We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean and comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #61 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We had a superior room which was at the front of the hotel and worth the extra cost. Location could not be better - 5mins walk to Old Town square and close to Jewish Quarter. Room amd hotel was spotlessly clean and breakfast was continental so okay.
I am a travel agent and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable place to sleep in Prague (that won't bust your budget) then this hotel is perfect. Yes, the rooms are very basic and not well lit, but they were comfortable and very clean. The staff was friendly and was happy to help my friends and I with our trip planning while in Prague. I would stay here again. The location was good and I would rather not spend my money on overpriced hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishTexasAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

We had three nights at Hotel Hastal. Very good value. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast included and very good. Hotel close to old town square which is best location and handy for Jewish quarter. Some good restaurants nearby including a great bar cafe "Chez Michel" good for a nightcap!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We booked 4 rooms at this hotel,3 double & 1 twin. No complaints at all with our stay. Large rooms,comfortable beds,pillows that I wanted to take home with me! Less than a 5 minute walk to Old Town Square. Take no notice of the earlier reviewer about breakfast,it was fine,the little Danish pastries were superb.It's not an English breakfast but we were in PRAGUE!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zanna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We spent two nights at the hotel and enjoyed it. Great location of hotel, close to the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnJo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We originally booked a room in the Rubicon Hotel ( hostel ), which is in the same area and it is cheaper, but when we came there we found out that the accommodation doesn´t match the description on the internet. I´d personally say that it is more like a hostel, there was no minibar in the room and the facilities are just very basic. Overall, the hotel lacks atmosphere.
Fortunately, my friend from New York recommended me to stay in the Hastal Hotel, where they stayed last year, and it was a really useful tip. The hotel is nice, the room was spotlessly clean and service perfect as well. We really enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, General Manager at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2010

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that our guests recommend Hotel Hastal to their friends, especially such experienced and demanding travellers as Americans. We think that this is the best advertisement and we all do our best to keep our guests satisfied. Kristian Hanslik Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. Only thing I can say is its clean and basic and in good location. Isnt nothing special as previous posts seem to make out.

Arrived 2pm to be greeted by a young female Czech receptionist who has clearly not been on any customer care courses. Not the nicest of welcomes as you'd expect. Room 61 was clean and basic, but seemed ideal for what we wanted as we only slept in the room.

No hot water! reported to they young miserable receptionist 2.30. Went out for a walk and came back at 7pm and still no hot water. We had been on the road for 15 hours and no shower to go out for the night. Water came back on 7am the next morning. It didnt work for the rest of the day, and came back on the following morning. I dont know if they limit the hot water here, but I couldnt take a hot shower when I wanted it.

When we reported the water fault at 2.30pm, we asked for extra pillows for that night. They were put in the room more than 24 hours later! Good service again!. Everything was an effort for this woman receptionist, no hello, goodbye, thankyou. If I owned this hotel, the 1st thing Id do is sack her as she does nothing for the immage of the hotel.

Breakfast is included but not worth bothering about. Horrid scrambled eggs, Hard frankfurter type sausages, cerial, disgusting coffee, watered down juice and a few bread rolls and meats. Id rather have stayed in bed an extra hour and eat out in one of the many places around the area.

Elderly night porter in reception a true gentleman and only nice person I met at this hotel. Hotel is close to the old town square, but I didnt feel that safe walking back to the hotel at night in the nearby streets. Im usually not afraid, Im 6 foot, 20 stone rugby player, but felt at unease, keep your wits about you.

There is a little supermarket 20 mts away and a nice irish bar around the corner. This is my second visit to Prague, and I felt it had gone downhill, expensive and dirty.

I wouldnt recomend this hotel or stay here unless on a tight budget. Id rather pay a little extra and stay at the residence Verona 2 streets away. Rooms could do with a little kettle to make your own tea/coffee. Its a budget hotel, and is reflected in the price you pay for it. You get for what you pay I suppose!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cjb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, Kristian Hanslik, Owner & General Manager at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2010

I´d like to apologize in the name of Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town to all guets who experienced inconvenience in our hotel on Saturday 27/2/2010. The lack of hot water was caused by unexpectedly big problem in the heating system. Although our staff and specialised plumber service did their best to solve the problem as soon as possible, the repair took longer than we had expected mainly because of the special methods which had to be used as our hotel is situated in a historical building. Nevertheless, we understand that some guests must have felt uncomfortable. Therefore we would like to apologize again and we hope that they still had a nice stay in our hotel and that they will come back.
Concerning the unhelpful receptionist, I ´d like to say that your review made us dismiss her as we hadn´t been satisfied with her job for some time before. So should you come back you will be definitely treated well by receptionists with professional approach.
We appreciate your comments because it helps us to develop and to keep up with guests´ needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#26 of 647 in Prague
2,389 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#79 of 647 in Prague
545 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#74 of 647 in Prague
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,311 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 647 in Prague
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing