We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #67 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hidden Gem
Excellent period and independent hotel, hidden away from the main square but with plenty of charm and character .
Free wifi and hot drinks. Excellent and helpful staff, a lovely garden to relax in
and an excellent breakfast suiting all needs from continental to full on fry up !
Just a short walk from the old town but far enough away for it to be a tranquil oasis from the hustle and bustle of Prague.
Can't recommend this hotel enough .

John Sharpe

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    368
    106
    33
    13
See reviews for
210
595
70
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wonderful 4 night stay, for our group of 7. Great location, sleep & breakfast. English spoken was a plus for us. Front desk was a great resource, and they booked 2 evening programs for us.
Perfect hotel for your trip to Prague!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Found this winning property via R Steves book. A very charming hotel with all amenities at a value price. The sales manager, Patrick, was extremely nice and gave me a price courtesy for mentioning the R Steves .
All hands are service driven ; speak flawless English ; devoted to customer comfort. This spotless hotel features a delightful breakfast, mini-bar, modern elevator and -- wait for it ! -- ultra quiet rooms in the center of the Jewish Quarter. The best value I found in Prague !

Room Tip: See and book through Patrick, sales mgr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gianni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've been travelling with my best friend once a year for a while, and we tend to look for small hotels with a history, personality and a feeling of "a home away from home". Hastal is the best one we've encountered this far. The building is beautiful, re-built in the mid-19th century and the artwork is a mix of posters from the history of the hotel and quite a lot of Mucha. A lot of Mucha. If you don't like the flowing lines of this Czech Art Nouveau artist, you should choose another hotel.

Our room was small but cozy, with a slanted roof and soft pastel walls that harmonized wonderfully with the Mucha posters. The bathroom was spacious, and everything was nice and clean. Even though we heard some noise from the hallway, the rooms seemed well isolated, as we didn't hear anything at all from the neighboring rooms.

The breakfast buffet was good, with a warm section that was a mix of the ordinary baked beans and scrambled eggs, and traditional Czech sausages. The cold section was well filled, but nothing out of the ordinary. A big plus though, for the pieces of home baked cake that changed every morning. Being swedes, we had a great time comparing the spicing and textures to the ones of our homeland. (Dear Hastal, you guys make good cake.)

The garden is another little gem. Being smokers, we loved being able to sit down outside in a dedicated smoking area instead of being subjected to the evil-eye of disturbed non-smokers.

We also would like to put in a good word for Markéta in the reception, who always greeted us with a smile and helpful directions, no matter how tired, confused and messy we were when we came down in the morning. Speaking of the reception, they have (apart from the usual free coffee and tea) free wine during most of the day. Being able to have a glass in the garden without going through the fuss of ordering and waiting and paying the bill before going up to the room after a long day of sightseeing feels like a luxury.

Location was perfect: Not in the middle of Old Town Square and its endless stream of tourists, but only a two minute walk away from it, you have everything really close by, but still the peace and quiet of a back street. If you're in reasonably good health, you can easily walk from here to all of the Old town, Lesser town and Prague castle area.

To make a long story short: Good hotel. Nice people working there. Pretty decoration that made me want to put on an edwardian dress and do a waltz in the gardens.

If we come back to Prague, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollonie_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived at Hotel Hastal hours late after a flight delay, jet-lagged, and felt instantly at home. Helpful staff, lovely room, complimentary wine, working WiFi. And a beautiful view, charming details like the room key fob, breakfast that even included chocolate cake--we were delighted. Great location, in the heart of Old Town, but quiet and serene in the evening. Would love to stay there again! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This lovely, quiet hotel (steps away from the center yet away from the bustle) has wonderful art nouveau touches, comfortable rooms, and above all thoughtful, friendly staff. The outgoing, knowledgeable service that I received from Thomas, Eva, Marketa, Richard, and the limo driver was definitely the best I've seen in my travels. Besides helping me with tram and bus information, museum openings, and other practical information, there was a level of consideration about the guest's situation that was wonderful. A good example of this consideration was putting my stored suitcase in my room before I returned after a day's absence, without my asking. I have been here before with a family member; this time as a solo traveler I was also extremely pleased.

Room Tip: There's an elevator, handy for creaky knees, and looking into the back garden helps with the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great family hotel located walk distance from every tourist sites. Situated on a quiet small street. Clean (shining, i would say), well equipped rooms, extra-comfortable bed, friendly managers and staff, well working fast wireless internet connection in every room, apple dock-in station (!!!!!!). Free coffee machine makes excellent espresso, nice interior, private garden and hotel restaurant.
We have enjoyed a lot and for sure will come back to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: 1) Upgrade your room to a luxury one - it is worth (trust me) and not much more expensive. 2) To ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrRivlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#76 of 649 in Prague
524 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,310 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#79 of 649 in Prague
1,507 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 649 in Prague
2,337 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing