We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will not reurn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I will not reurn”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Ideally located to the old town. Room was spacious, and had a pretty view. Water was not warm enough; the A/C in the room was controlled by a remote that only hotel staff operated. We were there during the heat wave, and staff refused to lower the air temperature below 80 deg. The general appearance of the hotel was well worn.
All the staff was surly, no one said good morning, and they were extremely unhelpful. It was a chore to get any information out of them. Maybe that is a cultural thing. Read about 5 pages of what you can not do while a guest in the hotel. Check your bill on departure for inaccuracies.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, Director of Sales at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
We´d like to thank you for writing a review of your stay in Hotel Hastal. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the services, especially the attitude of our receptionists, because this is the crucial area where we try to develop constantly and I dare to say that we have made a significant improvement. We know that there is a couple of things we need to work on to keep up with our guests´ expectations and preferences, that is why we appreciate your comments.
Patrick Rieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    363
    103
    33
    13
See reviews for
201
577
67
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Very nice hotel with a great location. The room (32) was clean and comfortable with a nice view of the square outside. Good breakfast was included in price and also a complimentary drink at the bar. Free wifi and super friendly staff. The also have a really good deal for lunch in their restaurant. Super recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viajeros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, Director of Sales at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you for choosing Hotel Hastal for your stay in Prague. We are glad that you had a lovely time and hope that you will come back soon.
Patrick Rieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I stayed this hotel 2 days this week.
I read some good reviews here and decided to stay there.
It was on a good location and cheap but it was not pleasant stay for me because
1: the staff was not pleasant to deal with, I was trying to talk to them with smile but some of them was not so nice to me( one elder lady was nice though)
2: there was no shampoo in the room, I asked them and had to go down to get them instead of bringing them to my room
3:the bed was low and the pillows are too soft to sleep comfortably
4: I asked for morning call prior to my check out(because there was no clock in the room to set the alarm), and I got the call about 30 min later than I asked. Luckily I didn't oversleep but I could have miss my flight. I confronted to the front when i was checking out, and he acted like he didn't understand English or what I was saying.
It is cheap and good location, I was not expecting 4star hotel, but the way staff deal with the customers should be better nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodgeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We are quite happy with the week we just spent at the Hastal. Keep in mind when reading the negative reviews that this is not a luxury hotel, and temper this with what your expectations should be for a moderate hotel. The Hastal provided a clean and comfortable place, with a good breakfast that saved the time of going out. We always found the desk staff courteous and helpful, and able to manage the basic language difference (let's face facts--there's just no common connections between the Czech and English languages!) the room was comfortable, street noise was not a problem. The old building has character and is interesting. We found the restaurant fine also, although we only ate in one night as we wanted to try as many different places as we could. The location can't be beat. Prague is small, and everything of mention is within a short walk. In addition, the trams are mere minutes away. It appeared to us that the staff did everything they could to please their customers.
How can you beat this for under 420 euros for a 7 nights?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank landmplotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, Director of Sales at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
I´d like to thank you in the name of Hotel Hastal employees for your kind review. We appreciate your time and effort. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay very much and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Patrick Rieger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

I just returned from spending four nights here at the Hostel Hastal Prague. I will agree with most of what I reviewed on Trip Advisor. However, the hotel does need to be updated as the carpeting is getting a bit worn and missing on some stairs, as is some of the furniture. The bathrooms seem to have been redone and are very nice. Also, if you have one of the rooms facing the street it is noisy with the windows open. There are bars down the street and some bums that camp out on the benches in front of the church--and are allowed to do so. The bums leave everyone alone and are not a threat.

The staff was friendly and helpful. However, we needed to book another room at the last minute and paid almost as much for one night as we paid for four by booking much earlier. They refused to come down on the price as the manager told us that we knew how much we were going to pay when we booked, but we did not know until we were in Prague, that someone else would be meeting us there and we wanted to be together. So, if interested in staying there, book multiple rooms and then cancel. It will be cheaper that way.

For 1200 Kr. the hotel will book a van for you to take you to the airport, which can be more expensive than a taxi. However, taxi cab drivers in Prague can sometimes be crooks, so depending on who you get there is no hassle booking a mini van from the hotel.

The dining room served a decent dinner at a reasonable price and it is a three minute walk to get to the center of Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristianPrague, Owner at Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
We´d like to thank you for writing a review of your stay in Hotel Hastal. Customer feedback is very important for us as it enables to keep up with their expectations and preferences. We hope that you enjoyed your stay eventhough there was a couple of things which we could improve. We keep renovating the hotel but it is a neverending job, as most hotel owners would agree. Then, you mentioned that when you booked an extra night the price was much higher than when you made your first booking. This is because the guests who book in advance get a discount for early booking. And the last issue I´d like to comment on is the price of airport shuttle, the price depends on the type of car you choose. Unfortunately, taxi drivers in Prague often tend to have extra charges for tourists, that´s why I´d certainly recommend arranging the taxi transport at the hotel you are staying in. I hope that I have managed to explain everything and that you will not hesitate to book a room in Hastal next time you go to Prague.
Kristian Hanslik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

This was already my fourth stay in this cosy little hotel so I dare to say that I´m one of the regular guests. I always stop there whenever I go to central Europe and there was never anything I could complain about. The hotel is in a perfect location in the very center of the city, the rooms are nice and spotlessly clean and the staff was always very friendly and helpful. That´s why we chose Hastal for our big family gathering. As some people moved from US to Europe it was quite difficult to agree on a location but we finally chose Prague - Mother of cities. There were about 20 people coming so it was quite demanding to organize everything and this is where I really appreciated the communication with the hotel management. I was pleasantly surprised that even such a little hotel is active on Facebook, which certainly helped a lot. Overall, I´d like to thank everybody in Hastal for their attention and helpfulness. We all had wonderful time there!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimi324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Hastal with my parent's in May. Our trip to Prague was my combined B-day present for my parent's. For the price the hotel was wonderful. Directly in the old city with breakfast included. The restaurant was nice for my parent's. They were tired after walking the entire there day. You really have to be careful in Prague about the restaurants. There are too many tourist traps in the old city. They did not have to walk far so I would leave them alone in the evening and then meet up with friends. The only complaint was the elevator. It was broken while we were there and my parent's were on the 5th floor. Prague itself was beautiful. I will definetly visit the city again, hopefully when it is a bit warmer than this time. They even arranged a pickup at the airport for us and the price was more expensive than a normal taxi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ansjohnson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Antik
Antik
#72 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#130 of 672 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#88 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#57 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town

Property: Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Address: Hastalska 1077/16, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Prague 4 star hotel surrounded by a realm of historical monuments enjoys the central location in the heart of Old Town. It is situated in a quiet little square dominated by a Gothic church, just a few steps from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and Statue of Franz Kafka. The hotel offers high-quality accommodation in air-conditioned rooms, a complimentary hot and cold buffet breakfast and free internet access. The recently renovated Art-Nouveau restaurant serves fine Czech cuisine including local Prague specialties and the elegant hotel bar offers excellent coffee and a wide choice of drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing