We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a short get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a short get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a friendly well run and clean hotel located near the old part of Prague. Stayed for 3 nights and can not really fault it, with helpful staff, clean and well maintained rooms and good selection of breakfast in the morning. The staff on reception were great and quick to provide directions and book needed tours and arrange transport as well and get you any requested item. We came down to breakfast in the mornings with a basic but good selection of different breakfast items. It makes a great hotel that is affordable, well located and can recommend for a short get-away.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatjana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    363
    103
    33
    13
See reviews for
201
577
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calella, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I am coming to Prague twice a year and always I come to this fabulous little hotel in Prague.
It's in the center very close to Palladium and to many restaurants .
Its a traditional family czec hotel with a nice history and they always receive you with a nice smile.
The room was very nice, clean and comfortable and a nice bathroom with shower. Its included with the price the breakfast and its perfect.
They have a good wifi in every floor and it works perfectly

I recommend this hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankCT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stunning little hotel - really close to the Old Square. Full of character and the staff are really friendly. Great breakfast and complimentary tea & coffee always available in the reception area - there's even a complimentary glass of wine in the evening. Rooms are clean & comfortable and well equipped. Hotel is steeped in history - a quirky place with lots of old Photos to remind you of the history of the hotel within Prague. Hotel will arrange to pick you up from airport at an extremely reasonable cost - that was also very good standard. We will always come back to this hotel on our visits to Prague - a lovely gem of a hotel. Can not recommend high enough.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tworth69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a half a year I returned to this hotel. This time I had with me my husband, our 5 year old grandchild and her mother. I was a little worried how the visit would go, because our grandchild never had been abroad and in fact never staying in a hotel.
We all after coming to Hotel Hastal really felt ourselves so welcomed, the service was in all way absolutely so kind and friendly. Even the 5 year old girl felt almost like staying at home. The rooms we got were very attractive and opposite each other in a very peaceful corner of the building. That must have given to our grandchild a great feeling of safety. We all enjoyed of the breakfast a lot, and of course the delicioius pancakes with jam is something else you have got used at home every morning. Also the staff in breakfast room was just as nice as they were in February. We did not have all the time the same language to share, but you do a lot with your gesture language.
What else could I say; we all just enjoyed so much staying this hotel again and I am sure I will be back as soon I just can arrange a trip to Prague again.
My best wishes to Patrick, Eva and all the staff, hope to see you soon. Special thanks of the sparkling wine, which was waiting us in the room when we arrived. That was really nice and friendly, as it is the whole wonderful hotel Hastal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank operafan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I booked this hotel for it's location only and was not disappointed. It's in the Old Town district and a 10 minute walk from the main square. Amenities included nice sized rooms, hot breakfast, wifi, elevator, complimentary tea, coffee and wine at the front desk. The staff were somewhat helpful arranging an early morning taxi to the airport, directions to an nice restaurant, etc... but at times were a bit stand offish. There is a 24 hour mini mart 100 metres down the road and although the hotel is on a side street we never felt unsafe coming back from a night on the town. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conifer, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Like most reviews they are dependent on what you paid versus what you expected to get in return. My partner and I are low maintenance travelers so everything about the Hastal was a pleasant surprise. It has a upscale feel without being pretentious.

From what I gather they have gone through some renovations in the last few years and the results seem more than antiquate. Our room was a "comfort" room and was about the size of a standard U.S. sized hotel room.

The room was warm (it was November and the outside temperature was in 30's-40's F), bathroom was full sized, plenty of storage space (if you don't travel with steamer trunks full of clothing) and the room was clean.

Access to places in old town were within walking distance. Five minutes to the Jewish Quarter, 10 minutes to Old Town Square, 15 minutes to Wenceslaus Square (really a 10-12 block rectangle) and 10 minutes to Metro line B (yellow) which gives you access to the rest of the city and airport.

Street facing rooms will be noisy. Even though the Hastal is off the main streets, you will still find enough pedestrians enjoying the late night. For us that's part of the charm. If we wanted to sleep in an isolated box, we would stay home.

Breakfast was a wonderful of variety going from continental breakfast styled delights to menu items that would suffice as a hearty lunch. The buffet included cold meats, sliced cheeses, beans, sausages, 3-4 different kinds of bread, eggs, fruits, coffee, tea, juices, cereals and all the trimmings.

The WiFi was excellent in our room. It appears that they have a wireless access point for each floor and I don't remember a time when there was a dropped signal.

The staff was there when you needed them (at least one person overnight) and not bothering you when you didn't need them. The front door was open 24 hours a day so there was no hassle in coming or going at any time of the day.

If you want an American styled hotel with all the representative pampering this is not the place for you. If you want to experience something of what it would be like in Old Town Prague 75 years ago with all the charm at a good price then the Hastal comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConiferPlaywright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were unhappy to find our room had been double booked on arrival especially as we were tired after a long train journey.Other accommodation had to be arranged for one night.
We were however generously compensated for the inconvenience and once back at Hotel Hastal we enjoyed our stay and were more than happy with our room, the service and the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 652Lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#132 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing