We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #67 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not as good as usual”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We returned here for our 25th wedding anniversary in August. We booked the Honeymoon suite, (the one with the balcony at the front of the hotel).
We were greeted by Richard at the main desk who wished us happy anniversary and checked into our room.
To be honest, it seemed like it hadn't been inhabited in a while as it smelt a bit musty. Also some of the cleaning/ducting wasn't the best. Outside, the windows, table and chairs were also not very clean and covered in spiders webs. This is the best room and most expensive in the hotel!!
The breakfast is still good and offers a wide variety of Czech style food.

What did really disappoint us this time was that although we have stayed at the Hastal at least 6 times over the years they didn't even give my wife a bouquet of flowers or give us a card to say congratulations on your Silver Wedding anniversary, not the usual high standard of service at all.

What was quite interesting also was that although our room had a safe in the wardrobe, it wasn't actually attached to anything so you could actually break in and walk away with it!!

I have always written reviews of the Hotel and always been honest about what I have written so I felt that Tomasz giving us a piece of A4 paper when we checked out telling us what to put and how to score was not very professional. Especially as this was the only time that he actually wanted to have a conversation with us.
I would still return to the Hastal but perhaps next time our expectations might not be quite so high.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel if possible, much lighter with a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimalMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    368
    105
    33
    13
See reviews for
206
593
70
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I ended our recent honeymoon in Europe with five days in Prague for the world Yoyo championship. I picked Hotel Hastal because it was in between the event venue and the main square, convenient for my sightseeing and his event attendance. We were really pleased with the choice - the hotel is absolutely charming (It is the last family owned and managed hotel in downtown Prague), with lots of pictures of several generations of family in the lobby and a life sized golem statue guarding the front door (and his twin in the outdoor garden).
I was a little nervous when I made the booking when they told me they couldn't accommodate gluten free items at breakfast for my husband who is Celiac, but it turned out not to be an issue - breakfast had a multitude of options (we particularly liked the baked sausage with ham and vegetables) including several hot items, cheese, veggies, cold cuts, cakes, breads, cereals, and sparkling wine!
Our room was lovely - unlike many hotels in Prague which seem to be going the "ultra modern" route, Hotel Hastal has kept a more old fashioned style - Mucha prints on the wall, brocade draperies, and a warm green color scheme. Even the room keys are vintage! The bed was comfortable and large enough for my 6'2" husband. The bathroom was spacious, and we definitely enjoyed having a bathtub after a couple of weeks in Italy with only a shower. We had very little issue with noise, apart from hearing people in the hallway a couple of times. The windows are doubled - there are inner windows and outer windows, so despite there being fairly loud street noise from a neighboring club one night, all we had to do was close the window to have a quiet room - easy with the airconditioning. (One downside - the airconditioning can only be turned on and off by calling the front desk. Slightly inconvenient)
One side benefit is the proximity of several really good restaurants - Lokal & the James Joyce Pub we tried, and whilst I looked longingly in the window of La Degustation, it was a bit too pricey for us. We tried to have dinner in the hotel restaurant one night, but ended up leaving before we ordered because the larger, main room is a smoking room, and the smaller back room is non smoking - and has no ventilation, so it might as well just be a fully smoking restaurant. (The volume of indoor smoking in Prague was quite startling for us, who live in a city where indoor smoking has been banned for many years - and where you can't even smoke outside within 25 feet of a building entrance)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndraNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in this lovely family run hotel. We we're give a very warm welcome by Thomas and Eva upon our arrival and daily as we entered and left the hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a large bathroom. The location of the hotel meant we were able to easily walk to all the famous sights including the river to join our evening river cruise. We would return here and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Maria_Island_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Conveniently located but quiet enough for good sleeping, Hotel Hastal's room was generous, clean and comfortable with air conditioning. Breakfast offerings were delicious. Hotel Hastel is a good value for the money. Janet & William Jacquette, New York City.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalmthout, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Good service and reception provided by all the staff and especially Markéta. The location of the hotel is ideal close to the center of town. The airconditioning is on demand but good and the rooms are spatious and with double windows that keep out the eventual noise at night. The Wifi access also was excellent. Restaurant is decent but the room itself could be a bit larger.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After reading all the 5 Star reviews in Trip Advisor, we selected the Hotel Hastal over its neighboring hotel where our wedding party stayed. If this is a 5 Star Hotel, we are on a different planet. Our troubles began upon check-in when we were informed that the deluxe room that we had booked in March was not available and that they would accomodate us in a smaller room at a reduced charge. Over our strong objections, we were informed that our original room would be available after all. The next problem involved the Air-Conditioning which we discovered was controlled by the front desk. After 4 days of continual requests to reduce the temperature and increase the fan, the AC was finally left on full time.During this period the usual response was to "open the windows". The breakfasts were inedible consisting of stale bread, canned fruit, and greasy scrambled eggs. In addition there was no where to eat this horrible meal as the dining room was was NOT air conditioned and the outdoor "terrace" was filled with dirty ashtrays and people smoking cigarettes. We solved this problem by walking each morning to a lovely pastry shop down the street. The staff was civil at best but certainly not welcoming. SInce we were attending a wedding, we had brought valuable jewelry with us for the occasion, but were shocked when we found out the safe was free-standing and could have easily been removed from our room when we departed. At check-our we were handed a sample Trip Advisor Rating Sheet and implored to give the hotel a 5 Star rating in every category. Based on our prior travel experiences, which include visits all over the world, we are at a total loss to understand how this hotel could receive so many outstanding ratings on Trip Advisor. We truly wonder if all of this reviews are legitimate and urge Trip Advisor to undertake its own review of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The best hotel in Prag. Excellent service provided by Thomas and Eva in the reception. In thr middle of the old town. Near to everything. Museums, shops, good restaurants in the area around the hotel. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 649 in Prague
518 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 649 in Prague
2,271 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing