a good value well located hotel, enjoy.

Room Tip: Pick a room on floor 3 or 4 if summer, these have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We, a family of 4 people, stayed here for three nights in June.The hotel is located in Prague 5 near the river, a bit further from the centre, but we never used public transport and every day enjoyed walking along the river to the centre and back. The rooms and bathroom were spacious and clean, the linen and towels were shining clean and white, the staff friendly and English speaking. As our room was located with the window to the yard, it was extremely quiet, we did not hear the slightest sound in the morning with the open window. The hotel serves hot full breakfast, which was excellent, so we did not think about food until late afternoon. There is a big shopping mall near the hotel (Novy Smichov) and also several small Express Tesco shops open even until 11pm.

Room Tip: Rooms with the windows to the yard are extremely quiet. Come earlier for the breakfast to have a big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivijaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our trip to Prague came, as usual, through a 'Groupon coupon' which included flights, a 'four-star hotel' and a boat trip on the river. When we arrived at the hotel at lunchtime our room wasn't ready but we could leave our bags at reception and walk into the city for a hour or so. The hotel was a bit further from the centre of town than I'd hoped but it was close to the river and we were able to reach Wenceslas Square on foot before returning to our room. This was pleasant, clean, spacious and well-lit. Returning to the centre of town after a well-earned snooze, we found a traditional Czech restaurant and had a meal of pungent goulash and dumplings (not freshly cooked). Breakfast the next morning was served in a pleasant basement dining room and offered a choice of English, French or Continental breakfast. I chose French (an omelette) cooked by a taciturn Czech with a distinct resemblance to Rasputin, mad monk of the Romanov court. However, his food was fairly good and even the tea tasted like tea. The trams in Prague are just great. Cheap, frequent and and excellent way to get to the old town, castle, Jewish Quarter etc. We bought day tickets that gave unlimited travel, and included the funicular up to the hills overlooking the river. There's an observation tower based on the Eiffel Tower in Paris that is well worth the climb. Prague has a pretty much everything: history, culture, architecture, scenery, a river, a castle and so on. The people are friendly and English is widely spoken. All it really lacks is a cuisine, however, the beer is wonderful (knocks British lager into a cocked hat) and you can get food from most parts of the globe too (we ate Thai the second night). On our last night we found a much better Czech beer hall and restaurant just two hundred yards from the hotel: moral? Avoid Czech restaurants in the old town and eat where the Czechs eat. All in all we had a great time, walked ourselves ragged and packed a lot into our weekend break. If you haven't been to Prague, go. Oh and the hotel? Four stars is maybe a bit generous but you could do worse and it is quiet, near the tram line and a the river, and the staff are friendly.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms have dormer widows that improve light and ventilation. The hotel is in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Il_postino58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Alqush Downtown Hotel
Alqush Downtown Hotel
#192 of 646 in Prague
557 reviews
Praha 2
Tivoli Hotel Prague
Tivoli Hotel Prague
#240 of 646 in Prague
524 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#326 of 646 in Prague
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel Residence Tabor
Hotel Residence Tabor
#297 of 646 in Prague
231 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#112 of 646 in Prague
623 reviews
Praha 3
Golden City - Garni
Golden City - Garni
#254 of 646 in Prague
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Augustus et Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Augustus et Otto

Address: Na Celne 508/3, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Otto)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#218 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £24 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Augustus et Otto 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Augustus et Otto Hotel is a new, nice and family four stars hotel situated in the centre of Prague. The property has been completely and recently modernized the building with its 21 rooms and one apartment. The Hotel is located in a quiet street of Prague Town, only a few footsteps away from Prague’s beautiful cultural monuments, boulevards, Mala Strana quartier and 100 meters from the river Vltava. The interior of all rooms are classic and comfortable furnished equipped with furniture made specially for our hotel. In the Hotel there is a bar lounge, a new restaurant, a courtyard to taste a glass of wine or a bier and a private parking place for our guests.Our Hotel is perfect for those who want to stay at a central and quite place offering a high level of services and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Augustus et Otto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing